We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
54
117
49
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
117
49
44
30
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 294 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hostal is within walking distance to metro Tetuan & streets of Gran Via - Passeig De Gracia. Placa De Tetuan's neighbourhood looks & feels safe but too many dog owners around & some big dogs are not on a leash so it can be quite intimidating to walk beside them but so is all over Europe. The area is mainly dominated by Chinese migrants who have settled in BCN and set up their own shops.

Hostal's main entrance to the building, u need to press on the intercom to get HCB staff to unlock da door. Once u enter, it leads u to a tiny lift that fits 2 adults (squeezed up), one small guard room beside da lift & a spiral staircase to go up. Not for claustrophobic person or if u bring heavy luggages, u might need to send them up to the reception floor, then take up da stairs yourself.

There is no actual reception but merely a saloon where they received guests and do the checking in. Checking out was simply returning da keys and going into the small office-like room to make payment.

Overall, this hostal is suitable for young travellers. Not recommended for older travellers esp. those who has difficulties climbing staircase & low tolerance for noise.

At night quite noisy, banging of doors, u can hear your neighbours talking, laughing, screaming (Euro 2012 was on when we came)

Room has aircon... But no tv, no fridge, no hairdryer & no telephone.

U have to go to da communal kitchen (same level as reception floor) to make ur own hot water, free flow of tea bags & Nescafe. Its self-service.

Cleanliness is a big plus point. Newly renovated floors & rooms gives u great comfort. Art Nouveu architecture gives u an artsy feel.

If you can look beyond da first impression, then do consider staying here for 1 or 2 nights. At 103 euros per nite for a triple room including breakfast (which is at a lovely cafe across the street) I think its pretty worth it.

If you want a proper hotel with all the common facilities, find someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadvii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Hostal Central Barcelona is great! When we arrived our room wasn't ready (we got there pretty early in the morning) so the manager got out the Barcelona map and showed us where to go and where not to go. He explained the metro and bus routes and even gave us some tips on saving money.

The common room is nice and sunny with a constant supply of fruit, water, tea, and coffee.

We were in a triple with a bathroom just outside the door. The room was plenty big with wondeful plaster work on the ceiling. All the rooms preserve the original beautiful elements of the building. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Both were cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels as well.

Our room faced the street with a little balcony. With the door shut the street noise was barely noticeable.

The neighborhood is great! 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas or La Sagrada Familia. Supermarket, restaurants, shops, etc. all within a few blocks.

You get a key to the front door, a key to your floor, and a key to your room. Reception is only staffed from 9a-midnight but you can come and go as you please. No lock out. However, this is not a party hostel. It is a residential building and respect should be given.

Would definitely stay here the next time I'm in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a triple room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostal was very clean and the room very nice with a small balcony. A metro station is within a 5min walk. Would definately recommend Hostal Central.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Hostal clean friendly staff to Help, our room was facing main road n but
Noisy . Bed comfortable enough shower worked, balcony 4 air nice, location was 15min walk from las rambles, 45min from beach. 15mins from gaudi building there is a metro 5 mins round corner away.
Few restaurants nearby recommend argentine steak house 4 meat lovers only!!
Overall good stay but wud go sum place else.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This a relatively low-cost solution to accommodation in Barcelona.

The chief attraction is that the hosts - Amanda and Monica - are fluent English speakers, intelligent, humorous, responsible, warm and welcoming: the place feels safe and homely. We booked by phone, calling long distance from France. Everything turned out as promised. Payment is upfront. Credit/debit cards accepted. Good value for money.

The place is well lit and kept scrupulously clean from what I could see. The hostel has free WiFi on both floors: this is quite a plus as the luxury 5* hotel we stayed in nearby a week earlier did not have WiFi at all. The rooms are small - tricky when opening big suitcases - but that's OK for the fair rates they charge. Location is fine: walking distance from the fashionable downtown areas. Close to Sagrada Familia. There is a communal social room where you can make yourself a free Nescafé coffee and help yourself to an apple if you wish. Notice the wonderful bay windows overhanging the street: the chief attractive architectural feature of the place. Elevator/lift access to the floors. Secure rooms.

If possible I will stay here again when I return to Barcelona in the autumn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows looking out onto Disputacio: the internal room we had needed ventilating and the window opened only onto a shaft. Not bad, but not good either.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews