We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for a few tapas”
Review of Mont Bar

Mont Bar
Ranked #293 of 9,610 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a few tapas”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The restaurant is expensive, but the three tapas we had were delicious. The service was excellent and seemed to be in a nice neighborhood. We came across this place just walking around not as a destination in itself. Friends are coming to BCN at the end of Sept and I would recommend for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank watersunsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    172
    64
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Biberach (Riss), Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The way food should taste. Each ingredient was tastable, with its own natural flavour.nothing for unexperienced eaters who don't know how prawns or artischoques for example, really tastes.high quality food. For foodies!

Helpful?
Thank tastehunter78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malmö
Level Contributor
160 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not the standard menu.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A small place with a menu that is not the standard for restaurants catering for international tourists. Friendly service and well-prepared food even if the portion is on the small side. More expensive than expected.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A sophisticated menu and extensive wine list”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went because it was right across the street from our apartment. It is a total neighborhood place. Couples on dates a plenty. It is quiet. The sidewalk dining is nice and the street that to which it is adjacent is also quiet. The service was attentive. The food was good; portions were of moderate to small size. Definitely not a cheap place. If you are in this neighborhood or going to one of the free concerts at UB this would be a good place to stop for tapas or drinks beforehand OR dinner/nightcap afterwards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CORJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
“Overall disappointing experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We tried this restaurant because of good reviews here in tripadvisor and also location near our hotel and the fact that it looked like a nice place to eat dinner.

As i mentioned, restaurant looked really nice and decoration looked sharp etc. but thats about all it offered to us. Food was average and portions were really small but still very expensive. If this restaurant tries to be a fine dining place it fails totally except the high prices you pay for less than average food. Also the service was perhaps best described as chaotic. Restaurant was really small and still there was several waitors serving but still we had to wait long periods for wines, dessert menu and the bill.

Actually we had to wait for such a long time for dessert menu that we opted to take the check instead, which we also had to wait for a long time. Overall too pricey for what you get in return and also the service doesn't meet the standards the restaurant tries to achieve. Maybe we just went there on a wrong day but still you would except better even on a "bad day at the office" from the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkkuL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mont Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing