We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fantastic hotel , close to all transport links for exploring this amazing city. Stayed here in September for a week end with my mother. All the staff were wonderful and the welcoming champers was a real treat. Breakfast was fantastic with a good variety. Would definitely stay here again-

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazza3O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    280
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
162
660
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

- Location is very central:
- 3 minutes walk from the Aerobus stop (from/to Barcelona airport)
- 3 minutes walk to La Rambla - Plaza Cataluña / Passeig Gracia
- Metro just in front of the hotel
- close to all shops/restaurants

- Room:
- welcoming Cava bottle at our arrival
- decent size, very clean and modern (40 inch flat screen, WLAN works perfectly)
- Nespresso machines + capsules refilled everyday
- safety box is pretty big which is good
- Our room was on the 2nd floor, we ineed can hear the metro running under the hotel, but noise-level is perfectly acceptable, we could sleep without any problem (rooms in higher floors might be quieter)
- excellent bed/mattress: we slept very well.

- Large international breakfast with all cold/warm stuffs you can expect (eggs, sausages, ham, fruits, milk products, etc...)

- The terrace on the 6th floor must be very pleassant during summer (with a small outdoor pool) to sip a drink.

- Staff:
- young, dynamic, nice and helpful
- speaks English perfectly

We got a fairly good offer through a partner website. We chose this hotel mainly because of its central location, and overall it is a very nice and modern hotel.
We'll surely stay here again at our next visit of Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went as a couple in early December and the hotel is in a great location with central Barcelona within easy walking distance. Then check in was easy and you got the option of a free glass of fruit juice or cava. The hotel is newly fitted and it is very chic and the outside garden area is really nice considering this must have been a courtyard in the past. The rooms are really nice and whilst it is unusual to have the sink in the room rather than the bathroom this was not a major problem.

The staff are very polite and helpful and the bar service was good and the prices are very reasonable for a hotel bar. The hotel is near an underground station but whilst you can hear the odd train rumble underneath this did not disturb our sleep.

There is an upstairs pool with seating and loungers which would be very nice in the warmer months.

The location is about 2 minutes walk from Plaza de Catalunya which, besides being the centre of the city, is also the stop for the main tourist buses but also for the bus transport to and from the airport. The time from landing, picking up baggage, paying for the bus ticket and travelling to the city centre and walking to the hotel, only took one hour.

I would stay here again and would definitely recommend this hotel for a variety of reasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikec37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was our Christmas vacation. The hotel could not have been any more perfect. The location was awesome. It was one block from Plaça de Catalunya. Right in front of the hotel was a metro station, so you could go anywhere within steps of your hotel. Our room was wonderful. It was clean and modern. The shower and sink were actually very cool. We you checked in you were greeted with a glass of champagne.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the fourth or fifth floor so you are not bothered by the metro underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcthrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here as a couple for a week and we loved it.
We would definitely book it again.
Without requesting it, they gave us the top floor room. (there are only 2 rooms on the top floor)
The other room, luckily for us, remained empty throughout our whole stay, which meant we had the terrace all to ourselves and within 2 seconds of leaving the room. We even had a romantic champagne and take away pizza night in, on the terrace all to ourselves. (yes - they were completely fine with us ordering take away pizza to our room)

Our room was big and inviting. Great decor and very comfortable. We even had a second bathroom (the top floor provided a terrace and a public - although we only used it - bathroom.)
The only two things are:
1) the room view was of the inside hotel reception area and room corridors. However because we could easily walk to the terrace that wasn't an issue for us.
2)the room stank of sewage. This wasn't the hotel's fault, but it was due to the lack of rain, and the heat, which caused the pipes to overheat and it causes this throughout the city. I notified the reception, and they told me it was expected, however they offered to change our room if we were not happy. (we remained in the same room.)

Staff were delightful.
Excellent Location!
Perfect city hotel.

Room Tip: Try to request the top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingSophie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during 4 nights and everything went well from the arrival to the departure ! Each member of the staff was smiling and friendly, the room was clean, big enough and quiet, the Nespresso Coffee Machine was a great way to begin and end the day, the location (close to the Ramblas but without the crowd, close to the Catalunya Plazza where the airport shuttle stops, in front of a subway station) was perfect to visit the city.
We ate twice the breakfast which was full of good and fresh products and not that expensive for an "all you can eat buffet" (15 Euros each).
Unfortunatly because of the weather in December in Barcelona we couldnt really enjoy the roof of the hotel but no doubt that during hotter days, this must be a great place to relax !!!
Overall this was a perfect hotel and I know that if someday I go back to Barcelona, it will be #1 on my list of places to stay in.

Room Tip: We've been given a room on the fifth floor, with the balcony on the Plaza Urquinaona and we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Pros:
-Stylish, modern, and tasteful design throughout this recently-renovated hotel. A particular highlight is the lighting - dim and atmospheric in the corridors, soft and soothing in the rooms. Room fixtures and furniture make the most of limited space with clever, space-saving designs.
-Most comfortable mattress I've experienced in our European travels.
-Great location at Urquinaona Plaza, right across the street from a metro station and next to a bus stop.
-Cool rooftop patio and plunge pool (surprised that this was open in late December).
-Lots of nice little extras - glass of cava when you check in, Nespresso machines in the room (refilled daily), spacious business center where you can print out tickets to activities, boarding passes, etc at no extra cost.
-Staff went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. A few examples. I dropped my wife at the hotel before returning our rental car (which was due in ~5 minutes) so that she wouldn't have to walk to the hotel. Despite not having her credit card and despite me not being there, she was allowed to check in without a problem. Every day, the housekeepers folded any clothes that were left sitting out in the room. For my birthday, the staff surprised us with a complimentary bottle of cava in our room. Much appreciated!

Cons:
-As expected of an inner-city location, the rooms are fairly small.
-Subway noise. In our fourth-floor room, it was more of a curiosity than an annoyance, but it was quite loud from the first-floor business center. If you're a light sleeper, request a higher-up room.
-No desk in our room - clearly targeted more at vacationers than business travelers.
-Gym was disappointing - one exercise bike and one elliptical, and that's it. No weight machines or free weights.
-If you're arriving in Barcelona by car, be aware that there's no easy spot from which to unload passengers and luggage in front of the hotel. The lane right in front of the hotel is reserved for taxis and busses. I ended up having to drop my wife off around the corner from the hotel.

Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay at the H10 Urquinaona. Our complaints were more against inner-city hotels in general than against this particular property. Next time, we'll probably plan to stay in a less-expensive, more-spacious property located further outside of the city center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donato86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
622 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel

Property: H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Urquinaona, 2, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Placa Urquinaona, in the heart of Barcelona, the H10 Urquinaona Plaza is a newly built hotel housed within a nineteenth century building that maintains some of its original structure and beautifully crafted ceilings, which have been combined with a very contemporary interior design that uses clean lines and simple colours. The hotel features the Novecento Restaurant, bar, gym and Chill-Out Terrace with plunge pool and outstanding views over the city. It also has 3 meeting rooms that are perfect for small company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing