We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, must eat !!”
Review of Bar CASI

Bar CASI
Ranked #50 of 9,693 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Gracia
Description: CLOSED FOR HOLIDAYS FROM THE 6th TO THE 30th AUGUST We are a small family restaurant. We try every day to bring to you our best meals, fresh made and always served with our best smile! You won't regret it! Open from 08h to 16:30h. Closed on Sundays.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing, must eat !!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I went to Bar Casi during our trip in Barcelona end of February. We decided to try further to the rave reviews the place got on Tripadvisor, and because it was ideally located near Park Guell so it was really easy to pop up after our visit of the park.

At our arrival, we felt a bit weird as the place looked a bit small, more like a neighbourhood bar than a restaurant. But at the same time we liked the place as it was full of locals and not tourists and as it had a lively atmosphere.

The waiter was very friendly and advised us very well on the dishes (the menu was in Catalan, not that easy to read for English tourists :-)). Both of us ordered the 10euros menu, for which we got a starter, a main dish and a dessert which I think is quite a lot. Honestly all dishes were delicious, and it was one of the best meals we had in our life! During the dessert the waiter offered to empty a glass of local alcohol on our cake as locals do -> best dessert in my life!

By far the place where we ate in Barcelona. The next time we are in Barcelona we will come back eating no doubt!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDoviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    140
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good & simple”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Good food, nice local atmosphere, really nice people!
Makes me wish I worked in this neighbourhood, just to come here for lunches.

Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
1 review
“Simple food.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Cold beer, quick and friendly service and cheap prices but very simple and tasteless food without any sign of any spices what so ever.

Helpful?
Thank Srwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boring food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had high expectations of this restaurant, after reading some reviews on TripAdvisor, but I was SOOOOO disappointed! No idea why people give it such a high rate. Never had such a boring, "easy to cook" food... Appetizer: cooked beans, with cooked potatoes. Main: grilled chicken with french fries... My wife: noodle soup (way too salty, no other taste to discover) and calamaris with, again, french fries...

Very small place, with some elderly locals playing domino and drinking beer. Simple menu, with only a few things to choose from. Poor English indeed (although the owner was trying and very friendly!), but the cooking isn't that much better... Sorry to say... Next time I will look for a tapas bar again... Pay a bit more, but at least GOOD food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario1972_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier M, Owner at Bar CASI, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello Mario!
Maybe the problem was your high expectations. We offer a daily menu based on simple but well prepared dishes and we use the best ingredients we find. Most of our customers are locals and from time to time some tourist coming down from the "Park Güell" and usually all of them are more than happy with our menu. I'm sorry if your experience wasn't as you expected. We will keep working every day to offer our best to everyone who wants to taste our humble menu.

best regards
Javi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb near Park Guell”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This discreet and small restaurant was a fantastic surprise!
It's a family run business, with local customers, excellent food at an excellent price.
There was no turist-type of marketing nor fancy decorations. But don't judge a book by it's cover.
If you are reading this, you are searching for a good restaurant. This is it!

Helpful?
3 Thank Amorimlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar CASI also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bar CASI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing