We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming lobby decor, lack of personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pars Tailor's Hostel
Ranked #56 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“charming lobby decor, lack of personality”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I arrived around 11 am to find a young woman with little enthusiasm. Very basic, hello, this is your bed, this is your key, then back to texting until hostel manager showed up and she pretended to offer some suggestions on what to do with my day.

Lobby is charming. Rooms are lacking, but basic enough. 12 bunk room is a bit tight - I can't imagine staying here during busy season or a weekend unless you enjoy staying up all night. Linens were clean enough, but not stellar. Bathroom in the room was basic. Lockers not large enough for storage - was glad I had only traveled with a day pack from Madrid. Hostel staff very insistent on leaving locker key. Seems a bit suspicious to me, and defeats the purpose of personal security.

Different staff second morning, same story. Only spoken when spoken to - when I asked for a local's recommendation I was told he only surfs and skateboards and had no suggestions.

Biggest annoyance: lack of consistent wifi. I chose this hostel based on location and promise of free wifi. Typical slacker hostel management - "oh we are installing new wifi for the entire hostel today!" - lies. internet cords dangling from the ceiling in the hallways upstairs had not been touched in a long time, and were plugged into nothing. No wifi in rooms as advertised and promised. Frustrating when you are trying to plan your days...

Upon checkout, asked for my key security to be returned. Received frustrated attitude from young woman, who insisted she had no change. Not my problem, I am the customer. Ended up leaving Barcelona with five euro in 10 cent coins because she couldn't be bothered to run across the street to the cafe to break a 20 euro bill.

Pros:
location
semi-affordable

Room Tip: 12 bunk womens room has ensuite bathroom, but feels like you're on a ship
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
6
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was the best hostel I stayed in while traveling this time. Staff is amazing and everyday there was something nice happening there. I can't think of any other place to go if I return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarghhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I loved that place... was modern and well situated. It's just next to the airport shuttle bus We had a great time specially with nice staff after they finished their work... Thanks Sara and Pepo ;) Hope to see you soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Amigas y amigos! I have passed a great time in this hostel: friendly people, good location (few minutes by walking from the famous Ramblas), the quiet road let you sleep easly, very clean, new facilities and the airbus stop on the other side of the street.
All these new things mixed in an "ancient atmosphere" composed by old sewing machine tools and other interior decorations here and there, revisited and reinvented.
I suggest Tailor's Hostel to all the travellers who want to enjoy Barcelona!

PS: the prices are really low;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni83A11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel located in walking distance to center, placa Espania, Montjuïc.

Hostel is well organized and provide all information needed for great staying in Barcelona. If you want great time they are always ready to point into right direction.

On imprtant thing but sometimes forgoten in that bus station for airport is just cross the road.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What an amaizing place just a few minutes walk from the centre of Barcelona - pristine clean and caring owners. It has it own theme, so initially you might confuse it with the tailors shop. You can cook your own meals here so save money on restaurants! And the other pleasing thing is that despite the fact of it being in the center, it´s on a quiet road, without disturbance of discos and drunken people passing by. Good value for money! Ideal for students and people on a low budjet who do not mind sharing...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sktarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Seeing those old sewing machine tools and old photographs has made me feel quite nostalgic.
Also the hostel was looking really cool and new with interior. Rooms are cleaned everyday and people of the staff are really kind and nice! I really suggest to everybody who want to visit Barcelona to enjoy Tailor's hostel because it s a wonderful place you should really experience it .Specially with this really low prices you can have a so comfortable place with romantic

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shokooh n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Backpackers BCN
Backpackers BCN
#32 of 728 in Barcelona
250 reviews
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#29 of 728 in Barcelona
161 reviews
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#20 of 728 in Barcelona
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#5 of 728 in Barcelona
339 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#21 of 728 in Barcelona
369 reviews
Montjuic
Hostel One Paralelo
Hostel One Paralelo
#24 of 728 in Barcelona
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pars Tailor's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pars Tailor's Hostel

Property: Pars Tailor's Hostel
Address: Carrer de Sepulveda 146, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tailor-made hostel in the heart of Barcelona invites you to enjoy a tranquil, social hostel stay in style. Join one of our many events, our free tours, relax on our terrace, and learn how to cook a homemade, delicious Paella. All that in style! Inspired by a 1930s tailor shop, Pars Tailor’s Hostel combines vintage chic with up-to-date modern facilities. You can see nods to itours unique history throughout the hostel, like antique sewing machines and pretty swathes of fabric hanging from the walls. Fun fact: the owner used to work in the fashion industry herself. You won’t find anywhere else quite like this in Barcelona – everything here is Tailor-made. We are located in Barcelona downtown, in Sant Antoni quarter, one of the oldest and most popular neighborhoods in the Eixample district. We are 1 minutes walk from Aerobus stop and 3 main Metro stations, Urgell (L1) and Sant Antoni (L2). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pars Tailor's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pars Tailor's Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing