We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Central Barcelona
Ranked #199 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Hostal Central Barcelona is great! When we arrived our room wasn't ready (we got there pretty early in the morning) so the manager got out the Barcelona map and showed us where to go and where not to go. He explained the metro and bus routes and even gave us some tips on saving money.

The common room is nice and sunny with a constant supply of fruit, water, tea, and coffee.

We were in a triple with a bathroom just outside the door. The room was plenty big with wondeful plaster work on the ceiling. All the rooms preserve the original beautiful elements of the building. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Both were cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels as well.

Our room faced the street with a little balcony. With the door shut the street noise was barely noticeable.

The neighborhood is great! 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas or La Sagrada Familia. Supermarket, restaurants, shops, etc. all within a few blocks.

You get a key to the front door, a key to your floor, and a key to your room. Reception is only staffed from 9a-midnight but you can come and go as you please. No lock out. However, this is not a party hostel. It is a residential building and respect should be given.

Would definitely stay here the next time I'm in Barcelona!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    113
    44
    40
    23
See reviews for
37
109
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a triple room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostal was very clean and the room very nice with a small balcony. A metro station is within a 5min walk. Would definately recommend Hostal Central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
495 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Hostal clean friendly staff to Help, our room was facing main road n but
Noisy . Bed comfortable enough shower worked, balcony 4 air nice, location was 15min walk from las rambles, 45min from beach. 15mins from gaudi building there is a metro 5 mins round corner away.
Few restaurants nearby recommend argentine steak house 4 meat lovers only!!
Overall good stay but wud go sum place else.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleroma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This a relatively low-cost solution to accommodation in Barcelona.

The chief attraction is that the hosts - Amanda and Monica - are fluent English speakers, intelligent, humorous, responsible, warm and welcoming: the place feels safe and homely. We booked by phone, calling long distance from France. Everything turned out as promised. Payment is upfront. Credit/debit cards accepted. Good value for money.

The place is well lit and kept scrupulously clean from what I could see. The hostel has free WiFi on both floors: this is quite a plus as the luxury 5* hotel we stayed in nearby a week earlier did not have WiFi at all. The rooms are small - tricky when opening big suitcases - but that's OK for the fair rates they charge. Location is fine: walking distance from the fashionable downtown areas. Close to Sagrada Familia. There is a communal social room where you can make yourself a free Nescafé coffee and help yourself to an apple if you wish. Notice the wonderful bay windows overhanging the street: the chief attractive architectural feature of the place. Elevator/lift access to the floors. Secure rooms.

If possible I will stay here again when I return to Barcelona in the autumn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows looking out onto Disputacio: the internal room we had needed ventilating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have been with my husband 5 nights and the place is very central, and clean, it has been reformed and looks all new. Maps, information, they help me to find all the list of the places in Barcelona. Coffe and tea free. We have a problem to get to the airport because it was a big strike, and receptionist help me to find the taxi to go to the airport. Barcelona is great!!, we love it!!. very clean and every night clean the streets with water!!. I will recomend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

First of all I have to write that staff is fantastic in this place - very helpful and nice. I've booked a triple room with shared bathroom but just a day before it came out that I cann't go to Barcelona.Monica advised me to change the reservation and prepared for my husband and my daughter a nice double room with private bathroom. She brought him a kettle to make some hot water for the baby and adivsed him about activities in Barcelona. She even allowed them to check out few hour later as our daughter was sleeping. Nice place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed in a triple room with a balcony and street view. It was very small and basic but since we only spent the nights there, it was alright. The staff was helpful and we had wifi in the room. Metro station is close and location is good (residential area). Downsides: floor was not cleaned every day and the breakfast was the same every morning. But there are many cafes/restaurants nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrmrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal 56
Hostal 56
#148 of 308 in Barcelona
77 reviews
Eixample
La Isla Hostal
La Isla Hostal
#147 of 308 in Barcelona
134 reviews
Eixample
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
#124 of 308 in Barcelona
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal La Palmera
Hostal La Palmera
#99 of 308 in Barcelona
144 reviews
Eixample
Hostalet Barcelona
Hostalet Barcelona
#222 of 308 in Barcelona
109 reviews
Eixample
Hostalin Barcelona
Hostalin Barcelona
#142 of 308 in Barcelona
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Central Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Central Barcelona

Property: Hostal Central Barcelona
Address: C/ Diputacio, 346, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Central Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this is a really nice hostal, in a modernist building, walkind distance all the sighseens in barcelona, we will help you to have a nice stay in Barcelona. Rooms with air conditionair, heat, nice beds, and all information maps, cleaning everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hostal Central Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Central Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Central Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing