We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great located, beautiful hotel with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great located, beautiful hotel with very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in July 2013. Since this was a new hotel we didn't know what to expect, but it turned out to be a fantastic hotel with great and friendly staff. We arrived earlier than the check-in time, but that wasn't such a problem for the person at the reception. Our bags were put in a separate room. A few minutes later we even got a free upgrade and were able to get to our room straight away.
Our room was big and clean. Strange enough the sink was in the bedroom itself, but that didn't bother us. We found it odd that there was so much provided in the room (including iron and ironing board, shaving kit, shoe shine sponge, ...)
The room was located at the front of the hotel (being the street side), but we didn't have much noise from the street. Only a few motors were heard.
To cool down there is a small pool on the roof. The size of the pool is not big, but to relax after a day of walking around we didn't need more.
You can only consume breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast area is comfortable and the breakfast itself was wonderful. There is a lot of choice (going from several kinds of cereal, bread, pasteries, eggs, meat and cheese, ...)
We loved the location of this hotel, because it is located very central, with the Plaza de Catalunya, the Cathedral and La Rambla in walking distance. Right in front of the hotel you have a bus stop, a metro stop and you can rent bikes on the plaza in front as well. Hop-on-hop-off buses are starting their tour on the Plaza de Catalunya which is about 5 minutes walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Inez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the time used in writing your comments and thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience with us!!

All the Hotel Staff are so glad for your excellent review and to know your stay with us were so nice!!

We are very proud when our guests have a nice stay with us. We are improving every day to provide incredible stays for our guests!

We are looking forward to welcome you soon!!

Thank you so much and kindest regards!!

Meri Ferrando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    280
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
162
660
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the H10 Urquinaona for three nights at the end of July 2013, as others have mentioned the hotel is new having only recently opened. We arrived early in the morning and were not able to check in to the room stratight away (check in at 3pm) so we left our bags with the hotel in a secure room and went for a walk around the city.
The hotel is located in the centre of the city, with Las Ramblas 5 mins away, there is a metro stop directly outside the hotel. When we returned to check in we were given a glass of cava which was needed after walking around in the scorching heat.

The room was small with modern decor and was obviously extremely clean. It had a small balcony area, nice shower but the sink was located in the bedroom outside the bathroom which was a bit odd. The room also had a wardrobe with safe, mini-bar and flatscreen tv.
Breakfast was good too, a fair choice of pastries, hot food, cereals, toast and cold items.
The atrium type foyer was very impressive as well as having a very cool air temperature, there is a bar area by reception and you can sit outside in a garden type area, there is also a nice library/internet room. There is a roof terrace with small plunge pool and sun loungers.
When we checked out we wanted to keep the room on but the hotel was fully booked. as we had a late flight we left our bags at the hotel again and returned later. It was a shame we were not able to access a spare room to have a shower and freshen up before our flight but it wasn't a problem. The staff were very helpful, particularly the guy who kept opening the door for us in reception.
Overall it was a fab hotel, very clean and modern and I dont think we could have picked a better one for the price/location. Very impressed and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotsofshoes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments and for your time used in writing them!! We really appreciate it! :)

Thanks a lot for the nice description and for all the pictures. We are so glad to know you had a very nice stay with us.

We have already resent it to all our staff as it helps us to improve every day and remain motivated.

Thank you so much once again and best wishes from Barcelona! We are looking forward to welcome you in another occasion.

Meri Ferrando
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were orginally booked into the H10 Marina Barcelona, on arrival they stated they had electrical outage on the floor we were supposed to be staying on. They moved us to the H10 Urquinaona. This hotel was in a very central location, just a few minutes from La Rambla but just far enough away not to be bothered by the noise and volume of people. The hotel was brand new, great breakfast included, roof top lounge area with small plunge pool, great staff who were very accommodating and gave some great suggestions for local tapas restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and away from La Rambla which does tend to cater for "tourist tastes" Overall a great stay, the hop-on-hop-off bus tours were a great way to see the major sites, especially when you are only there for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel overlooking their small garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKGIRL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank so much for your nice comments.

All the staff hopes you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for the time used in sharing your experience with us.

Best regards,

Meri Ferrando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This little hotel is in a fantastic location for getting around Barcelona.
It is absolutely stunning on the inside with a beautiful reception area and small garden out the back. Our room was big for a city hotel and very clean. Small downside was the wetroom with the sink being in the main bedroom but thats only if I'm being really picky.
The staff were incredibly friendly, particularly the doormen who were always extremely welcoming.
The breakfast had a good variety for the amount available. I was slightly disappointed by the yoghurt options but the meats and cheese choices were wide ranging.
All in all I would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are proud when our guests have a nice stay with us. We are improving every day to provide incredible stays for our guests!

It would be a pleasure welcoming you back soon.

Thank you so much!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

A brand new, true gem in an amazing location just 2 minutes to Placa de Catalunya, with a metro station directly opposite.
The design is stunning, in a beautiful old building with an imposing central atrium. Whilst there were a few small new opening snags (the hotel opened 12 days ago) the staff were wonderful and efficient. Rooms are bright, airy, functional and complete with everything you could need for a business or holiday stay. Small touches like the glass of Cava at check in also make a huge difference. Possibly my new favourite Barcelona hotel and I have have stayed in quite a few. Can not recommend highly enough.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Reviewer123987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review!!!

It is very important for us to read comments like yours. All the staff are so glad to know you had an incredible stay with us.

Thanks a lot! We look forward to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in the H10 Urquinaona for a couple of nights about a week after it opened, although they were still finishing off a couple of bits of decoration around the hotel there was no disturbance to us in the hotel.
The hotel is beautiful, great decor and lovely spacious rooms, the shower is fantastic... great to jump into after a long day pounding the streets sightseeing! The breakfast was lovely, a great choice of food and a spacious dining area. There is a nice bar and outside seating area to enjoy a drink in the evening and the staff are all very friendly and helpful!
There is a nice rooftop plunge pool, not a very big pool area, about 10 sunbeds but a perfect place to sit and enjoy the sun with a lovely view of the city.
The hotel is in a great location very close to Barcelona Cathedral, Arc De Triomf, Las Ramblas and lots of shops nearby too.
There are some lovely tapas restaurants near the cathedral and its a great place to sit and people watch, its not too far to walk to the port and there is plenty to see on the way.
I couldn't fault my stay at the H10 Urquinaona and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely hotel in great location and a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the time used in writing your comments and thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience with us!!

All the Hotel Staff are so glad to know your stay with us were so nice!!

We are looking forward to welcome you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
622 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel

Property: H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Urquinaona, 2, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Placa Urquinaona, in the heart of Barcelona, the H10 Urquinaona Plaza is a newly built hotel housed within a nineteenth century building that maintains some of its original structure and beautifully crafted ceilings, which have been combined with a very contemporary interior design that uses clean lines and simple colours. The hotel features the Novecento Restaurant, bar, gym and Chill-Out Terrace with plunge pool and outstanding views over the city. It also has 3 meeting rooms that are perfect for small company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing