We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Doughnut Every” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boldu

Boldu
Ranked #11 of 102 Bakeries in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Proud family of artisanal bakers serving the best boldu's (donuts) in the world, we call them BOLDUMAN :)
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
237 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Doughnut Every”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We actually stopped in for lunch, and enjoyed some tasty sandwiches. However, the highlight was without a doubt the doughnut man thingies! It was the best doughnut and probably the best pastry we've ever had. It's located on a really nice street in Barcelona, and is near the two main Gaudi apartments.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dtravelerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    56
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mmm...donuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Love this cafe! Friendly,helpful staff. The donuts are to die for. And how cute they are, shaped like little gingerbread men. Their coffee and ham sandwiches are delicious too. The Jazz makes for a lovely experience. I walked across the city to get here and it was completely worth it. Can't wait to come back.

Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Familial high quality coffee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Been there on early May with my mate in a nearby hotel. This place become our everyday morning start. Very good coffee, great, sorry,sublime cakes, a very pleasant desgin and a goodd Jazz and Blues music.

Helpful?
Thank ענת ג
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Fantastic variety of choices for breakfast, lunch or a snack on the go.

The Bolduman are very cute and a nice change from your average donut, tried a cronut too which were different from your average donut (although you could only manage one of these!). Food was fresh, the atmosphere charming and the service was great, learned a few more Spanish words thanks to the helpful staff! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rcee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“You haven't "LIVED" till you eat these donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

It is not one of the best meals I ever ate in a restaurant, BUT it they are the best donuts I ever ate any where. The delicious flavors were perfect in sweetness and delicate intensity. Unlike a lot of donuts they were not greasy or oily. They were perfect. I cannot wait to come back to Barcelona just to have these donuts again. The shapes are amazing, gingerbread men and women. Raspberry and strawberry, chocolate and lots of other flavors. The service is really great too. They were friendly and interested in making your experience worth being there.Interestingly we went to a 2 Michlin Star restaurant where the service was not as good or as interested in what they were doing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 800FoodFanatic800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boldu also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Boldu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing