We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing was the friendly staff. Everything else was cr@p”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel
Ranked #90 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only good thing was the friendly staff. Everything else was cr@p”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

First of all you have to pay extra when you get there if you want sheets, to me that defeats the purpose of paying for a bed in a hostel. You would think that sheets are included. It is not a deposit either, you actually have to pay for them.
There was no hot water in the kitchen so who knows how clean the dishes are.
And the showers were absolutely terrible. Being a female as well, there is only one shower where you can shower in privacy. The rest are open with glass doors so everyone in the bathroom can see in and there is nowhere to get changed in privacy. When you shower you have to hold the handle in constantly and if you let it out for longer than a few seconds the water goes cold again and there is nowhere to stand outside of the water spray to wait for it to warm up. You have to stand under the FREEZING water until it warms up eventually. Try washing your hair and holding in the tap at the same time.. I wouldn´t return here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unknown66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    102
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
4
107
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Have stayed in the hostel for o 1 night in dormitory and got badly bitten by bed bugs. Had so many bites all over the place had to be very infested. The manager was quite rude and tried to play everything down in a manner "come on in every hostel there are bed bugs" and "it might be a food allergy". I got only refund for the stay.
Overall it is very average hostel, bathrooms are not the best, only good thing was some of the reception staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: do not go there, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Affordable, clean and a great staff. They explained us all the places we must see and gave us one map. The room was clean and silent, there are a shared kitchen and a room with computers. It was 1-minute walking to the metro and is also a supermarket in front of the hostel where you can buy food to cook. Cheap and it worth. I recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomasnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

A little expensive, given what they offer. Credit cards accepted only if you're gonna spend many nights there and no breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vairegulaessamixaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

When I decided to go to Barcelona I needed something what is standard and cheap. I found this hostel and I was very surprised of their quality. Everything was cleaned and new, the employees were very helpful and nice. No problems with money or keys. And what is absolutely perfect, this hostel is in the centre of Barcelona!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petak20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Perfect location - close to metro station and 10-15 min by nice walk to La Rambla. Clean rooms, bathroom, kitchen and helpful staffs!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxTufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed in a private apartment for 5 nights on the second floor. I was initially a little surprised how far the hostel was from the main parts of the city but the walk to Girona station is not far at all. Here you can catch a connecting metro (running every few mins) to all the main tourist destinations.
The staff on arrival at the hotel were extremely helpful providing a map and highlighting the tourist places to visit and the amenities within the hostel.
The hostel looked quite pleasant in the reception area, although basic it seemed clean and welcoming. I did not see the shared dorms, so I am unable to comment. Our room was on the 2nd floor, a self contained floor with approx 6 rooms and a shared kitchen and bathroom.
Our room was at the end next to the bathroom, which was OK as we were out for most of the day but a little annoying when people choose to have showers at at midnight! Otherwise we didn't have an issue and the bathroom seemed to be vacant most of the time. The cleanliness of the rooms was OK it clearly needed a bit of work to tidy it up and was a little scruffy around the edges, but if you going to pay for a hostel, you cannot expect full luxury.

The bed was comfortable with a bedside table and lamp and cupboard on either side. There was also a cupboard for clothes and a heater (it was quite warm when we were there so not required) Our room and the bathroom were cleaned everyday and the bed was made. There was also two fresh towels on arrival. There was hot water in the shower but be careful when initially switching it on as it can be scolding!

The kitchen was a little to be desired, there was a fridge and freezer and one hob to cook.There was a limited amount of utensils available but we managed to cook a few meals.

The only downside was that the hallway was noisy and could hear doors banging as people were returning and if anyone used the bathroom you could hear inside...but something I suppose cannot be helped. It was a bit down and out but the staff seemed to make a concious effort to clean regularly.

If you want luxury this probably is not the place, but as a couple on a tight budget it was the ideal place to stay, maybe slightly outside of the main tourist attractions, but in hindsight was probably worth the extra 10 mins metro journey to escape the droves of tourists.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dovefromaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#33 of 728 in Barcelona
299 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#22 of 728 in Barcelona
369 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#37 of 728 in Barcelona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#5 of 728 in Barcelona
339 reviews
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#38 of 728 in Barcelona
308 reviews
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#29 of 728 in Barcelona
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel

Property: Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel
Address: 335 Diptuacio St, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be confident that with us you will find all the best a hostel can offer: central and safe location, friendly and familiar atmosphere with no curfew, dinners and party every night, free walking tour every morning (with profesional guides), amazing facilities, free internet and Wi-Fi, free linens, clean and comfortable accommodations , and much more. Our great location in a residential area (no pickpockets here) is seven minutes walking from the famous Rambla and Plaza Cataluna, Barcelona’s central square, where you can find connection to all of Barcelona’s day and night-time attractions and tourist locations. We are also 10 minutes walking to Sagrada Familia, Gaudi buildings and the train station to/from Barcelona Airport (Passeig de Gracia station). Everything worth seeing is walking distance. The cheapest supermarket in Barcelona is just around the corner as well as Girona metro station (line-4) that get you to the beach area in only 8 minutes. All dorms with air conditioning are decked out in mediterranean style, each bed with reading light, power socket and free safe locker. Very tired or hang over in the morning? Don’t worry, our bathrooms are provided with speakers so you can dance having a shower and warm up :). Our shower have free shampoo, gel and conditioner, so you don’t need to buy if you are taking low cost flights around Europe. Enjoy our confortable private rooms with air conditioning, daily clean, safe box, hair dryer and free linen and towels. We offer comfortable common areas with music to socialize, with couches, reading area, outdoor terrace, Cinema Screen with cable TV (200 channels) , Blue-Ray player with lots of free movies and dolby sound system, dinning room and two luggage rooms. We also have a games room with foosball , pool and PS3 all for free. Wi-Fi internet access is available throughout the building and also seven free of use computers. Do you need to print out your boarding passes and tickets (Sagrada Familia, Barca match, Picasso museum…)? We will print you out for free in reception ;) We also have a fully-equipped kitchen that is available for use 24 hours. It has two refrigerators, microwave, an electric oven, toasters, heaters, coffee and tea machine and everything else needed to bring your next culinary creation to life! The famous Mediterranean dinners are available every night, all included for a fair price. Our Young chefs will teach you how to cook paella, tapas, fideua, spanish omelete, and more. Pub crawls also available and free Walking tours every morning so you can have memorable experiences here. Security: It's very important for us. We have security cameras and wristbands access in all areas as well as Free and Safe Lockers for every guess. If you have any big value thing to keep it safe, please, tell us at arrival and we will take care of it. If you need any information about the city, our young and friendly staff speaks English and Spanish and will provide you with maps and all the information you will need - sightseeing, transportation, restaurants, nightlife and more. As we are travelers like you, we know what you want out of a hostel and will do all we can to make you feel comfortable and make your stay in Barcelona unforgettable. We have laundry facilities (wash & dry). Private rooms : Linen and towels included . Dorms : Linen is included, and there is also the possibility of renting towels (2€) If your departure from Barcelona is later in the day, you are more than welcome to use our common areas during that day. We're all about people. We know Barcelona intimately and we are highly motivated to help you find the most charming experiences around. Ask us and we will happily recommend the best sites to visit, clubs, restaurants and all the day and night activities that are taking place in the city and its surroundings. We are proud of our team!! IMPORTANT : We only accept guests between the ages of 16 and 45 in our property. Our property is not suitable for elders. Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Youth Hotel Barcelona
Mediterranean Barcelona Youth Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing