We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel near the beach and the Olympic port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #226 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel near the beach and the Olympic port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spend just three nights at this hotel with my 11 yo daughter when we were visiting the town because of the Spanish F1 Grand Prix. The stay was overall very nice: room clean and all the way ok, breakfast had plenty of items to choose from. Actually the only complain I have, was that on Sunday afternoon the restaurant/bar seemed to be understaffed for the amount of thirsty clients they did have...took too long to place/receive the orders.
The hotel is nicely located near the beach and there are plenty of nice restaurants at the 'Port Olimpic' if you do not want to eat in the hotel. Also a large Supermarket is located just few minutes from the hotel.
Will absolutely consider returning to this property if in Barcelona again !

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool at the backside of the hotel may be quieter than the rooms facing to the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hessuConcepcionChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear hessuConcepcionChile,
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay at Icaria Hotel and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your positive complaint, as our guests feedback is an essential part to improve our services. Looking forward to welcome you back to Barcelona
Yours sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    644
    213
    61
    27
See reviews for
397
407
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2012 it was a lovely bright and very clean hotel with free wifi in the room which was great. The breakfast was really nice the hotel is a little out of the way but you can hop on the buses outside or walk to the metro. It's a modern hotel with a modern apartment in a suburban area. The beach is very close by. We spent about 4 nights here and enjoyed ourselves. We got a good deal as we were visiting off season. A couple of weeks ago on our return to Barcelona my partner and I decided after a stay in tarragona that we would come by this hotel to see if there was availability there was but reception was looking for too much my partner is a hotel manager but reception was just not in the mood to negotiate.
So we stayed at the following hotel and I was thrilled because the next place we visited was so much better and worth every penny. Our choice was the H10 hotel at the address below.
Plaça de Catalunya, 7, Barcelona
+34 933 17 71 71
Fabulous hotel what a dream and the location was perfect

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Stefan H,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.
Me and the whole team are so pleased to read that you have had a good experience at the Icaria Barcelona Hotel in the past and we are so happy that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we have met your expectations.
The last weeks we have been almost fully booked daily and unfortunately as I understand our reception team couldn't be able to confirm your reservation.
We regret not being of help this time and we hope you will allow us in the future another opportunity to welcome you back in Barcelona.
My kindest regards,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hotel was in an ideal location and the service was very good however due to the weather conditions usually being poor at this time of year the air conditioning is turned off. The temperature in the room was 28 degees C and after numerous requests they eventually turned it on on our last night - but only after our daughter came out in a heat rash. Food at breakfast or evening meals were of a high standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Scott Y,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel and please accept our sincere apologizes for the temperature inconveniences. The weather has been really unstable this spring season with some too warm and unexpected days. We keep entire at your service and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Barcelona in the near future.
Kind regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was the second time I stayed at Hotel Icaria, and if i go back to Barcelona, it will be there again! It has everything you need in a hotel. Clean hotel, nice people, good food. Just sad that the coctailbar isn't open before 11 pm and that they don't have many cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Liesbeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Liesbeth D,
We appreciate your valuable time and thank you for your sincere comments. About our staff, we are very proud because we know that the guest experience depends on the good personal contact. Concerning our services, you could be sure that your opinion will help us to improve.
We keep entire at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you back at Icaria Barcelona Hotel.
Best regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a two night stop over and even though outside of the centre the location was fab the tour bus stopped right outside as did all the other buses. The hotel has a great pool areA but its not heated and is mins away from a lovely beach the hotel is. Modern clean and the family room 334 perfect for a family of four. Can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely. Stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear sammie,
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is really overpriced. It is extremely noisy, to the point one can hear conversations taking place 3 or 4 rooms away.
The spa and the gym are in poor condition.
Housekeeping starts fairly early in the am, and will surely wake you up since the hallways are so noisy. Also, the housekeeping staff may enter into your room despite the 'do not disturb' sign being posted on the door.
Overall, I am extremely disappointed, because there are several hotels in the same area that offer a much better experience for a similar or lesser price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear StephaneM872 ,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel and please accept our sincere apologizes for the noise inconveniences. We appreciate the opportunity you give us to benefit from your feedback so corrective actions can be taken. As with any hotel, we will have our fair share of noise issues from the corridors and other guests, but this is not the norm. We never want our guests to leave feeling that their expectations weren’t met and we hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Five nights in Barcelona with my wife at this hotel. Some nights at the hotel cost EUR80 others predictably dearer EUR110 as it was Easter weekend. I think value for money. Clean, bright, quality hotel with very friendly and helpful staff responsive to our needs and good enough facilities. Comfortable twin beds, decent sized room. Was on the front, main-road side so quite noisy with traffic and because of that we couldn't open the window at night to keep the room a bit cooler. Suggest an internal, pool-facing room for less road noise.

Had good room service burger and fries for about EUR11 delivered quickly, still hot and tasty. Glass of wine in hotel bar only EUR2.50 which seemed typical as we are used to higher Northern European prices.

Good small pool area altho nestling in the hotel 'courtyard' it got sun only on one side in the morning and the other in the afternoon. Once the Easter crowds had gone that was no problem as there were few people using the beds, most were sightseeing I guess.

The gym by the pool was very limited with a couple of cardio machines and only one multigym machine. That was versatile enough for me - but only because I was the only one in there.

Five minutes walk to the beach which was lovely and clean with a good scattering of cafes and restaurants but not over-the-top like the French Riviera. Cost us typically EUR35-45 for two including tip for main course evening meal with a drink at these local beachside eateries.

Ten minutes walk to the nearest metro station then two or three stops to get into the centre on the frequent trains taking less than ten minutes. We bought 10-journey tickets which was about EUR10 and enough for that long weekend popping in and out of the city. The walk to the metro was a bit lonely and didn't feel very comfortable. I think partly cause it was the holiday weekend with almost no people traffic. However was also possible to jump on a bus or taxi at the hotel and get to the metro that way. A taxi from hotel to metro station cost EUR3.50.

There's a good sized supermarket in a small shopping mall less than five minutes walk from the hotel.

I'd have liked to be a bit closer to the bustling centre, but that would have cost more and not so close to walk to the beach. So on balance this place was fine for us. The promenade for walking, skating or jogging along the beach is very good, there's a great Sunday-morning ambience there.

Room Tip: Not on the main road side at the front unless you like a lot of main road traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BishopORyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear BishopORyan,
Thank you for your kind comments. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Icaria Barcelona Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#206 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#241 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#120 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#149 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing