We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
59
117
49
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
117
49
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrific location metro station rooms are small free breakfast hairdryer sagrada supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 299 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

the pros first: the owner amanda, carlos, monica are really very helpful, kind and give you a good feeling with a lot of barcelona tips. the hostal is just 2 min from a metro station and with a 10 euro ticket you can ride 10 times with are very good metro, and buses. very close some small /china, spanisch tapas bars/ and bigger good restaurants, if you are on a 1 dollar per day basis, you must go to wok japanees, just opposite the arc triump! buffet all you can eat, seafood and meat, its a surpise. our price for the big! double room with shower in december 50 euros. unbeatable in bcn i think! in the common room at the reception is tea, coffee and a apple a day free.
the cons: the hostel is a transformed appartment in the first and second floor. in the first floor is the reception, maybe loud. we were staying in two doublerooms at the 2nd floor, in a double room with an inbuild shower and toilet. using the toilet makes a loud noise for filling with water, my friend complained that in her room no 204 it was every day very smelly. carlos was aware of this problem but could not explain it and could not fix the problem. be aware that the rooms facing the crossing are very loud in the morning, especially when the crossroad lights are off.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place is near to underground tube station. The room that we got is small but confortable. Breakfast is not included but there are plenty of eateries around. We bought some snack & water bottles from a nearby supermarket (short walking distance). The hostel also provide mineral water but for a price. The people at the hostel is very helpful by showing us interesting places to visit & best place to eat paella. At night the hostel is very quiet & serene best for a good sleep. Overall, we love the hostel because of it affordable price & near to underground tube.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2footprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

i've spend 4 nights with my friend in this hotel in late september. it has a terrific location close to 2 tube stations that take you to anywhere you want. it's without a walking distance (few minutes) from plaça catalunya. the staff is very helpful and speak fluently English. there is wifi and a computer that you can use for free anytime. the room is basic and the shared bathroom was clean with hot water. there a café and tea for free all day.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saksaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hostal Central is located slightly off the main drags of BCN, but still very walkable to hot spots and the metro and easy to find. Previous reviews indicate that the hostel is loud; I'm not sure what people were expecting, but I found the hostel to be absolutely fine and sleeping was no issue due to noise - Spaniards start their evenings later and that should be expected. The finishings are sparse and our room was quite small, not recently renovated, but the bathrooms are very clean and the rooms are cleaned regularly. This isn't the Ritz, but it does the job. One of the better hostal-type accommodations I've booked. I'd definitely stay here again and I'd recommend to future travelers.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night after a Blink 182 concert and we really enjoyed our stay! Really nice building and lovely hostel inside! The staff were very friendly and made our stay in this hostel really enjoyable. Can't complain about a thing, would definitely return here if I have to stay overnight in Barcelona!!:)

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews