We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian Food - Period”

Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu
Ranked #193 of 9,689 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gracia
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food - Period”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I love Indian food and was brought to Swagatam by a good friend of mine. Hands down the food here is phenomenal, it is for sure the freshest & tastiest Indian I've ever head in Barcelona and can easily measure up with some of my favorites in India. Sure, the decor is nothing to look at, but that's pretty clear when you just peak in. However the food and service make more than up for it. Particularly if you like it hot. Lal and his team will make sure you food will be very spicy or bring extra chili upon request.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiCiNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    161
    44
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“One of the best places in Europe for Indian food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

"we had read a lot about this small indian restaurant in Barcelona and so went there for lunch. We were a group of 12 people and I can tell you this was one of the best meals we had in Barcelona. The service is very personal , food authentic and tasty and the overall experience fantastic. Would easily recommend it to all wishing to eat genuine Indian food - this is by far one of the best Indian restaurants you will find in Europe".- Doshi

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ApoorvaDoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food and people, went twice :-)”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Being lovers of Indian food me and my partner visited many Indian resturants in Barcelona. This was the best quality food and best service. Although it is not as aesthetically pleasing as others we visited, the welcoming staff and their many options on the menu make it the best by far!

You must visit this resturant for good food, a good laugh and a pleasing night out!

Thanks Lal and the rest of the team!

Love from Alicia and Scott

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia-Marples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great eating experience”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been living in Barcelona for around 2 years now and I must say that this is my favorite Indian restaurant here. The food is fantastic and above all, Lal and Pratap, are wonderful people who makes one feel at home when here. If you want great food with great staff and live in and around Gracia, I would highly recommend you to try out Swagatam. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place !”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean place, served excellent indian food. Very good value for money. Would recommend the Mango Chicken and garlic naan bread for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Swagatam Bar-Restaurant Hindu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing