We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Raw and Cooked Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espai Kru

Espai Kru
Reserve with
Espai Kru is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 8,532 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $68 - $90
Cuisines: Japanese, Mediterranean, Spanish, Asian, Seafood, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montjuic
Description: The upstairs of Rias de Galicia becomes a "sea" of little dishes, more casual, more fun, more imaginative, and more economical. A modern setting, with a kitchen bar where chefs prepare many dishes in front of customers. Two Rías in one. The menu has two parts. The main one based on elaborations without fire, is an anthem to the "product". And a second one where we discover the fire.
Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Raw and Cooked Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a find thanks to the hotel concierge at The Olha and accidentally stumbling across it, this is part of Ferran Adria's new restaurants in Barcelona. It sits above Rias de Galicia one of the finest up market fish restaurants in the City and next to Casa de Tapas Canota, all seem to be linked to Ferran. The kitchen serves the finest raw fish and meat you will ever find, the food is magnificently presented and a feast to the eyes. We also had one cooked dish which was a whole baby turbot cooked in such a way that you could eat every part of it quite amazing. I highly recommend this establishment it cost with a good bottle of wine 140 euros which is extraordinarily well priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank symro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    195
    59
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ended up here after a failed attempt to walk into Pakta without a reservation. The host kindly pointed us next door. Espai kru is upstairs and slightly more casual than the downstairs seafood restaurant. We had delicious cocktails and a handful of yummy small plates. We had some trouble communicating with the waiter, but ended up liking everything we got. This would be a good place to go with a group so you can try several dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, strange tasting menu,”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice restaurant, friendly staff. We had the below degustacion menu for 48€ p.p.

Anchovy from Castro Urdiales smoked roasted peppers and manchego cheese
Shrimp, spider crab and edible crab croquettes
Galician beef tartar
Creamy rice with seasonal wild mushrooms and gorgonzola cheese Baked sea bass with potatoes and diced tomatoes sauteed with
sherry vinegar
Weaned roast lamb at 65oC boneless honey lacquered with rosemary and accompanied by grilled vegetables and mashed tubers

Warm fruit salad with celery and lime sorbet Coulant chocolate with Pedro Ximénez reduction

The portion are small, so you wont be stuffed at the end.

The service is really too fast, as the menu is set nd th eportion are small, as soon as you are finished with one plate, they bring you the next one. This is not what I expected from a higher level restaurant.

The sequence of food is also strange , fish, rice with gogonzola cheese !!! beef tartar then fish and lamb ??? Not easy for the taste buds and for the wine as you start with white then red with the tartar than white with the fish then red..

So , let the chef rethink his menu. There are so many good rstaurant in Barcelona.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oysters de Galicia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We tried this place on a recommendation from Tickets across the street, as Tickets requires a reservation two months in advance. We were delighted by the Galician oysters even though they are a bit pricey, I can honestly say they were a highlight of our trip to barca. The crab cannelloni was very good. The most amazing dish we had was the sashimi plate which was about 35€. I have never tasted anything so exquisite in my life. I can close my eyes and almost taste the scallops on that sashimi plate. My wife did the dishes above while I had the chef tasting. The chef tasting is the best deal, but if you do that definitely try at least one plate off the menu in addition to the tasting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b_mohon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We left the restaurant hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were a party of ten therefore we were not allowed to order from the menu which looked good. We got most of the time cold tapas, fish and mussels also cold, small portions, only the pig at the end was warm. We had to ask for bread and water most of the time, cause the they offer only 0,5 l water bottles but they wanted to serve wine the whole time. We were starving when we came to the restaurant, paid 800 Euros and left it hungry. I can't recommend this restaurant for a group!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espai Kru also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Espai Kru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing