We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bring the Cat!”
Review of H10 Universitat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Universitat
Ranked #137 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Like Charlotte H we also have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the H10 Universitat before embarking on a 7 night cruise. The hotel location was ideal – very close to Catalunya Square, La Rambla and the city tour buses, the staff were lovely and the glass of cava was very welcome after our journey.
But what a letdown when we opened the door to our room – it was claustrophobically small, hot and very dark – and certainly not intended for travellers with 4 suitcases! When looked out of the window we realised that the darkness was because our “view” was a concrete atrium with virtually no natural light. We had to cram our luggage under the bedside shelves, the tiny wardrobe & the bathroom - there was virtually no space between the bottom of the bed and the door and we couldn't even pass each other to move around yet the bathroom was about one third of overall size of the room! There was nowhere to sit in the room other than on top of the bed. Housekeeping was not as good as it should be - the bed linen and bathroom were clean but when we removed the cases they were covered in dust from the floor. The bathroom was was separated from the sleeping area by frosted glass partitions so you would need to be on very intimate terms with your travelling companion (and don’t bring the cat!) – no bodily function can be left to the imagination!
Breakfast wasn’t included in our deal but we dined in the hotel on the first morning – the food was okay – not the best or worst we’ve ever had but definitely not worth 12 euro each so we went elsewhere for the next two mornings. There was a nice roof terrace to enjoy a drink in the evening.
We will definitely return to Barcelona and I would love to say that I would stay again but sorry - it’s too cramped and claustrophobic – even for the short time we spent in the room. Definitely not a four star hotel, even by European standards and I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel - sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a city break and had an excellent time. Very well situated for all the major attractions of the city centre and very comfortable. Roof garden gives a different perspective of the city too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rognvald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This time I stayed in a single room and found it really relaxing and quiet. The hotel is very central for exploring Barcelona on foot and the metro is easy to use for exploring further afield.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only stayed here for one night before a cruise. We got the Aerobus and the stop (Universitat) is only 2 or 3 minutes walk from the hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 11 and our room wasn't ready which we expected. They took in our luggage and we went for a wander. The hotel is in an excellent position for exploring the main areas in town. We came back at 2 to be told not only was our room ready but that we had been upgraded to a suite (there are only 2 in the whole hotel). We were then offered a glass of cava while they brought our luggage up to the room.The room was made up of a living room with a couch and flat screen tv, a lovely bathroom with a shower and jacuzzi bath and a bedroom with a 6 foot bed which was accessed through sliding doors. Off the bedroom was an awesome balcony with views over the city. When we came from dinner that evening we found a bottle of water and two desserts under a silver platter with a note wecoming us to the hotel! Thought this was a really lovely touch. The next morning, we walked to a local market and brought breakfast back to the balcony which was a lovely start to our day.
The staff were friendly and spoke good English. We will definately return to this hotel on our next visit to Barcelona - hopefully for longer than one night this time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoifekeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the H10 Universitat. The hotel is situated in an excellent location for the old town, beach, las ramblas etc. We were greeted on arrival with a glass of cava which was a nice touch, the staff were helpful with providing maps and answering any questions we had. I was disappointed when we saw our room, as it was very small, smelt of cigerettes and had a view of the other side of the building and air con units. We asked to move rooms and were given the option of one exactly the same, but on another floor (this one didn't smell). We were told we could upgrade for 30 euro per night to a nicer room, but as we were only there for 3 nights we decided to stick with where we were. The breakfast has a good selection, is well replenished regularily. The roof terrace on the top floor is a great place to relax after a long day or have a post dinner beverage. There are several H10 hotels in Barcelona (one literally around the corner), so I would be interested to know how this fairs against the others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wife and I stayed for two nights. Hotel was easy to find, only a few steps from Catalunya Square into which the airport buses arrive. This square is also a good jumping off point for transport to other parts of Barcelona. Our room was on the small side but well appointed and clean. Was of for our short stay as we weren't in the room for lengthy periods. Took a taxi to Sants station upon departure. Cost for this was about €12.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank PB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed 2 nights pre cruise, we took the smallest room as we were out most of the time, whilst small the room was very clean and tidy. The maid vas very helpfull supplying coffee and tea. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice. The roof top bar also good place to veg out. the only downside was the free wi fi was a little hard to keep logged in, only a couple of spots on the roof deck to get clear access. located only a few metres form the main tourist street and the tourest buses - overall a brilliant location, good hotel, helpfull staff

Room Tip: choose an samll internal room for a one night stay, or a street room thats bigger for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crestaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#27 of 516 in Barcelona
766 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#94 of 516 in Barcelona
1,713 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
#36 of 516 in Barcelona
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#81 of 516 in Barcelona
678 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 516 in Barcelona
4,554 reviews
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#79 of 516 in Barcelona
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Universitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Universitat

Address: Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $82 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Universitat 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Universitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Universitat
H10 Universitat Barcelona, Catalonia
h10 Universitat Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing