We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy beyond belief”
Review of Casa Fuster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Fuster Hotel
Ranked #73 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

You certainly pay for it, but it's one amazing hotel as far as appearance. Wasn't completely sold on the service in the hotel, but the bar staff were wonderfully attentive. One of the most expensive Manhattans I've ever had but made perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Casa Fuster is in a modernista building that is very beautiful both on the inside and out. The hotel was well located in the Eixample neighbourhood. It was a bit of a walk to most of the tourist sites but this usually involved a pleasant walk down the Passeig de Grecia. The hotel is a little bit pricey but with that you get fantastic service. All of the staff were very helpful with their recommendations of things to do, places to eat and security tips. The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and it was full of nice things as well as an omelet bar. I would recommend if you are looking for an upscale stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

did not stay in this property during our visit to Barcelona, but did go there for their Thursday evening Jazz night. it is a great night to dress up and enjoy a great evening of drink, food, an jazz in a truly majestic setting. we walked in without a reservation minutes before the music started, got a seat at a lounge table near the bar for only 19 euro cover which included our first cocktail. next time I will get the 65 euro tapas selection (which includes cover charge, drink, and table). the service of the staff is nothing short of spectacular as they parade in the tapas all evening long. to our delight and surprise, on the last dessert tapa of the evening, they gave us the dessert selection on the house. being next to the bar, we were able to talk to the jazz trio between sets. it was an awesome evening, one we will do again when back in Barcelona on a Thursday evening.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Based on the hotel’s whimsical and appealing exterior, and on its membership in the Leading Hotels of the World, I was looking for a superlative experience at Casa Fuster. But it did not meet my lofty expectation and underperformed for the money, especially because there were some issues with internet access.

Casa Fuster looks just gorgeous from the outside, similar in style to some of the Gaudi-designed buildings in the area.

Inside, the rooms are somewhat small and the furniture a bit old-fashioned. In my upgraded room, there was no comfortable desk chair and it was hard to find the single electrical outlet near the small desk. Clearly not meant for the business traveler.

The bathroom, by contrast, was a highlight, reminiscent of a Ritz Carlton or a Four Seasons. Heated towel racks, “rainfall” shower, beautiful fixtures, subdued lighting and a lovely amenity kit made it far superior to the standard hotel bathroom. I wanted to find excuses to spend more time there. Wash my socks in the bidet perhaps?

The view from the balcony was beautiful but without even plastic furniture there was no way to enjoy it for more than a few minutes.

The hotel went out of its way to watch out for some of the little things, such as fancy pastries as a welcome gift. Bell service and front desk response were both quick and courteous.

Breakfast was disappointing. Like a chain hotel, Casa Fuster fed the guests in a large underground room offering bins of warmed over food. There may have been omelets or other fresh food available but no one asked me if I wanted any. Some food was very good (yogurt, fresh fruit etc.). But the buffet was poorly tended even as employees were standing around near the entrance. The person who carefully wrote down my room number then offered me coffee did not bring any. Coffee and tea service at the buffet was somewhat chaotic and there was no one there to clean up the spills. These are minor points in the grand scheme, but since the place is expensive and “exclusive,” I’m pointing it out.

The ground-floor lobby bar is a dream of European belle epoque but when I went to sit down in the sun after breakfast, I was quickly shooed away from the sunniest area. The lone staffer, in a nearly empty room, told me that the area was off limits.

The biggest downside to this hotel was the lack of decent internet access. In this day and age, access at 0.37 MB (akin to a mid-grade dial-up modem) is just not acceptable. I was in and out of the room and decided to just put up with it. When I mentioned it to the desk at the end of my 24-hour stay, they graciously took note. I made a point of using speedtest.net to measure the speed in the lobby, barely faster, and in the basement (super fast). How is that even possible? I can’t imagine that I am the first one who said something.

UPDATE: The next business day after I filled out the online survey regarding this stay, I got a very apologetic but not very specific note from the management. I give them credit for trying. Still, I recommend asking them about internet speed if that is a priority.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BostonFrequentTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have just return from our 4 nights stay at this lovely historic hotel.

Pros: The architecture of the building is beautiful, well worth a photo or two. The staff are fabulous, providing an excellent service, very professional, yet very personal, all knowing your name, making you feel like part of a family.

Cons: Rooms are on a small size, the very dark furniture making them feel even smaller, not justifying the very high price charged, although the bathrooms are fantastic. Also, there was no warning on any booking sites, including the hotel's, that the very beautiful restaurant on the first floor is closed for refurbishment and a part of the downstairs coffee lounge is used instead. The top floor terrace, with supposedly wonderful views over the city is also closed, which was very disappointing, as this was one of the deciding factors for us booking this hotel.

Overall we were very happy to stay in this hotel, mainly due to its staff and service, which was really 5 star or more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IvanaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

First of all Hotel Casa Fuster is a modernist building that is worth a look from the outside whether your're staying or not. I stayed in a suite with a view of Diagonal avenue, the room was comfortable and spacious, while the bathroom was well stocked with Loewe amenities.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Vini_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Located in a perfect location, walking distance to the best shops, Gothic quarter and Gaudi's famous Casa Batllo. From the moment you walk into the main lobby you are well taken care off by the professional and ever so helpful staff. The hotel delivers a comfortable stay with lovely boutique rooms and grand bathrooms. Breakfast buffet is bounty full without compromising the taste. The architecture of the building is a wonderful reflection of Barcelona's style, beautifully restored building. I highly recommend this gem of a property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view or the Sagrada Familia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieGosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#20 of 516 in Barcelona
1,896 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,790 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fuster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fuster Hotel

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 132, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $194 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Fuster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, on Passeig de Gràcia, this genuine gem designed by the Catalan architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner symbolises the spirit of modernism in its maximum capacity. Hotel Casa Fuster has traditionally been a meeting point for guests, artists, intellectuals and locals who look for a quiet and unique place for business or pleasure. The superior terrace with swimming pool has become a unique lookout point above the whole Passeig de Gràcia, the Mediterranean Sea, the Tibidabo mountain and the Sagrada Familia. It also has a reading room that is perfect to relax while enjoying a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Fuster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Fuster
Casa Fuster Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing