We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night post cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #237 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Icaria last night before flying home and we found it excellent. Friendly staff, great room (with tea/coffee making facilities) and far enough from the centre for it to be quiet. The outside and pool area was lovely.

It's a short walk to the marina with some great restaurants, and we walked to La Rambla. It was a lovely walk along the seafront.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
There are newer reviews for Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lobby is nice but the rooms at not such as damaged walls, not working air conditioning, wifi access keep dropping off, limited stationary. Service response was good and friendly staff. Close by eateries. Don't have cutlery, wine glasses and can hear the traffic but McDonalds is near by and is 24 hours

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 639abbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is excellent for the beach .
For exploring the city we used the bus to get to the metro. The nearest metro is 10 blocks away.
I found the breakfast good but a little expensive. If you head towards the beach there are mom-and-pop shops that sell an expensive breakfast for 5 euro s.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianCarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This actually was a good location for me as I was attending a conference at the ultra expensive Hotel Arts just up the road, but if you are a tourist take note this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there is nothing - not even a 7 eleven or a cafe - in the immediate vicinity.

Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was average size, poor lighting, clean, comfortable bed, awful pillows, dreadful air con control. In a way it was a bit like being in a UK Premier Inn, but with a bit more gloss. There was free wifi - hoorah!

Breakfast - included in my rate of 90 euros, was a buffet style selection of largely inedible foods. The cold selection - cereals, bread and fruit were fine, coffee was from a lousy machine and it tasted foul. The cooked selection - just dont bother, absolute rubbish.

There is a swimming pool. The hotel is also a 10 minute walk from Barcelona beach. It is an easy 30 euro taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed there for a conference. Rooms were clean and comfortable, close to beachfront and for me conference venue, staff were friendly. Downside room was not well soundproofed so noisy tv next door disturbed me. It was a decent stay and not too expensive if you need to be on this part of town. Free wifi real bonus and these days essential.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank RajaMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Was in Barcelona on business for four nights and stayed at Icaria. It was my first trip to Barcelona so I don't have great knowledge of city layout, but I certainly felt a bit removed from key tourism areas. That said, the city metro system was excellent and provided easy access to Born, Barri Gotic, Barcelonetta, etc.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and quite comfortable. The staff seems used to interacting with a global clientele and were very helpful with all requests. I also found the hotel to feel safe as their room key system is floor specific and there is always a presence in the lobby.

There is a wonderful cafe just down the street for breakfast (I wasn't a fan of their buffet), and a grocery store located within the mall two blocks away. With a two block walk to the beach, you can't beat the morning run opportunities - a great way to wake up (particularly if you live in a land-locked place like St. Louis).

All in all, a solid choice a bit off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckInStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is a safe bet. The rooms are clean and modern, public areas are kept well and the hotel overall is quite modern looking. The pool and gym are a little on the small side but nice. Breakfast is OK, great to have it waiting for you but if I stayed again I would try and eat out without having pre paid for it. Location is good but it depends what you are in Barcelona to do, if you want beach & city break it is perfect with the beach 5 mins walk away but if you are in town for a couple of nights on a city break I would stay closer to the city centre, you can walk it in 30 mins, taxi is about 15 euro or the tourist bus also stops close by, I didn't see a metro stop but I believe there is one close by too. Overall, we found it good value and no reason not to stay the other than the location for a city break.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank suegav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#170 of 513 in Barcelona
2,474 reviews
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#226 of 513 in Barcelona
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
4,668 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
2,400 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#259 of 513 in Barcelona
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#151 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $85 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing