We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveler rating
1,054
385
103
53
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,054
385
103
53
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz nightrooftop barleading hotels of the worldpasseig de graciabeautiful hotelstar hotelturn down servicejunior suitegaudi buildingstapasloved this hotellocation was perfectsmall poolthe air conditioninggothic quarterconciergecity
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I love Casa Fuster and the wonderful staff there.
The only negative thing is the breakfast room. I am not
too happy starting my day in a 'more suitable for a disco' -look
space located in the basement with a staff consisting of lazy daydreamers and paying a lot for this 'fun'.
Nevermind....there is a coffee shop with outdoor tables just across the entrance. There You can have a sunny start for your day.
Special thanks for all the ground floor staff! Best service ever!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThenHePackedAndLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Casa Fuster exudes class, style and superior service – but as with anything in life you get what you pay for.
We stayed at the Casa Fuster for three nights April 25-April 28 2008. We had a bit of a lesson in supply and demand as the weekend we were there was the same as the F1 race in Barcelona and so room rates were higher across the entire city. And so it is….Anyway we are middle class folks but like to stay in quite nice hotels when we travel (and don’t mnd paying for it), but I think you’ll find some fairly practical comments relative to the hotel and its amenities.
The hotel is optimally located at the top of Passeig de Gracia. One simply cannot beat the great shopping up and down Passeig de Gracia. It was a 5 minute walk to the Casa Mila, our first tourist stop one morning and a Bus Turistic stop as well. As someone else noted its about 10 mins give or take to Placa de Catalunya. There are some very nice restaurants within 2 minutes of Casa Fuster including Fernandez (where we dined one day for lunch) and El Toc de Gracia (where we dined for dinner – the hotel recommended the place). Cervesseria Cataluna was a 10 minute walk and a great dinner one evening as well. Hotel Majestic is in an even better location a bit further down Passeig de Gracia but I cant comment intelligently on that institution as we never set foot in there.
We arrived at 1 PM on a Friday and were immediately checked-in. We had a reservation for a standard room and we were given Room 412 facing Passeig de Gracia with a decent view and a very small balcony.
Because of the building’s historic landmark status, the rooms were not allowed to be expanded at all and thus space is definitely at a premium. In the standard room we had to move the chaise over a few feet just to open the balcony door, then slide our way through the balcony if we wanted to catch some fresh air. Having stated that its not as if the balcony is truly intended for spending significant amounts of time out there. We had to step around our suitcases just to get in and out of bed. If there is a next time we would definitely pay for a larger room. The bed was a true double and very comfortable, the pillows plush. There was a small desk and a flat screen TV just above the minibar. The closet was large enough and we managed just fine. The bathroom was very nicely done in marble and complete with bidet and his and her toiletries.
We were religious about using the room safe and had absolutely no issues with any lost belongings or anything of the sort. As a matter of fact I will state that Casa Fuster provided an overwhelming feeling of safety relative to the Las Ramblas area etc. You could just feel you were in a better neighborhood and the staff acted accordingly. We tipped the maid one morning and noticed a difference in the level and timing of service (room cleaning and turn down) the next day – not sure if there is anything to that or not, just an observation.
One gripe – the hotel claimed to have an iron (I checked before we left the US) in the room – not true. We arrived to find no iron in the hotel room (much to my fiance’s dismay!) and as with many luxurious European hotels, the hotel would not furnish one. Instead the hotel offered to press any item of clothing through its Laundry/Press service. The hotel charges 10 Euros to press one pair of pants, as an example. This is what one would expect for a high end hotel and so we do not mean to be talking out of both sides of our mouths – just thought there should be an iron when advertised as such. In retrospect it turns out that the Travelocity website noted the Casa Fuster provided an iron, not the hotel website itself.
The rooftop terrace was very nice – we enjoyed a drink or two up there one pleasant afternoon and soaked up some 70 degree sun while admiring the view. As with most hotel pools in Barcelona – the rooftop pool did not impress at all – it is a tiny footpool by American standards. We then walked over and fell asleep for an hour or so in the lounge recliners on the roof. Very relaxing.
If you are into exercising/working out, please don’t be too misled by Casa Fuster’s boasting of an exercise room. We are talking about one treadmill, one bike and a bench with no weights. Don’t get me wrong, the treadmill did its job just fine and there is a flatscreen TV in the small fitness room to boot. However there wasnt much equipment is all and had there been someone else wanting to exercise at the same time I wouldn’t have been altogether pleased. The sauna is a tiny room just off the exercise room.
By far and away the most admirable trait of the Casa Fuster was its staff and service. The staff was absolutely fantastic, especially when compared to the Hotel 1898 (where we stayed for the next three nights). You leave your key when you depart the hotel (you should see the size of these things, remarkable :) and the staff will do their best to accommodate any request one has. The services provided to us ranged from: recommending casual, local restaurants as well as booking restaurant reservations at places like Arola et al, changing money at the front desk, providing information on local attractions such as Bus Turistic, Montsterrat, printing out the train schedules for us, booking a rental car, you name it really. On our last day there the staff held our luggage for 4 hours while we shopped and prior to our departure for Hotel 1898. Hailing a taxi was no problem through the equivalent of their bellboys and even the lowest ranking staff member truly seemed to be informed and happy to assist. I guess that is the point – many hotels offer such services but the folks here seemed to do it with a smile. Again I make these statements in comparison to the Hotel 1898, which was much more of a ‘we provide some info, you do the rest yourself” type of feeling.
Would we stay again? We probably would. For the feeling of a fantastically constructed 5-star hotel and the service it provides. there is no mistaking the architecture and history. However, I would likely first explore other properties like Hotel Majestic or Claris (acknowledging Claris is a step below Fuster). In the end, no real complaints, we loved Casa Fuster.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chitownguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Beautiful hotel very high quality rooms very professional staff
a bit pricey but a nice treat. Location second to none. Very quiet this time of the year.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IrelandQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Casa Fuster is a 5*GL hotel with prices to match. We did an air miles deal, so did not pay cash to stay.
The hotel is 12 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya, just north of the Diagonal-not totally central, but not too far either.
The architecture and design is cool, Catalan and classy.Soem will say too dark, but we thought it atmospheric.
The room was small but beautiful.The bathroom was remarkably large, but with no bidet and a shower along the side of the bath, it was not well thought through.The freebies were the best we have ever had in any hotel.
Breakfast was superb, except the tea made with luke warm chlorinated water!
Overall we had a great stay, but for the money, we would chose 1898 or Les Arts any day.

1  Thank tomnNW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

I just come back after a weekend spent in Barcelona at Casa Fuster. I loved it, the entire concept. Architecture and design of the hotel is quite special. Room was spotless and breakfast excellent. Staff speaks fluently English and they are really helpfull. Special thanks to Mircea (concierge) which was really helpful (my friend lost her mobile and they delivere it in 20 minutes to the airport). We also enjoyed the sangria served at hotel's bar. About the location I have to mention that hotel well served by public transportatinon (metro is 100 m away) and 2 stations away from Plaza Catalunya.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iulia_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews