We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place with good value local cuisine”
Review of Bar CASI

Bar CASI
Ranked #50 of 9,693 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Gracia
Description: CLOSED FOR HOLIDAYS FROM THE 6th TO THE 30th AUGUST We are a small family restaurant. We try every day to bring to you our best meals, fresh made and always served with our best smile! You won't regret it! Open from 08h to 16:30h. Closed on Sundays.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A friendly place with good value local cuisine”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had lunch here in December after a trip to Parc Guell. Run by a very friendly family we immediately had help from one of their regulars to translate into English the handwritten set lunch menu at Euros 9.85. This had a choice of 4 starters and 4 mains and puddings. We had mussells and a pea/ham/potato starter, followed by a very good chicken dish, and hake cooked in a parsley and garlic sauce, both served with tasty fries. We didn't have room for a pudding! All delicious, and fresh bread and good (cheap) red wine too. Don't be put off by the cafe decor - this place is very good and friendly, and a few minutes downhill walk from the Parc..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    140
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely unpretentious little restaurant with a local feel”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We thoroughly recommend this establishment, tucked away down a side street from the main thoroughfare, for a meal on the way to or from Parc Guell. Most of the other customers were locals, and the staff don't speak a lot of English, but they are extremely welcoming and helpful, and we had no problem choosing our meals. A 3 course lunch is a bit of a bargain at E9.85, and the food has a distinct Catalan flavour. We chose hake, and veal hotpot as our mains; both delicious. The restaurant was warm and welcoming on a cold but bright winter's day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robric41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent food in an authentic local familiar place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

this place is the opposite of a tourist trap. As they say on the entrance shield they don't speak english very well but if you order the "escudella" you won't care. the churrasco was excellent too, and they make you feel like you are at home. highly recommendable

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic local spot amid Park Guell tourist traps”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I were starving after wandering around beautiful Park Guell but were hesitant to eat at any of the dozens of mediocre tourist traps that line the twisting streets nearby. We started walking back to our hotel, bellies grumbling, and stumbled upon this absolute jewel.

As local and authentic as they come, Bar Casi is a true family-run establishment. Their cute sign outside admitting poor English but delicious food is absolutely on the money. We feasted on a warm, delicious three-course pre-fixe menu, cooked by the mama, served by the son, and as chock-full of Spanish charm and hospitality as it was with flavor. It was 10 euros each and totally filling -- first course, main course, dessert and wine.

Highly recommended for anyone hungry before or after a visit to Park Guell and hoping to eat real Spanish food rather than be duped into paying too much for too little, as is sadly often the case among touristy areas in Barcelona. We will be happy to return the next time we're in Barca!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious homemade local food, excellent price and great service!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It's the second time I go to Bar Casi and I'll come back again for sure!

Not only the food is delicious, they do big portions, with a €9.85 menu you can taste real catalan food!

If it that weren't enough, the waiters are the owners so the make you feel like if you were at their home.

Try it and you won't regret it! ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar CASI also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bar CASI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing