We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, really liked it!:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Central Barcelona
Ranked #242 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night after a Blink 182 concert and we really enjoyed our stay! Really nice building and lovely hostel inside! The staff were very friendly and made our stay in this hostel really enjoyable. Can't complain about a thing, would definitely return here if I have to stay overnight in Barcelona!!:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros:

+ excellent location, walking distance to the city centre
+ the lady that welcomed us was really genuinely friendly and helpful, we were really made to feel welcome and not a burden for asking many questions
+ free Wifi
+ the street noise was not really audible (but see "cons" regarding other guests/inquiries about free rooms on friday night)

Neutral:
- breakfast is included if you book directly with the hostel, but then you have to go across the street to a small cafe which has a partnership with the hostel. The breakfast is small, but we found it OK. No buffet, you just get a small croissant, bread, jam, butter, coffee and orange juice.

Cons:
- our room was by the main entrance and on friday night there was a huge amount of traffic - people coming in and out and it was hard to sleep. On other nights it was thankfully much quieter
- For the price you may expect an en-suite (albeit simple) bathroom, but we had only a shared one - still, this shared bathroom was just a few doors down and not bad. The room itself at least had a sink

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaskez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a triple room for 5 nights in July.
Pros:
- wonderful staff. We were greeted by Isabella on arrival and she sat us down with a big map and told us all the best sights to see and gave us suggestions on the best beaches. Amanda was also most helpful with any questions we had. Both excellent English speakers.
-I enjoyed being away from the busy las ramblas area, but this quieter location may not be for everyone.
- lots of character to the rooms. The building is beautiful.
- room was very clean on arrival.
- elevator- useful for hauling suitcases up the stairs.
- excellent Airconditioning.
Cons:
- although large, I did not like the bathroom. The shower stall was tiny and was the kind where more water comes out of the shower than stays inside. The bathroom was super wet after each use. Not fun in humid weather.
- room was cramped for 3 people. For 2 it would have been fine.
-a very nice man attends to the front door but when he is not working, the cockroaches come out to play and die in the lobby area. Yuck.
- it was very noisy. Anytime anyone opened the front door and bedroom door, the sound echoed through the hallways. The sound of cars and trucks outside were also very loud.

Although I really appreciate the staff here, I would not return to stay again as it was not good value for our money.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Amanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hostal is within walking distance to metro Tetuan & streets of Gran Via - Passeig De Gracia. Placa De Tetuan's neighbourhood looks & feels safe but too many dog owners around & some big dogs are not on a leash so it can be quite intimidating to walk beside them but so is all over Europe. The area is mainly dominated by Chinese migrants who have settled in BCN and set up their own shops.

Hostal's main entrance to the building, u need to press on the intercom to get HCB staff to unlock da door. Once u enter, it leads u to a tiny lift that fits 2 adults (squeezed up), one small guard room beside da lift & a spiral staircase to go up. Not for claustrophobic person or if u bring heavy luggages, u might need to send them up to the reception floor, then take up da stairs yourself.

There is no actual reception but merely a saloon where they received guests and do the checking in. Checking out was simply returning da keys and going into the small office-like room to make payment.

Overall, this hostal is suitable for young travellers. Not recommended for older travellers esp. those who has difficulties climbing staircase & low tolerance for noise.

At night quite noisy, banging of doors, u can hear your neighbours talking, laughing, screaming (Euro 2012 was on when we came)

Room has aircon... But no tv, no fridge, no hairdryer & no telephone.

U have to go to da communal kitchen (same level as reception floor) to make ur own hot water, free flow of tea bags & Nescafe. Its self-service.

Cleanliness is a big plus point. Newly renovated floors & rooms gives u great comfort. Art Nouveu architecture gives u an artsy feel.

If you can look beyond da first impression, then do consider staying here for 1 or 2 nights. At 103 euros per nite for a triple room including breakfast (which is at a lovely cafe across the street) I think its pretty worth it.

If you want a proper hotel with all the common facilities, find someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadvii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Hostal Central Barcelona is great! When we arrived our room wasn't ready (we got there pretty early in the morning) so the manager got out the Barcelona map and showed us where to go and where not to go. He explained the metro and bus routes and even gave us some tips on saving money.

The common room is nice and sunny with a constant supply of fruit, water, tea, and coffee.

We were in a triple with a bathroom just outside the door. The room was plenty big with wondeful plaster work on the ceiling. All the rooms preserve the original beautiful elements of the building. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Both were cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels as well.

Our room faced the street with a little balcony. With the door shut the street noise was barely noticeable.

The neighborhood is great! 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas or La Sagrada Familia. Supermarket, restaurants, shops, etc. all within a few blocks.

You get a key to the front door, a key to your floor, and a key to your room. Reception is only staffed from 9a-midnight but you can come and go as you please. No lock out. However, this is not a party hostel. It is a residential building and respect should be given.

Would definitely stay here the next time I'm in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a triple room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostal was very clean and the room very nice with a small balcony. A metro station is within a 5min walk. Would definately recommend Hostal Central.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Hostal clean friendly staff to Help, our room was facing main road n but
Noisy . Bed comfortable enough shower worked, balcony 4 air nice, location was 15min walk from las rambles, 45min from beach. 15mins from gaudi building there is a metro 5 mins round corner away.
Few restaurants nearby recommend argentine steak house 4 meat lovers only!!
Overall good stay but wud go sum place else.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 739 in Barcelona
1,619 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#123 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#64 of 739 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 518 in Barcelona
3,905 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 518 in Barcelona
3,146 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Central Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Central Barcelona

Address: C/ Diputacio, 346, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $37 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Central Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this is a really nice hostal, in a modernist building, walkind distance all the sighseens in barcelona, we will help you to have a nice stay in Barcelona. Rooms with air conditionair, heat, nice high quality beds, all with wifi and all information maps, cleaning everyday. we like to take care of you and make a nice stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Central Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Central Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Central Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing