We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, functional but noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Amra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Amra
Ranked #22 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location, functional but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I hesitated between three and four stars on this one, settling for four because the staff were so helpful and friendly, keeping our bags for us after check-out until we caught the afternoon bus. The location is ideal for first-timers to get to grips with Barcelona, being near metro lines and several key districts - a stroll to the Barrio Gotic, and the Boqueria food market for example - and just a few minutes from where the airport shuttle terminates in Placa Catalunya. It's on the first floor of an old-fashioned apartment block but the rooms are strictly minimalist/modern with very few furnishings. Beautifully clean, and with nice linen and very comfortable beds, the trouble is that there is no sound-proofing between rooms or rooms and central lobby so every time someone enters their room the door bangs as loudly as if it's your own - not much fun if you are trying to sleep. Also the air-con was going on and cutting out all night and we couldn't turn it off. We loved the balcony and tall shuttered windows though, and the price was pretty reasonable (no breakfast, or drinks facilities except hot and cold water in the lobby - but we enjoyed going out for a morning coffee in local cafe anyway). We'd consider using it again, but would pack ear plugs.

Room Tip: We had no 6, which had a balcony and two chairs and overlooked the local streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peapod27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    112
    43
    5
    4
See reviews for
62
146
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The room was clean but without windows, doesn't have services. No 24 hour front desk.
Its in a second floor of a residential building and you don't know where to go when the open the door.
The location its fine.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hostal to sleep only is a good choice buy expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander R, Propietario at Hostal Amra, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Cecilia: Ante todo gracias por elegirnos para su viaje a barcelona!! Lamentamos que su estancia no haya sido del todo placentera, me gustaria comentar que nuestras habitaciones TODAS son EXTERIORES y disponen de BALCON o en su caso de ventana con Vistas a la terraza! Por lo cual me llama la atencion que diga que su habitacion no tenia ventanas.No consideramos que nuestros precios sean elevados si valoramos nuestras calidades, ubicacion y servicios que ofrecemos que se acercan a cualqueir hotel de 3 y 4 estrellas, este aspecto ha sido valorado positivamente por todos nuestros clientes siempre. Al momento de hacer su reserva debio elegir algo mas economico aunque seguramente de menor calidad. La ubicacion de Amra esta debidamente señalizada tanto en el exterior del edificio como en su interior, ademas de que contamos con un portero en el edificio que siempre indica amablemente nuestra ubicacion y en que planta estamos, tal vez al no estar familiarizada con los terminos europeos se pudo Ud. confundir. Nuestra recepcion esta abierta las 24 H todos los dias del año y esto lo podemos garantizar 100% ademas cuenta Ud con una variada oferta de Servicios con nosotros, tales como, DESAYUNO, en el restaurant de los bajos,INFORMACION TURISTICA, VENTA DE ENTRADAS,AGUA FRIA Y CALIENTE GRATIS, CUSTODIA DE EQUIPAJE, etc etc. Sin dudas no pregunto Ud a nuestro STAFF sobre estos y se ha llevado la percepcion de que no se brindaban!! lamentamos este hecho! y esperamos la proxima vez tenerla con nosotros y poder ofrecerle todo nuestro abanico de Servicios en Amra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A perfect little hostel. The crew was very friendly. I arrived to early so I could leaves luggage. When I returned to check in my room they already put the luggage in the room. This is what I call great service. Normally this is 5 star service.

Everything was modern and very clean and nice. An this for the outstanding price of 70 euros for a double room.

The location is great. Just in the middle of everything.

I will definitively return the next time I stay in Barca.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Big_L_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Cleanliness, comfort, extraordinary location,plus great care from the staff!
That already makes your holidays great. All the rest come naturally.

I will certainly stay here at Amra again if there is a chance and definetely recommend it to couples, family, or alone.

Thanks for everything guys, I mean it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravalerEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino di Sangro, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The position is amazaing, hust five minutes from the rambla, very close to the underground metro. The rooms are very clean, very comfortable and beautiful. The staff is very kind and helpful. simply perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander R, Propietario at Hostal Amra, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hostel and also thanks for the comment! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, thats the most important thing for our staff. We´ll be waiting for you next time you visit Barcelona.
We hope to see you back soon!
Hugs from AMRA staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

First time in Barcelona, found Hostal Amra at the last minute and decided to book. Hotel was small with about 6 rooms but very clean, well maintained, and in a great location - right in the heart of several great neighborhoods (Barri Gotic, Placa de Catalunya, El Born). Barcelona is a very walkable city, and the hotel's location gives you a great home base to explore from. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, giving us great local restaurant and bar recommendations in the city for during our stay. We even decided to stay an extra night! Both of our rooms had comfortable beds, lots of space, and a balcony for sitting and drinking wine/people watching.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aklein785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hostel is perfectly situated. It's modern, made with taste, very clean and safe. The rooms are very spacious (in addition bathrooms are impressively big), good WI-FI, good beds (singles beds are large), the stuff is nice and helpful. Very good solution quality/price. I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liudmyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#7 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#17 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amra

Property: Hostal Amra
Address: C/ Caspe 28, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Amra 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened Hostal in Barcelona located in the heart of Barcelona, just a few streets from Paseo de Gracia. From Amra Hostal in Barcelona you can visit the most interesting and famous monuments of the city, such as Casa Batllo, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, the Gothic Quarter and much more.Our new hostal in Barcelona is designed with a modern and minimalist feel, with four types rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Amra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Amra Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing