We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Myself and two friends stayed at this hotel last week, we were SO impressed by the staff, the cleanliness, and the hotel location (Just outside the main centre, but a 15 min walk up Las Ramblas) I cannot fault the service they provide -the staff went above and beyond what you would expect, the warm welcome was consistent throughout all the staff. The room was perfectly adequate for three people: spacious, modern and spotless. The pool was a real highlight- infinity pool on the roof if is a must see! I highly recommend Olivia Balmes Hotel, and I will most definitely be staying here again. Three very pleased customers! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cremeofthecropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
There are newer reviews for Olivia Balmes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,264 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

We arrived early after a cruise (9am) and we thought we'd drop our bags off until check-in but they were able to prepare our rooms that early. The hotel is in a great location (walking distance to most sites) and the property is beautiful! Great pool and spacious rooms. The restaurant offers a pre-fix menu for dinner that was incredible and a great value! €19 for app, entree, dessert, and beer/wine! They also have a breakfast buffet for €16 that offers many, many choices! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Pcosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nice, clean and very quiet hotel in the centre of Eixample.It even smelt nice!
Extremely helpful staff, cool pool area on the roof (a bit crowded in the afternoons) and great rooms. Stayed in a room facing Balmes/Provenca and heard no traffic. Many of Barcelona's best restaurants and bars within walking distance. Found the area to be less expensive with few "tourist traps" than down town. Loved it!!
If you long for the crowded city centre or beach, just take bus 17, it basically stops on the door step.
Some suggestions: More hangers and hooks in the room (six hangers to share, I need 10 alone and so does hubby). No hooks in the room (except two for towels). Tricky if you have jackets, bath robes, wet swimwear etc. Ending up hanging my wet bikini and swimsuit on one of the mirrors, not ideal....

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaPancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

excellent location, service and ambience for a 4 star hotel. reception people are very happy to help you in all demands.
strongly reccomended.
the swiming pool is crowded all times due to small space for costumers during summer time

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same,
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marcelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very modern and clean hotel located in a quite residential area. The hotel is with in walking distance to most attractions or a short Metro ride away. There are plenty of nice restaurants near by also. The rooms are modern and simple. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and are more than eager to help out on attraction details, restaurant reservations or give directions. The lobby bar and roof top pool staff were also very friendly. The roof top pool was very nice but not very large so lounge chairs were not always available especially later in the afternoon. The beds were very comfortable. This is not a large hotel and has a minimalist modern vibe about it. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel is brand new, in pristine condition and wonderfully designed. The room, the lobby, the roof deck (!) and the restaurant are all beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The location is ideal, it's not super touristy even though some of the city's best restaurants are within blocks.

I can't say enough good things about the roof deck. Such a wonderful place to get away from the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hokkke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the first time last week for one night. When checking in we were told we got upgraded to a suite. The hotel is beautifully deigned and well located. it is not in the very center- takes about 10 minutes walk to get to the center of Barcelona. As for the hotel it self- I've visited the city quite a few times before, but this time was by far the best, staying at the Olivia Balmes. The suite on the first floor was outstanding- new, chic, huge- we didn't want to leave the room. The rooftop pool was amazing- clean and with a great view of the neighborhood. The breakfast was spectacular- the best one i ever had in an hotel before, included a very big cold buffet, baked goods and even champagne, To sum it up, i'm defiantly coming back to the Olivia Balmes. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yardlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,969 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
262 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,550 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $176 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing