We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Gulfport, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a week at the Olivia Balmes Hotel. The hotel was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and modern, something we loved. What really made our trip special was the staff. They were so helpful and friendly. Every restaurant or excursion they suggested was a hit. We hope to get back to Barcelona one day and will gladly stay at the Olivia Balmes again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    474
    45
    4
    6
See reviews for
463
1,134
73
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Great stay funky rooms swanky stainless pool. Awesome service great tips to make our stay better. A plus from us!! Well priced 4/5 star hotel. Room service well priced at 19 euros for a three course meal which seemed like we were fine dining in our room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fleur_chrisharpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a great new hotel, with very friendly staff and great facilities. The room design and decor is unique and modernistic, and is perfect for young couples. It is located very centrally, so walking or taking the metro to anywhere in Barcelona is very convenient. We didn't try the restaurant, but the room service was very good (albeit slightly limited at night).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shantanu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel was beautiful from both the outside and inside. The staff was attentive and found us a room despite our early check in. The room was a smaller version of what we had booked, but we were so desperately tired we did not care. The staff gave us free breakfast each day for taking the downgrade.

There seem to be no wash clothes in Spain. This was news to us, but we adapted. The modern style of the rooms was aesthetically pleasing, but the function was less than stellar in the bathroom. I greatly appreciate their concern over conserving water, but the shower head could not be kept on at all or it would flood the bathroom. Also, the shower knobs became incredibly difficult to twist when your hands are covered in soap.

Finally, our shower did break and would not turn off. The staff was great at responding and fixing the issue.

Room Tip: Bring a wash cloth or a poof for the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierTransfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamoson, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Very refreshing hotel. Great design, a lot of light and space. Great breakast and very friendly staff. Great location downtown Barclelona. Price a lit bit high though..................................

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Went there in April 2014 with the boyfriend to celebrate my birthday weekend. It was an amazing stay. The hotel is strategically located, there's an amazing bar nearby which has live music when we arrived there on Friday evening. Super friendly staff - faultless. Interesting rooftop pool, sadly we didn't have time to swim (and the water was close to freezing even though it was 18 degress and sunny!). Had an amazing lunch at the restaurant, great value too! A starter, a main and a desert - all for 19 euros. And they serve a mean gin & tonic. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TiaraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a great hotel. Period. It is situated at the beginning of the boulevard and we walked the entire length of Barcelona from the Avenue Parallel to the Port and enjoyed great food, wine and sights in between.

The room we stayed in was spacious, didn't have carpet (a plus for me), had a large bath, and the bed was new and comfortable and the linens fresh and fluffy. And the room was super clean.

Wireless did not work well in the room but did in the rest of the hotel. Staff were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly.

Breakfast had substantial choices but like all of these best to get in early. The restaurant space is not much to speak of but the choices steps away from the hotel are enormous.

Some reviewers have made mention of the noise of slamming doors in the hotel. The room doors are fire doors and as such are heavily weighted. So we made a point of being careful not to let ours slam. Seems like an easy solution if everyone did it.

I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: try the back of the hotel. We were in 403.It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LastResortAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
209 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 512 in Barcelona
3,882 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
267 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing