We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to rest and have a drink”
Review of Stoke Bar

Stoke Bar
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Stoke Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 9,689 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Stoke bar is a cozy, friendly place, you can have a good drink at the bar, sit in the back on our comfortable sofa/seats with your friends, or have a table upstairs and enjoy delicious food ranging from Argentinian steaks to tapas and nachos. In a beautiful authentic setting, enjoy great homemade cocktails, mixed drinks and sangria !
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great spot to rest and have a drink”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This spot was full of a young mix of international adults. Seemed to be a great combination of people from all over looking to have a good time. English is spoken, which is helpful if you've had a long day of poorly attempting Spanish.

Drinks were great, good mix of cocktails, wines, and beers. Didn't eat anything, but worth a visit if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank stefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    158
    31
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service and easy to chat”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Saw this place listed on a map as a "backpacker" pub, and figured it would be easy to meet and chat to people here. It was - both bar staff (Emilia and Wendy) were very friendly and helpful, and it was an easy atmosphere for chatting to people at the bar. Drinks weren't particularly cheap (about €5 each), but the sangría was very nice, and the mojitos were beautiful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing special. Many better places to eat & drink!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We both had steaks; they we over cooked and very chewy. My beer wasn't petulantly cold and our second round of drinks took 20 mins to arrive. Half way through our meal the TV's were turned on full volume and it really spoiled what little atmosphere there was.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregoriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokeBar, Gerente at Stoke Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
hello, Gregoriah,
First of all i would like to excuse myself on behave of all the staff here in Stoke bar if your time here was not to your liking. We try to do our best.
Remember we always try to cook our steaks to meet our costumers taste, please notify the waitress if you are expecting well-done or rare. I am sincerly sorry the food we not to your taste.

You surly know we are right in the middle of the 2014 football world cup in Brazil. Every bar is currently showing the footballs matches at 6pm, again at 10pm and the last one at midnight. Of course we put on the sounds for the commentaries. We are sorry if this was a disterbance for you.

sincerly,
the stoke bar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stopped into Stoke for dinner and drinks. We split the nachos and not only were they delicious but it was the perfect portion. We also ordered the strawberry margaritas and they were fantastic! The World Cup was on during our visit and the excitement only added to the wonderfully laid back atmosphere of the bar. I would definitely recommend Stoke.

Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Totally recommended”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After 4 days in Barcelona and trying a number of restaurants from trip our last attempt was
Stoke. Not the prettiest nor the most spacious. However the atmosphere, the food and the service were all excellent. We had the tapa to share as a starter and the meat and cheese platter provided was the best we had. This was followed by the best sub £10 t bone steak you will trouble to beat, anywhere. Must recommend you seek this place out and do not get put off by first impressions you will not regret it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_Barry_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoke Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Stoke Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing