We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Radio Barcelona
Nearby Hotels
$208
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$167
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$542
$476
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
52
148
127
24
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
148
127
24
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsown bathroomminute walkgothic quarterhosteltowelsreceptionramblaslocationmetrocitycafeshairdryerporteuros
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 381 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a 3 night's stay at Hostal Radio. The hostel is quite centrally located, close to Place Catalunya and Universitat. This made it a great base to venture out and explore the city.

The hostel was relatively easy to find. When we arrived the receptionist was very friendly and we were shown up to our room, which was on the 5th floor. Check out was quick and easy. To get to it, we had to cram into a very tiny lift. If you are at all claustrophobic, then it's probably best to ask for a room on the lower floors.

The room itself was quite basic, but comfortable, clean and well kept, with a flat screen TV, and an in-room radio station, from which the hostel gets its name.

Couple of things let it down though. The shower curtain in our bathroom was too short, the consequence being was when we took a shower, water would splash everywhere on the bathroom floor, making it quite slippy.

Also, there was only one power point in the room, and we had to share the charging up of mobile phones. There was no access to WIFI on the 5th floor, we could only get it on the ground floor in reception. Also, the walls were paper thin and at night we could hear noises from the other rooms.

The bed was comfortable, and the room was always kept clean, towels and toiletries replenished each day.

So if you want a hostel with all mod cons, this probably wouldn't be the place to stay. However if you need somewhere clean, basic, friendly, and centrally located in Barcelona, then this hostel is fine.

Room Tip: The lift is small and doesn't always come when you press the button, so a lower floor might be better if you're not up for descending stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IJGrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is very average hostel almost in the center of Barcelona. Yes, it's cheap, and yes, it's clean. However it has two severe disadvantages: no air conditioning (imaging summer in Barcelona) and no heating at night (still don't understand why to keep heating all day, but not at night). Also rooms and beds are extremely small.
However staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed with two for 3 nights. It was simple, cheap and well located in the Raval area from where we could take a 10 min. walk to La Rambla. Airco wasn't working, but in late september it wasn't to hot. Great hotel for a couple of days of Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robvandenberg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I booked a room here the other weekend and we had a nice stay. The staff (David and Ivan) were very friendly and helpful. It was also relatively conveniently located to placa catalunya and universitat (where we took the Metro and the Aerobus to/fro the airport). It is also relatively near La Rambla. There's also a lot of restaurants near the hotel (or hostel for that matter)

But for other travellers, don't expect a 5-star room. It is very basic (and we're fine with it). When we stayed there, they also clean our rooms. Also, ensure that you have carefully researched your way from Placa Catalunya to Hostal Radio. I printed a map but since the alley names are a bit confusing, you might get lost.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay at Hostal Radio. If you're on a tight budget (like us) when you visit Barcelona, i highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Location: convenient, easy to find on edge of El Raval, near main road, close to Sant Antoni metro and easy walking distance to La Rambla. This hostal is on a narrow street so no traffic noise, but was some street noise at night. It's a rather scruffy area but busy area and felt safe at all times although there was a shady feel to some parts of El Raval at night.

Staff & facilities: The staff member who checked us in was friendly & chatty with good English. We did not converse much with other staff we encountered though we didn't really need to. Reception open 24 hrs but you have to be buzzed in at all times. Several tourist leaflets available. No common internet point, but there is a wi-fi zone in reception. The extremely small lift only takes 2 people and is an old-fashioned type with two doors to open & close on entry & exit. Staircase is very narrow due to the elevator shaft but still easier to take the stairs down rather than the lift.

Room: very small, just a bed and not a great view from window. But bed was comfy and room cleaned daily. Big TV with several local channels. No storage - just a few hangers on wall and some narrow shelf-like surfaces. The notice in the room said the a/c was not working but there was still a wall-mounted fan which was sufficient. The bathroom was very basic, the shower was only an over-bath type but worked really well with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. New towels and a tiny sachet of shower gel provided daily.

Value: very good price at only EUR228 for 4 nights. If you are prepared to forgo luxury then this is a good no-frills option. I was apprehensive at first but may consider returning here. I would've liked somewhere a bit "nicer" with a few more places to in the room to put clothes & belongings and it could do with a communal internet point.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews