We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more central place to stay in Barcelona...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onix Rambla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Onix Rambla Hotel to your Saves list
Onix Rambla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No more central place to stay in Barcelona...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel since our days that we lived in this great and lively town. It´s located on the upperside of the Ramblas(a place where you wont find many tourist, but primarily locals..) You are 50 meters away from the Gran Via, Barcelona's main avenue and more important, the same 50 metres away from Ciutat Comtal, Barcelona's great tapería.(corner Ramblas with Gran Via..) The Onix Rambla is about 7-8 years "old" and is a modern, no nonsense hotel. Service is good. Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but walk a few meters and you can enjoy breakfast at the tapería..One advise, even though you wont have a view, pick a room to the backside, it gets rather noisy on the Rambla side of the hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biancofreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    227
    57
    13
    12
See reviews for
93
230
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location of this hotel is excellent for a citytrip. Service at reception was very friendly and helpfull, but unfortunately not the same in the breakfastroom. Buffet breakfast was okay, but not outstanding. The room was quite basic but it was peaceful and silent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I (I'm 40, she's 30) just returned after spending a few nights at the hotel. Our room was quite large and clean but definitely had a very minimalist feel to it (very sparsely decorated, no kettle, etc..). Here are a few thoughts:

pros:
-large clean rooms
-if you're at the front of the hotel you have a gorgeous view of cafes, bars and La Rambla down the street
-perfect location as the subway is down the street and La Rambla is 200 meters away
-good price point for the location and amenities.

cons:
-bathtubs only have a 1/2 glass vertical panel so a lot of water was spraying onto the floors
-it can get quite noisy as the walls thin (crying baby) and the evenings can be quite loud with the bar crowd
-number of the guests (me included) were having problems with the internet connection all weekend which was a huge pain in the butt (useful to book tours, buy tickets to museums and research are to do list)
-the breakfast (8.5 e/per) was pretty disappointing. you can get much better deals if you just step outside your room
-the staff didn't seem as engaged as other hotels you stayed at
the TV only had basic cable (no English channels)

my wife and i also had a miscommunication during our books as the website mentioned that breakfast was included when we booked our room. that didn't seem to be the case when we checked out to our chagrin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank muskoka_cottager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A fabulous hotel to stay in for a few days shopping, sight seeing and catching up with a friend. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed and being situated just north of the main shopping areas was less busy with tourists. Brilliant roof top swimming pool and private terrace...found we were the only ones using it, so was perfect to lie in the sun and 'chat our heads off' ! great cafes nearby and a fabulous deli, perfect for take out meals for lunch.
Rooms simply furnished, but very clean with good quality sheets and a great large bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the end of August It is a very basic hotel with no atmosphere.I found the staff were just not interested and they never enquired how are stay was even when we were leaving! The rooms are very basic and a kettle would have been nice!.The only good thing was the location this was very good as it was right in the milldle of everything.I would not stay at this hotel again it was just dead!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erinn186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, service is good and perfectly located, would recommend and would def stay there again!...only downside is breakfast is a little limited but for what you're paying, it's value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhurhangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Onix Liceo Hotel
Onix Liceo Hotel
#278 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#310 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#153 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#374 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Rambla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Rambla Hotel

Property: Onix Rambla Hotel
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Rambla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Rambla Hotel is a very comfortable 3* urban hotel in Barcelona city centre. It has 40 spacious and modern rooms with some charming views over Rambla de Catalunya. Its location is truly ideal ! You will be able to walk to Gaudi’s famous buildings, museums, and enjoy the best shopping of town ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Onix Rambla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Rambla
Onix Rambla Barcelona
Onix Rambla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing