We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travellers” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #221 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not for business travellers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lobby is nice but the rooms at not such as damaged walls, not working air conditioning, wifi access keep dropping off, limited stationary. Service response was good and friendly staff. Close by eateries. Don't have cutlery, wine glasses and can hear the traffic but McDonalds is near by and is 24 hours

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 639abbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    632
    206
    59
    27
See reviews for
389
402
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is excellent for the beach .
For exploring the city we used the bus to get to the metro. The nearest metro is 10 blocks away.
I found the breakfast good but a little expensive. If you head towards the beach there are mom-and-pop shops that sell an expensive breakfast for 5 euro s.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This actually was a good location for me as I was attending a conference at the ultra expensive Hotel Arts just up the road, but if you are a tourist take note this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there is nothing - not even a 7 eleven or a cafe - in the immediate vicinity.

Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was average size, poor lighting, clean, comfortable bed, awful pillows, dreadful air con control. In a way it was a bit like being in a UK Premier Inn, but with a bit more gloss. There was free wifi - hoorah!

Breakfast - included in my rate of 90 euros, was a buffet style selection of largely inedible foods. The cold selection - cereals, bread and fruit were fine, coffee was from a lousy machine and it tasted foul. The cooked selection - just dont bother, absolute rubbish.

There is a swimming pool. The hotel is also a 10 minute walk from Barcelona beach. It is an easy 30 euro taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for a conference. Rooms were clean and comfortable, close to beachfront and for me conference venue, staff were friendly. Downside room was not well soundproofed so noisy tv next door disturbed me. It was a decent stay and not too expensive if you need to be on this part of town. Free wifi real bonus and these days essential.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RajaMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Was in Barcelona on business for four nights and stayed at Icaria. It was my first trip to Barcelona so I don't have great knowledge of city layout, but I certainly felt a bit removed from key tourism areas. That said, the city metro system was excellent and provided easy access to Born, Barri Gotic, Barcelonetta, etc.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and quite comfortable. The staff seems used to interacting with a global clientele and were very helpful with all requests. I also found the hotel to feel safe as their room key system is floor specific and there is always a presence in the lobby.

There is a wonderful cafe just down the street for breakfast (I wasn't a fan of their buffet), and a grocery store located within the mall two blocks away. With a two block walk to the beach, you can't beat the morning run opportunities - a great way to wake up (particularly if you live in a land-locked place like St. Louis).

All in all, a solid choice a bit off the beaten path.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckInStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a safe bet. The rooms are clean and modern, public areas are kept well and the hotel overall is quite modern looking. The pool and gym are a little on the small side but nice. Breakfast is OK, great to have it waiting for you but if I stayed again I would try and eat out without having pre paid for it. Location is good but it depends what you are in Barcelona to do, if you want beach & city break it is perfect with the beach 5 mins walk away but if you are in town for a couple of nights on a city break I would stay closer to the city centre, you can walk it in 30 mins, taxi is about 15 euro or the tourist bus also stops close by, I didn't see a metro stop but I believe there is one close by too. Overall, we found it good value and no reason not to stay the other than the location for a city break.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank suegav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#142 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#233 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel & Spa Villa Olimpica Suites
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#143 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing