We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”
Review of H10 Universitat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Universitat
Ranked #139 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights early December to visit the Christmas markets. Great location just off Placa de Cataluyna (100m) and between the metro stations of Universitat and Cataluyna. Welcome glass of Carva on arrival and booking in clerk very pleasant. Room on the fifth floor was situated to the rear of the hotel and very quiet but some adjacent room noise was evident through the internal walls. Room good size with comfortable beds and daily maid service who replenished towels and free shampoo / soaps, even provided a toothbrush / toothpaste and tissues in the freebies. Roof terrace bar was closed but we still used ithe area to catch some midday sun on the comfortable chairs while enjoying the rooftop views. Breakfast is a self service buffet with excellent choice of cereals, yogharts, cold meats & cheese, breads, hot fried bacon & sausage with eggs, beans or mushrooms, fresh fruits and tea or coffees and a selection of cakes and pastries - good service from the staff on clearing tables, replenishing the food selections and seating guests.
Hotel is on a main street and nearby to a small supermarket and numerous restraurants for snacks or meals if you dont wish to use the hotel facilities.We had one of the larger standard double rooms and after checking out a basic room while the maid was cleaning it, I would agree with other reviews that they are limited in size.
Overall we enjoyed a very good hotel with excellent service and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    617
    169
    55
    37
See reviews for
163
770
78
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I and my wife were visiting Barcelona at the end of August and we stayed in this hotel based on the TripAdvisor's reviews.Very nice hotel in the center of Barcelona. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The location is perfect. Yes, the room are tiny, and if you need more space it is not for you. However, we were sightseeing all the day and came to rest, shower and sleep. The breakfast was nice, but the coffee was terrible in spite of two huge sophisticated coffee machines. Overall, it was pleasant stay, and I would rate it solid 4 of 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on the weekend of 16-18 November; it wasn’t that cold so we wanted to turn on the A/C; unfortunately the hotel management had turned off the cooling compressors and the A/C gave heat. we were not told of this till we came back in the evening; so we turned on the AC and left. when we came back, the room was like an oven! So the solution was to open the windows and here comes the endless waves of Mosquitos attacks!
We all take the determinant factor in a hotel as foregranted (quality of sleep)., and focus on the determinant factors like mini-bar, rooftop, location, activities, SPA, etc....
unfortunately, this hotel takes an F on the quality of sleep; the most basic component. the undesired mousquitos guests were even in the hallways and the reception was surprised of such a comment!
I feel bad for writing this review; Great location, nice breakfast, warm staff; yet, what counts most was the bad quality of sleep. couldnt wait to go back home to have a no "bzzzzzz" spund near my ear and have a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Try a Mosquito free hotel; if you insist; I suggest to avoid: 1- street view rooms, 2- the Patio roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaVDB, Front Office Manager at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Halawis,


First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had in your room because of mosquitoes.Problaby the weather during these last days ( sun and rain) has been the cause.Please accept our most sincerely apologies for the inconveniences caused to you in your last stay at our hotel, nevertheless we would like to express our genuine concern for the issues happened as this is not our common standards. For this reason, we would really appreciate if you consider our hotel again in future occasions, as we would like to demonstrate you that we are capable to satisfy your expectations.

I want also to thank you for letting us know your opinion which help us to improve.

Best regards,


Elisabet Folguera
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location and with great staff, we will definitely stay here every time we visit Barcelona.
Even from the first minute, the reception staff were so helpful and friendly, helping us plan our visit. When we asked for a room at the front, they quickly reallocated us and arranged for the room to be cleaned as a priority.
We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast but this proved to be a nice variety in the form of a hot and cold buffet, well presented.
Our only criticism was that the rooms did not have tea/coffee making facilities (you had to ask for this free of charge) but then that shows you how much we rated the hotel if this was the only fault we could find.

Room Tip: Take a room above the 5th floor at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I happen to visit Barcelona in June 2012..This was the most pathetic hotel i ever visited.We chose this hotel because of the location .The hotel rooms are so tiny that you can't even breathe.Also the aircon just didnt work. We changed our room twice but it was same everywhere.The bathroom area is included in the room area.There is no proper partition between the room and the bathroom.We complained to staff twice regarding the aircon but they said it was working perfectly fine when it wasnt working at all.
Please never visit this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in October 2012. The hotel is lovely. The rooms and bathrooms spacious. The check in was easy and the staff speak good English. The location is great and the bus transport the airport is only one block away. The hop on hop off buses are also located one block away in the square. We had a late night flight out of Barcelona and we were able to leave our luggage locked up at the hotel until we left which was very helpful. The cocktail area on top of the roof of the hotel is lovely and it was great to have drinks under the stars. There are lots of restaurants etc in the area as well. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and we were sorry we only had the time to spend one night there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. On arrival we were greeted by really nice staff who could speak really good English. We were offered a very welcome glass of champagne. We were also offered maps of the city and a discount on the tour bus. Our room was lovely . We had a huge bed which was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept on. The room was spotless and very stylish. It had a mini bar and flat screen television which showed BBC 1 & 2. The only drawback with the room was that the sink was not in the bathroom but actually in the room. The shower and toilet were in an en suite. There was only one lift which did get rather busy at breakfast time but wasn't too bad the rest of the time. Breakfast was really good with a really good selection. I thought there would be just a continental breakfast but there was bacon, sausage and egg , beans and lots of food to choose from. There is also a very comfortable lounge bar where you can sit and watch TV and have a drink or a coffee. There is also free wifi in the hotel. The location of the hotel was superb, just a couple of hundred yards from the Plaza Catalunya and La Rambla. I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 512 in Barcelona
621 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 512 in Barcelona
696 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,151 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#147 of 512 in Barcelona
1,468 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#91 of 512 in Barcelona
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Universitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Universitat

Property: H10 Universitat
Address: Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#182 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Universitat 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your H10 Universitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Universitat
H10 Universitat Barcelona, Catalonia
h10 Universitat Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing