We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel
Ranked #77 of 757 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great place to stay! - close to great bars/clubs and restaurants and just a train ride away from the beach. A great way to meet other young people traveling and make some friends. The staff was very nice and it was affordable. Also, tere are computers available for any of the guests to use. I felt very safe and comfortable. It is a hostel, so there will be many other people in your room but bring ear plugs or headphones and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    100
    43
    16
    18
See reviews for
4
105
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My self and my Girlfriend stayed here for a week and were very happy. We had a private en suite double room and although it was basic it was perfect for what we wanted which was somewhere nice to sleep after a long day exploring. The private rooms have their own separate street entrance
which gives you even more privacy. We walked everywhere and found that the location of the hostel was perfect as it is very central just ten minutes from Pl De Catalunya. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. There is a nice kitchen to cook in and a cool game room with computers with internet access. All in all we had a very positive experience staying here and would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street as it tends to get very noisy from about 6:30 am with traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caneadelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here for about a week with my girlfriend. It has a great location, wifi, and nice rooms. I stayed in a double bed shared bathroom, so it was basically like staying in a hotel, but very cheap. There is a cool game room, and a lot of computers if you need to use wifi. The wifi reception is a little shaky in the rooms, but you should be out exploring anyway! The staff all seemed friendly, and I really like the location. Very close to the metro, and not too far of a walk from the places to be. Overall I definitely recommend this hostel if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hostel is located in a good place near the metro, and easy to get around places by walking. My friends and I stayed in a 4 person room, and it was clean with average beds. The bathrooms and showers were okay, but it was hard to get used to the showers since it goes off about every 15 seconds when you push the button. There was a cosy communal living room area with a huge screen to watch movies and computer room right next to it. Unfortunately, the internet connection was terrible so I ended up using my phone to access the internet the whole stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youka-Nagase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hostel has an amazing staff, they were so helpful in giving sightseeing, bars, and restaurants recommendations. The hostel is in a great location, right near a metro stop, and right near all the great sightseeing places in barcelona.

The shower had a rain shower head with great temperature and water pressure (it does shut off occasionally but you just just have to push a button and the hot water comes right back on).

There is a great common room with tvs and two rooms set up with computers which is nice. There is a full kitchen that is available to use.

The one downside is you have to pay extra for sheets and towels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

All in all, an absolutely amazing hostel. Great value for the cheap price, it is incredibly clean and well-kept. There's an elevator for getting to the higher floors, access to private balconies in some of the private bedrooms, a small kitchen and dining room on every floor and a big fully-equipped kitchen on the main floor, plenty of computers and eating space, and the staff are all very friendly and super helpful. Great location as well. 5/5 in my opinion!! ”

Room Tip: If you're getting a private room, there are a few with access to private balconies overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonkehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in May 2012 and hated it. It was horiffically expensive for what it is (20 euros for a dorm bed), the toilets were dirty and the shower was like being at a campsite where you have to keep pushing the button to keep it running. The place also had a plumbing problem and stunk. Good location and nice staff, but that is all. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecsNZ972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#14 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#45 of 757 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#23 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Pars Tailor's Hostel
Pars Tailor's Hostel
#64 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#86 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#3 of 757 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel

Property: Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel
Address: 335 Diptuacio St, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 757 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be confident that with us you will find all the best a hostel can offer: central and safe location, friendly and familiar atmosphere with no curfew, dinners and party every night, free walking tour every morning (with profesional guides), amazing facilities, free internet and Wi-Fi, free linens, clean and comfortable accommodations , and much more. Our great location in a residential area (no pickpockets here) is seven minutes walking from the famous Rambla and Plaza Cataluna, Barcelona’s central square, where you can find connection to all of Barcelona’s day and night-time attractions and tourist locations. We are also 10 minutes walking to Sagrada Familia, Gaudi buildings and the train station to/from Barcelona Airport (Passeig de Gracia station). Everything worth seeing is walking distance. The cheapest supermarket in Barcelona is just around the corner as well as Girona metro station (line-4) that get you to the beach area in only 8 minutes. All dorms with air conditioning are decked out in mediterranean style, each bed with reading light, power socket and free safe locker. Very tired or hang over in the morning? Don’t worry, our bathrooms are provided with speakers so you can dance having a shower and warm up :). Our shower have free shampoo, gel and conditioner, so you don’t need to buy if you are taking low cost flights around Europe. Enjoy our confortable private rooms with air conditioning, daily clean, safe box, hair dryer and free linen and towels. We offer comfortable common areas with music to socialize, with couches, reading area, outdoor terrace, Cinema Screen with cable TV (200 channels) , Blue-Ray player with lots of free movies and dolby sound system, dinning room and two luggage rooms. We also have a games room with foosball , pool and PS3 all for free. Wi-Fi internet access is available throughout the building and also seven free of use computers. Do you need to print out your boarding passes and tickets (Sagrada Familia, Barca match, Picasso museum…)? We will print you out for free in reception ;) We also have a fully-equipped kitchen that is available for use 24 hours. It has two refrigerators, microwave, an electric oven, toasters, heaters, coffee and tea machine and everything else needed to bring your next culinary creation to life! The famous Mediterranean dinners are available every night, all included for a fair price. Our Young chefs will teach you how to cook paella, tapas, fideua, spanish omelete, and more. Pub crawls also available and free Walking tours every morning so you can have memorable experiences here. Security: It's very important for us. We have security cameras and wristbands access in all areas as well as Free and Safe Lockers for every guess. If you have any big value thing to keep it safe, please, tell us at arrival and we will take care of it. If you need any information about the city, our young and friendly staff speaks English and Spanish and will provide you with maps and all the information you will need - sightseeing, transportation, restaurants, nightlife and more. As we are travelers like you, we know what you want out of a hostel and will do all we can to make you feel comfortable and make your stay in Barcelona unforgettable. We have laundry facilities (wash & dry). Private rooms : Linen and towels included . Dorms : Linen is included, and there is also the possibility of renting towels (2€) If your departure from Barcelona is later in the day, you are more than welcome to use our common areas during that day. We're all about people. We know Barcelona intimately and we are highly motivated to help you find the most charming experiences around. Ask us and we will happily recommend the best sites to visit, clubs, restaurants and all the day and night activities that are taking place in the city and its surroundings. We are proud of our team!! IMPORTANT : We only accept guests between the ages of 16 and 45 in our property. Our property is not suitable for elders. Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Youth Hotel Barcelona
Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing