We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
54
117
49
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
117
49
44
30
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 294 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place is near to underground tube station. The room that we got is small but confortable. Breakfast is not included but there are plenty of eateries around. We bought some snack & water bottles from a nearby supermarket (short walking distance). The hostel also provide mineral water but for a price. The people at the hostel is very helpful by showing us interesting places to visit & best place to eat paella. At night the hostel is very quiet & serene best for a good sleep. Overall, we love the hostel because of it affordable price & near to underground tube.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2footprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

i've spend 4 nights with my friend in this hotel in late september. it has a terrific location close to 2 tube stations that take you to anywhere you want. it's without a walking distance (few minutes) from plaça catalunya. the staff is very helpful and speak fluently English. there is wifi and a computer that you can use for free anytime. the room is basic and the shared bathroom was clean with hot water. there a café and tea for free all day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saksaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hostal Central is located slightly off the main drags of BCN, but still very walkable to hot spots and the metro and easy to find. Previous reviews indicate that the hostel is loud; I'm not sure what people were expecting, but I found the hostel to be absolutely fine and sleeping was no issue due to noise - Spaniards start their evenings later and that should be expected. The finishings are sparse and our room was quite small, not recently renovated, but the bathrooms are very clean and the rooms are cleaned regularly. This isn't the Ritz, but it does the job. One of the better hostal-type accommodations I've booked. I'd definitely stay here again and I'd recommend to future travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night after a Blink 182 concert and we really enjoyed our stay! Really nice building and lovely hostel inside! The staff were very friendly and made our stay in this hostel really enjoyable. Can't complain about a thing, would definitely return here if I have to stay overnight in Barcelona!!:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros:

+ excellent location, walking distance to the city centre
+ the lady that welcomed us was really genuinely friendly and helpful, we were really made to feel welcome and not a burden for asking many questions
+ free Wifi
+ the street noise was not really audible (but see "cons" regarding other guests/inquiries about free rooms on friday night)

Neutral:
- breakfast is included if you book directly with the hostel, but then you have to go across the street to a small cafe which has a partnership with the hostel. The breakfast is small, but we found it OK. No buffet, you just get a small croissant, bread, jam, butter, coffee and orange juice.

Cons:
- our room was by the main entrance and on friday night there was a huge amount of traffic - people coming in and out and it was hard to sleep. On other nights it was thankfully much quieter
- For the price you may expect an en-suite (albeit simple) bathroom, but we had only a shared one - still, this shared bathroom was just a few doors down and not bad. The room itself at least had a sink

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaskez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews