We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
56
117
49
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
117
49
44
30
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 296 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a triple room for 5 nights in July.
Pros:
- wonderful staff. We were greeted by Isabella on arrival and she sat us down with a big map and told us all the best sights to see and gave us suggestions on the best beaches. Amanda was also most helpful with any questions we had. Both excellent English speakers.
-I enjoyed being away from the busy las ramblas area, but this quieter location may not be for everyone.
- lots of character to the rooms. The building is beautiful.
- room was very clean on arrival.
- elevator- useful for hauling suitcases up the stairs.
- excellent Airconditioning.
Cons:
- although large, I did not like the bathroom. The shower stall was tiny and was the kind where more water comes out of the shower than stays inside. The bathroom was super wet after each use. Not fun in humid weather.
- room was cramped for 3 people. For 2 it would have been fine.
-a very nice man attends to the front door but when he is not working, the cockroaches come out to play and die in the lobby area. Yuck.
- it was very noisy. Anytime anyone opened the front door and bedroom door, the sound echoed through the hallways. The sound of cars and trucks outside were also very loud.

Although I really appreciate the staff here, I would not return to stay again as it was not good value for our money.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Amanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hostal is within walking distance to metro Tetuan & streets of Gran Via - Passeig De Gracia. Placa De Tetuan's neighbourhood looks & feels safe but too many dog owners around & some big dogs are not on a leash so it can be quite intimidating to walk beside them but so is all over Europe. The area is mainly dominated by Chinese migrants who have settled in BCN and set up their own shops.

Hostal's main entrance to the building, u need to press on the intercom to get HCB staff to unlock da door. Once u enter, it leads u to a tiny lift that fits 2 adults (squeezed up), one small guard room beside da lift & a spiral staircase to go up. Not for claustrophobic person or if u bring heavy luggages, u might need to send them up to the reception floor, then take up da stairs yourself.

There is no actual reception but merely a saloon where they received guests and do the checking in. Checking out was simply returning da keys and going into the small office-like room to make payment.

Overall, this hostal is suitable for young travellers. Not recommended for older travellers esp. those who has difficulties climbing staircase & low tolerance for noise.

At night quite noisy, banging of doors, u can hear your neighbours talking, laughing, screaming (Euro 2012 was on when we came)

Room has aircon... But no tv, no fridge, no hairdryer & no telephone.

U have to go to da communal kitchen (same level as reception floor) to make ur own hot water, free flow of tea bags & Nescafe. Its self-service.

Cleanliness is a big plus point. Newly renovated floors & rooms gives u great comfort. Art Nouveu architecture gives u an artsy feel.

If you can look beyond da first impression, then do consider staying here for 1 or 2 nights. At 103 euros per nite for a triple room including breakfast (which is at a lovely cafe across the street) I think its pretty worth it.

If you want a proper hotel with all the common facilities, find someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadvii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Hostal Central Barcelona is great! When we arrived our room wasn't ready (we got there pretty early in the morning) so the manager got out the Barcelona map and showed us where to go and where not to go. He explained the metro and bus routes and even gave us some tips on saving money.

The common room is nice and sunny with a constant supply of fruit, water, tea, and coffee.

We were in a triple with a bathroom just outside the door. The room was plenty big with wondeful plaster work on the ceiling. All the rooms preserve the original beautiful elements of the building. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Both were cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels as well.

Our room faced the street with a little balcony. With the door shut the street noise was barely noticeable.

The neighborhood is great! 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas or La Sagrada Familia. Supermarket, restaurants, shops, etc. all within a few blocks.

You get a key to the front door, a key to your floor, and a key to your room. Reception is only staffed from 9a-midnight but you can come and go as you please. No lock out. However, this is not a party hostel. It is a residential building and respect should be given.

Would definitely stay here the next time I'm in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a triple room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostal was very clean and the room very nice with a small balcony. A metro station is within a 5min walk. Would definately recommend Hostal Central.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Hostal clean friendly staff to Help, our room was facing main road n but
Noisy . Bed comfortable enough shower worked, balcony 4 air nice, location was 15min walk from las rambles, 45min from beach. 15mins from gaudi building there is a metro 5 mins round corner away.
Few restaurants nearby recommend argentine steak house 4 meat lovers only!!
Overall good stay but wud go sum place else.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews