We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can a tour about the "Dark Past" be fun? Yes, if Lorna is your guide!”

Dark Past Night Walking Tour
Ranked #103 of 696 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A twilight wander in El Born following the shadows of medieval punishments, executions and executioners, past spirits and the infamous Spanish Inquisition. Please note that, although a couple of the city's legends might be included, this is not a Ghost Tour but an historical night tour based on the darker side of Barcelona's history.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Learn about the Spanish inquisition, a very dark and deathly period, in an engaging and humorous way. Lorna is a fantastic tour guide. She is enthusiastic, engaging, well informed and absolutely delightful. I wanted to know more about the inquisition so signed up for this night tour. I really didn't know what to expect but I did not expect to have so much fun while learning. Lorna had props, pictures she projected on the the historical walls, audience participation and lots of historical stories to tell. While we were an audience of all adults, I felt she would also be every young child's favorite teacher.

1  Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Dark Past Night Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Hi Sherry,

That was a fantastic review for Lorna. I couldn't agree more with you about her guiding skills. I would have also loved it to have her as a teacher ;-).

Thanks a million for taking your time to review us and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Until then,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spanish inquisition"
in 34 reviews
"dark history"
in 12 reviews
"visual aids"
in 5 reviews
"great storyteller"
in 5 reviews
"guide ross"
in 4 reviews
"gruesome details"
in 4 reviews
"audience participation"
in 4 reviews
"torture methods"
in 3 reviews
"el born"
in 13 reviews
"runner beans"
in 14 reviews
"two hours"
in 10 reviews
"barcelona's history"
in 6 reviews
"old city"
in 12 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 8 reviews
"interesting stories"
in 4 reviews
"different perspective"
in 3 reviews
"arc de triomf"
in 4 reviews
Filter

141 - 145 of 258 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2016

Excellent tour, with a knowledgeable and engaging guide. It was the highlight of our trip to Barcelona.

Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Dark Past Night Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Hi Sara,

Thank you so much. Delighted that our tour was the highlight of your trip to Barcelona :-)

See you next time around,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Eric was our guide (8 folks in party altogether). Was a lovely mix of information, insights and stories with an added pinch of humour. It came across as if Eric had put some effort in to researching and sharing the darker history of Barcelona - which was appreciated. Great fun for an evening, rounded off with a couple of beers is one of the bars he pointed out.

Thank Odyssey535431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Dark Past Night Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

I am glad ypou had such a nice time with Eric discovering the darker side of Barcelona's history. Thanks a million for the review.

All the best,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Two hours of walk with funny stories and legends about the medieval time and its crimes.
You should keep up with the others. We have just taken a photo and lost them about 10-15 min. before the end.

1  Thank chicaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Dark Past Night Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

I am glad you had fun on the tour. Your guide that night was Lowri and she is a wizzard to discover the darker side of the city's history.

I am sorry that you got lost towads the end. Lowri was quite distressed and she did mention that you found her again at the last stop. She did check that everyone was there before continuing the tour. Of course, there is no problem at all taking photos as long as it doesn't take too long and affects the rest of the participants. It is important though to let the guide know so the group can wait for you.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Barcelona,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2016

A tour with a bit of gore and historical fact mixed together, really fun and tour guide was fantastic (young Irish chap). Loved it and well worth time and money.

Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Dark Past Night Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Hi Laura,

Your guide on the night tour was Eric. I am glad that you had such a fun time on his tour.

Thanks a million for the review :-)

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dark Past Night Walking Tour also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Dark Past Night Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing