We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok for winter price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
chic&basic Zoo Hotel
Ranked #96 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for over one week. For the low season price, a extra large room is about 45 euro a night. I think for the room we stayed it's worth the price.

The room we stayed was very large and equipped with a bathtub. The whole hotel was quite new and absolutely very clean. And it's fantastic that the coffee and water were free at the mini bar area.

The hotel located in the area of el Born with a lot of bars and restaurants around and was very close to a park and the zoo. But it's relatively a little bit far away from the closet metro station (around 8 to 10 minutes walking distance).

The staff were also very friendly but the hotel does not have any room service. The safe was not working in the room and the wifi was not very stable which could be counted as defects.

I have checked it seemed that the price for perk season is over 90 euro a night. Well, if it is this price then I would not recommend it that much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 186 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here in November so our experience may differ from peak holiday times.
This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. Yes it is basic, the room contained beds, a wardrobe, a desk, a bench, and a small TV. But it is incredibly clean, modern and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was modern and had a fantastic shower. There is also free coffee (bloody nice for instant too!) and bottled water.
The location couldn't be more perfect. Right on the edge of the centre of Barcelona, it is a stones throw from most places without being among the noise and bustle of Las Ramblas.
The staff were among the most helpful and friendly I've experienced and all spoke competent English.
The only downside is that relative emptiness of the rooms and the lack of carpeting does make sound travel from other rooms and corridors. A hastily slammed door can sound like a bomb going off and try to make sure your room is not anywhere near the aforementioned coffee and water facilities or you'll be woken at all hours.
This however is a small gripe and more the fault of inconsiderate guests than the hotel. I'm a very light sleeper and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for one of the superior rooms if you can and try to get a room at the back, away from the lift an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

A very simple hotel in the heart of the Born district! As a young couple this area had all the vibe we were hoping for! It is located within walking distance to many main attractions, and the nearest metro is on a central line to many other tourist sights!

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious with the added extra of a bath and toiletries! There was free bottled water and coffee available! We had a superior double which we managed to book at a discounted price. We had a balcony which overlooked a road and park, luckily the weather was amazing and we enjoyed coffee and croissants on the balcony in the mornings!

Barcelona is an amazing city with so much to see...and we will definitely be staying at this Chic and Basic hotel again!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank louiseb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is indeed as the name says chic and basic. Emphasis on basic. Bed is comfortable though and the location for the price it what makes this hotel stand out. Free water and espresso whenever you'd like is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryJetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Perfect base for exploring the city without being in the midst of the tourist traps around La Rambla.

The hotel is in the Born district which has a laid back atmosphere, great restaurants & bars and is more of the 'real' Barcelona than the areas around La Rambla.

Stand out thing for us (party of 6 colleagues) was the staff. They consistently went out of their way to assist us and were extremely welcoming and friendly.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room had only a slit of a window, and for the price paid it was substandard to our expectations. Although, the staff was friendly and helpful, but better value for money you surely can get. The location is great, and do explore the surroundings as there were boath small and grand plazas very close to the premises.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montessori1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location was very good. Lots of traditional bars and restaurants within walking distance. Bed comfortable and room cleaned daily. But although we knew the room would be basic, there were a few small things not working... Hair dryer, telephone, lamps and tv. Obviously nothing major that we couldn't stay in the room (24) but we did report to reception on three occasions but nothing was done to fix which was disappointing as we didn't consider it to be that cheap. C&B zoo was fine, but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lofteelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 515 in Barcelona
760 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#180 of 515 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Lemon
Chic & Basic Lemon
#324 of 515 in Barcelona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#131 of 515 in Barcelona
1,963 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#27 of 307 in Barcelona
368 reviews
Eixample
Next To
Next To
#71 of 307 in Barcelona
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Zoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Zoo Hotel

Address: Passeig Picasso 22 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $57 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — chic&basic Zoo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Born district and looking out over the Ciutadella Park, this hotel has everything you desire: an unbeatable location and the chic&basic style. A classic building with an interior design with industrial inspiration; a hotel with an urban character opposite a park full of trees and grass and fresh air, chic&basic Zoo as a hotel full of contrasts and enchantment. In the "helpyourself" area you can relax reading a magazine and having a coffe, tea or just water at any time of the day for free. Behind the facade of a classic building, in the heart of the Born district and right opposite the Barcelona Ciutadella Park, you will find the chic&basic Zoo hotel. Enjoy a privileged location, with a unique ambience, in the contemporary centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your chic&basic Zoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic&Basic Zoo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing