We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hostal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Central Barcelona
Ranked #248 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were greeted by Monika who sat us down with a map and kindly pointed out all the best areas of the city to visit and relevant attractions. All members of staff were friendly and spoke good English, we were very grateful for this as our Catalan is very little.
Our room overlooked the main road with a small balcony; the traffic noise was considerable late into the evening, so take earplugs. The room was clean enough, however although the bedding looked clean it did not smell fresh and upon inspection it was clear the duvet was in need of washing or replacement. The bedding was not changed during our 7 night stay.
The en-suite bathroom was small with little room around the WC which faced the wall. The sliding door to the en-suite did not run smoothly and made quite a noise when opening and closing. There was plenty of hot water from the shower, but the head needed de-scaling and also leaked. Towels, liquid soap and a hairdryer were provided.
The furniture in the room was basic. Free WiFi was available but no TV. No fridge was provided in the room.
Breakfast was included in our tariff, this was basic continental style of one croissant each, a piece of french stick each, margarine & jam, coffee and juice. We chose to eat in one of the many local cafes after the first day for something tastier and variety. The breakfast room/lounge was pleasant enough with large ornate windows and attractive plaster work moulding on the ceilings.
The Hostal is well located for the Metro stations Tetuan and Girona and buses. Buy a T10 travel ticket costing 9.80Euros for ten journeys which can be used for metro, bus and tram (where applicable). Many places of interest can be reached on foot from the Hostal but the Metro is fast and simple to use for further exploration.
Barcelona is a vibrant, busy, interesting city, you will do much walking so make sure you take comfortable footwear.

Room Tip: Possibly all rooms face on to the main road/junction so take ear-plugs if easily disturbed at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 280 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

the pros first: the owner amanda, carlos, monica are really very helpful, kind and give you a good feeling with a lot of barcelona tips. the hostal is just 2 min from a metro station and with a 10 euro ticket you can ride 10 times with are very good metro, and buses. very close some small /china, spanisch tapas bars/ and bigger good restaurants, if you are on a 1 dollar per day basis, you must go to wok japanees, just opposite the arc triump! buffet all you can eat, seafood and meat, its a surpise. our price for the big! double room with shower in december 50 euros. unbeatable in bcn i think! in the common room at the reception is tea, coffee and a apple a day free.
the cons: the hostel is a transformed appartment in the first and second floor. in the first floor is the reception, maybe loud. we were staying in two doublerooms at the 2nd floor, in a double room with an inbuild shower and toilet. using the toilet makes a loud noise for filling with water, my friend complained that in her room no 204 it was every day very smelly. carlos was aware of this problem but could not explain it and could not fix the problem. be aware that the rooms facing the crossing are very loud in the morning, especially when the crossroad lights are off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place is near to underground tube station. The room that we got is small but confortable. Breakfast is not included but there are plenty of eateries around. We bought some snack & water bottles from a nearby supermarket (short walking distance). The hostel also provide mineral water but for a price. The people at the hostel is very helpful by showing us interesting places to visit & best place to eat paella. At night the hostel is very quiet & serene best for a good sleep. Overall, we love the hostel because of it affordable price & near to underground tube.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2footprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

i've spend 4 nights with my friend in this hotel in late september. it has a terrific location close to 2 tube stations that take you to anywhere you want. it's without a walking distance (few minutes) from plaça catalunya. the staff is very helpful and speak fluently English. there is wifi and a computer that you can use for free anytime. the room is basic and the shared bathroom was clean with hot water. there a café and tea for free all day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saksaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hostal Central is located slightly off the main drags of BCN, but still very walkable to hot spots and the metro and easy to find. Previous reviews indicate that the hostel is loud; I'm not sure what people were expecting, but I found the hostel to be absolutely fine and sleeping was no issue due to noise - Spaniards start their evenings later and that should be expected. The finishings are sparse and our room was quite small, not recently renovated, but the bathrooms are very clean and the rooms are cleaned regularly. This isn't the Ritz, but it does the job. One of the better hostal-type accommodations I've booked. I'd definitely stay here again and I'd recommend to future travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night after a Blink 182 concert and we really enjoyed our stay! Really nice building and lovely hostel inside! The staff were very friendly and made our stay in this hostel really enjoyable. Can't complain about a thing, would definitely return here if I have to stay overnight in Barcelona!!:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros:

+ excellent location, walking distance to the city centre
+ the lady that welcomed us was really genuinely friendly and helpful, we were really made to feel welcome and not a burden for asking many questions
+ free Wifi
+ the street noise was not really audible (but see "cons" regarding other guests/inquiries about free rooms on friday night)

Neutral:
- breakfast is included if you book directly with the hostel, but then you have to go across the street to a small cafe which has a partnership with the hostel. The breakfast is small, but we found it OK. No buffet, you just get a small croissant, bread, jam, butter, coffee and orange juice.

Cons:
- our room was by the main entrance and on friday night there was a huge amount of traffic - people coming in and out and it was hard to sleep. On other nights it was thankfully much quieter
- For the price you may expect an en-suite (albeit simple) bathroom, but we had only a shared one - still, this shared bathroom was just a few doors down and not bad. The room itself at least had a sink

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaskez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,894 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#118 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,601 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#68 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Central Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Central Barcelona

Address: C/ Diputacio, 346, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $35 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Central Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this is a really nice hostal, in a modernist building, walkind distance all the sighseens in barcelona, we will help you to have a nice stay in Barcelona. Rooms with air conditionair, heat, nice beds, and all information maps, cleaning everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Central Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Central Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Central Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing