We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Central Barcelona on Diputacio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Central Barcelona
Ranked #223 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hostal Central Barcelona on Diputacio”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a pleasant hostel, with private baths available. The building dates from the early 1900s, with high ceilings, elegant tiles, and an art noveau entryway. The people who run the hostel are very helpful and pleasant. The location on Diputacio is very good -- close to a Metro station, and walking distance to the heart of Barcelona. There is another, more recently established hostel by the same name; should not be confused with this one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same floor as the office are up only one flight of steps. There is a tiny elevator up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    113
    44
    40
    26
See reviews for
38
111
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Recently travelled to Barcelona and had a great stay at HCB. Clean and comfortable rooms with air con (which was really nice in June!) It had everything we wanted except breakfast (apparently the kitchen was broken). However, it is really easy to find a cheap breakfast in Barcelona, so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ami i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Loved the location of this place and the helpfulness of the family (it is a family run hotel) . Short walk to airport buses, close to almost everything. Recommend renting a bike and using this hotel as hub

Room Tip: Rooms facing La Rambla are very very noisy although the balcony is a sweet thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Man, some people are so picky. First stop on a eurotrip and it was fine for a two teachers. Aircon, clean, balcony, fresh towels daily etc. Typical budget accom. Would stay there again. Only problem was no wifi in our room, but that happens.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynwa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drenthe
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is about a 20-min. walk from the centre, but you can take the metro and it's closer to the Sagrada Familia.
The hotel is situated in a nice building and the rooms were clean.

However, we had deliberately booked a room with our own bathroom, because my friend was in her tenth week of her pregnancy. For the last night we had to move to a room with a shared bathroom, because of an overbooked room. We were really not happy with this, since my friend had to be able to get to the bathroom asap when she would have to throw up. We got a lousy excuse and after a lot of bickering a discount of only 5 euros, which we managed to up to ten. They only gave us the option to take the room or find another hotel, which we really didn't want to, since it would have meant losing the morning (or more) to that in stead of enjoying Barcelona. On Monday, when we arrived, the guy who checked us in, was already a bit surprised to realise we would leave on Friday, not on Thursday and had the planning wrong. He should have done something then, and not leave it until Wednesday evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miyelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Drenthe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

During our 4 day stay we had to move from one room to another with all our luggage because they had overbooked our room.
We had booked a room with a bathroom, but there were too many guests so we had to move to a shared-bathroom-room.
A room we didn't want, but we had no choice: change rooms or leave the hotel. It was unbelievable!
The staff was not friendly at all and gave us for al this trouble only a discount of 5 euro's!
The worst of it: we were not the only guests who had to change rooms that week, there were 4 (!) other families.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aura81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The hostal is located an easy walk from many of the central tourist locations and is run by friendly, helpful people. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate. It was quite noisy - street noise (those darned motor scooters!) plus we heard every person coming and going through the hostal's main door which was close to our room (suspect it would be for most rooms). However, this is a hostal in the middle of a major city - so you have to expect this.

There was a nice breakfast room and a good continental breakfast was included in the room rate.

The staff speak adequate-good English and were very helpful with maps and suggestions on what to do and how to get there.

We could not access wifi, though we were told service was available but might not be available in all places.

We'd definitely consider staying here in future or recommending it to others.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal 56
Hostal 56
#143 of 307 in Barcelona
79 reviews
Eixample
La Isla Hostal
La Isla Hostal
#142 of 307 in Barcelona
138 reviews
Eixample
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
#122 of 307 in Barcelona
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostalet Barcelona
Hostalet Barcelona
#221 of 307 in Barcelona
109 reviews
Hostal Conde Guell
#113 of 307 in Barcelona
75 reviews
El Raval
Hostal La Palmera
Hostal La Palmera
#97 of 307 in Barcelona
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Central Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Central Barcelona

Property: Hostal Central Barcelona
Address: C/ Diputacio, 346, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Central Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this is a really nice hostal, in a modernist building, walkind distance all the sighseens in barcelona, we will help you to have a nice stay in Barcelona. Rooms with air conditionair, heat, nice beds, and all information maps, cleaning everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Central Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Central Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Central Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing