We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit 2nd October for 2 days”
Review of Onix Rambla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onix Rambla Hotel
Ranked #254 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit 2nd October for 2 days”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is very basic, room decoration was very depressing, no pictures, no vin formation pack. Reception staff helpful but would be nice if they smiled. Breakfast is Ok, it would be nice not have to ask for a second cupvof tabor coffee.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    268
    69
    17
    13
See reviews for
114
270
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our three nights here at the end of September were great. The hotel is so central and only a block from a main square where all the hop-on, hop-off busses started their tours. It was a 25 minute walk to the sea along the vibrant pedestrian walkway La Rambla and just above the most amazing tapas restaurant - Ciudad Condal. The nights were a bit noisy, but that can be expected as we overlooked the happening area, where people party till the sun comes up. My trick was to put in earphones and play ambient music all night. The breakfast was great, staff extremely helpful and available. Rooms were clean and modern. For the price we paid, I give this 5 stars!

Room Tip: If noise worries you, request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purdy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First of all, this is not the best hotel, nor it intends to be. Instead it is a solid 3-4 star hotel that will give you quiet nights, tasty breakfast and a smiling staff all the time.

The location is just perfect, walk outside and you have a bar terrace right there!, go down the corner for a more upscale meal at Ciudad Condal... turn around and enjoy drinks and live music at Obama, go to the parallel street and you are in front of Gaudí's Casa Batlló... just outstanding.

The rooms are big, clean and have a nice balcony that opens all the way... although we didn't get to enjoy a nice view as we were in the back of the hotel :(

It is definitely a great choice in Barcelona and would gladly come back anytime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had room with french balcony which we could open up and have fresh air. Really nice, our only complain is that there was only one chair and we were two persons. However, most of the day spent outside hotel.NB.Some rooms had only a small window which was invisible and could only be opened a little. Try to avoid these rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Inger Karin Win... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

It's at the end of the Rambla (not Harbour end) which means it is still close enough to everything to walk(5 mins to Gaudi's Casa Batlo & la Pedrera, approx 15 mins to La Famila) It also means its quieter at night, which is a bonus. Dont be fooled by the photo of the pool, it's a postage stamp, & it's cold, but on a hot day it would do the job. The rooms are rather dark & characterless. A picture wouldnt go amiss. The hotel looks very Nordic but the room do let it down, 2 singles pushed as a double, however this is the norm for Spain. Free Internet is a bonus & it was really reliable. Breakfast is ran by just 1 person, so gettin a tea or coffee can take a while. It's the usual fare, more than enough to set you up for the day. I loved the location, the hotel itself is prob a strong 3+

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirovohrad, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything was great during our stay, including the cleanliness of the room and the hotel overall and the friendliness of the staff, but the view was very disappointing. We had a back room (which was good because it was quite) and the window was facing some airconditioning system or something like that, and felt like we were not in Barcelona but somewhere in the outskirts of Detroit. This is the only reason I'm giving it a 4. WiFi barely works in the room, so don't count on that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dariya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pros: professional staff, impeccably clean everywhere, free WiFi and a great location.

Cons: the shower's water temperature fluctuated wildly at random, changing every few seconds from cool to scalding hot.

You do hear the street noise even on the top floors. It took me a couple of days to realize the "muzak" I thought coming from the hallway was actually a flute-playing busker on the street.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, try to avoid getting a street-facing room. The musical buskers can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Onix Liceo Hotel
Onix Liceo Hotel
#318 of 512 in Barcelona
642 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#67 of 512 in Barcelona
2,006 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#362 of 512 in Barcelona
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#224 of 512 in Barcelona
1,010 reviews
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#264 of 512 in Barcelona
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Rambla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Rambla Hotel

Property: Onix Rambla Hotel
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Rambla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Rambla Hotel is a very comfortable 3* urban hotel in Barcelona city centre. It has 40 spacious and modern rooms with some charming views over Rambla de Catalunya. Its location is truly ideal ! You will be able to walk to Gaudi’s famous buildings, museums, and enjoy the best shopping of town ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Onix Rambla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Rambla
Onix Rambla Barcelona
Onix Rambla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing