We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Swede in Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived early, before noon, with check in time at 15:00. Response at reception: "No problem, room is ready and by the way we have upgraded you to a suite." Which pretty much sums up the attitude of the staff...

Room (i.e.suite) was fabulous, with living room and bedroom. Really spacious, clean, nicely designed (modern) and great bathroom (both shower and bathtub, separate toilet). Plus balcony. and absolutely quiet despite the location in a rather busy area. Only - really minor - possible suggestions for improvements are (1) the insufficient possibilities of drying wet towels (very few hangers) and (2) the difficulty to operate the airconditioning in the absence of any knowledge of spanish. But, as said, this is almost like looking for "faults". Overall, room was absolutely wonderful.

The serious icing on the cake of this great hotel, however, is the roof top pool. This was awesome. Barcelona is a buzzling city, with great shopping and hot climate, so what better way to recover than relaxing by a pool?! The pool is not big, but certainly sufficient for its purpose. Next to it are some 8-10 sun beds and a decent sun deck. We went there both on a Friday and Saturday for a couple of hours and not even half of the beds were taken. Towels are of course provided by the hotel and one can also order drinks etc ("room service").

Can absolutely recommend this hotel. We will for sure come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joreSwedeinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    443
    43
    3
    6
See reviews for
428
1,066
63
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Olivia Balmes hotel during a weekend in May. This is the perfect hotel in Barcelona:
Friendly and service-minded staff (like for example Josep Antoni in the reception who was very helpful), fresh modern rooms and great location.
Last but not least I would like to underline the value of the fabulous swimming pool on the roof! That was just outstanding and made our visit in a warm and sunny Barcelona even more perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaK_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there one week with work. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Nice area away from the worst tourist packed places. Service was good and cleaning was thorough. Had a room towards the street but the windows were soundproof. Loved using the rooftop area with swimming pool! It was silent and calm with view over the neighborhood. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a super modern hotel with an amazingly relaxing roof top pool area.
The room itself was lovely but nothing special. We were obviously paying for the location over service.
On two occasions when the do not disturb sign was on the door house keeping knocked and woke us up.
All in all it was a good hotel though and the location was great. Not sure we'd stay again as the price isn't worth what you get.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugCHTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for our first trip to barcelona based upon reviews on tripadvisor. Location is great in the heart of the Eixample. Very close to metro and convenient to most of the city. We arrived in the a.m on the busy holiday weekend, may 1, which is labor day in Europe. Our room was not ready but they had a spare room for us to nap. The hotel is modern and clean and for a city very quiet. Some minor issues we had. A funny noise from the toilet which kept us up one night and the next day they comp'd breakfast for us. Good amenities in the room but no conditioner ( maybe they had it- we didnt ask). Also no clock in the room. Most of the staff spoke adequate english.

A good tip for those who may stay here. If you walk on Carrer Balmes southward ( away from C. Diagonal), you will find small markets/bodegas with water, juices, fruits etc that are very inexpensive.
D

Room Tip: The funny noise from the bathroom seems to affect our floor only (6) and its the top floor so I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a week at the Olivia Balmes Hotel. The hotel was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and modern, something we loved. What really made our trip special was the staff. They were so helpful and friendly. Every restaurant or excursion they suggested was a hit. We hope to get back to Barcelona one day and will gladly stay at the Olivia Balmes again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Great stay funky rooms swanky stainless pool. Awesome service great tips to make our stay better. A plus from us!! Well priced 4/5 star hotel. Room service well priced at 19 euros for a three course meal which seemed like we were fine dining in our room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fleur_chrisharpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing