We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, good location!”
Review of Gracia City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gracia City Hostel
Ranked #52 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for ages. I stayed in Gracia on my first visit to Barcelona, - I enjoyed it so much I stayed on longer and returned when I came back from my travels around Spain. Although a basic hostel, the staff are incredibly friendly, all amenities are met, there is a lounge area, free wifi, and the area of the hostel itself is incredibly convenient. I could walk into town or take the metro a few stops easily. I also met a great deal of awesome people there who I still keep in contact with. I enjoyed Barcelona and felt safe and happy in my time at Gracia too. x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Gracia City Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 418 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

+not too expensive, 10-14€/night
+friendly staff
+good location, right off the big shopping street of Gracia, -quite far from the beach though
+big kitchen (good on a budget trip like ours)

-quite poor internet, sometimes it worked other times it didn't
-staff a bit ineffective (maybe not compared to the Spanish standard ;))
-our room was very cramped and loud

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaSofiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I don't usually review hostels but in our 5 weeks of backpacking all over Europw this was our favorite hostel so I decided to return the favor.

Gracia is a very local area of barcelona. As opposed to some of the areas near la ramblas and the beach (awash with pickpockets and silly tourist traps) gracia has great local restaraunts, bars, and a ton of really cool squares which are really fun to hang with locals at night.

As for the hostel itself, if you are expecting the fancy hostel with a frat house bar and super clean showers look elsewhere. The accommodations here are not perfect (the lockers weren't great and the showers were pretty tiny), but the environment of the hostel makes it worth it. There is a huge kitchen in the basement as well as a lounge where everyone hangs out around dinner time. It's one of those areas that really forces you to meet other travelers instead of everyone sticking to themselves. We found ourselves having big conversations in the kitchen with 10 or 15 people representing several nationalities which was really great.

I'll also add that the owner of the hostel is an awesome, friendly guy and does his best to make everyone comfortable.

Really great hostel if you're trying to get a taste of local Barcelona culture and meet some cool people.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordanlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, Gerente at Gracia City Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu opinión. Estamos muy contentos de saber que nuestro objetivo fue alcanzado y lo pasamos muy bien en nuestro albergue. Es nuestra prioridad para asegurar que todos nuestros clientes se sientan cómodos y bienvenidos. Esperamos volver a verte y te damos las gracias por su estancia en Gracia City Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent a couple of nights in this great hostel which has a great location in a very trendy neighbourhood. The staff is very friendly and helpful and gave me good tips to make the most of my short trip to Barcelona. Certainly go back if I have the opportunity.
Great added value: it has FREE WIFI !!

Room Tip: It was first experience in a hostel, and my 4 bedded was perfect.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, Gerente at Gracia City Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that our goal was achieved and you had great time in our hostel. It is our priority to ensure that all our guests feel comfortable and welcomed. We hope to see you again and thank you for staying in Gracia City Hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Liked: The location is good; very near from the Diagonal metro station.

Disliked: The thing i disliked the most, was the lack of security. It is impossible to lock the rooms; and most of the time doors are not only unlocked, but also open. Anyone can enter the hostel and have access to your stuff. Fortunately i had no problem. The rooms have lack in space; there are too many bunk beds for the space available. I made my booking for a 10-bed room, but in reality it was a 12-bed room. If you booked in advance, like i did, you will pay an excessive price. There wasn't a full body blanket, only two little blankets from Primark.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraciaCityHostelBCN, Public Relations Manager at Gracia City Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Good day,

first of all, i'm really sorry you've had bad experience and out hostel didn't meet your expectation, and im very thankful that you took your time to tell about it. Our guests' opinions and critics are very important for us because we keep on improving every day and comments of our guests help us do it faster and better.

I'd like to comment the following:

- we've changed the security system - now an entrance to the hostel and rooms is only possible with unique electronic key

- we've changed the number and types of beds in certain rooms so now they have more space

- we always have big and warm extra blankets - they are always available at Reception absolutely for free

Once again, thank you very much for your comments

Regards, Natalia
On behalf of Gràcia City Hostel, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed in Gracia City Hostel in autumn 2012, and first i wasnt necessarily impressed, it was quite cool but nothing wow, but after few days i was having a time of my life, i have met the best people there, staff are awesome, hostel is super clean, good facilities, all you need really. Just bring a great attitude and you will have a great time. I didnt want to leave, and still keep in touch with the people i have met there. Area is authentic and beautiful little streets full of bars and restaurants, local community, little shops, Gracia is defo the best hood to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0linaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, Gerente at Gracia City Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu opinión. Estamos muy contentos de saber que nuestro objetivo fue alcanzado y lo pasamos muy bien en nuestro albergue. Es nuestra prioridad para asegurar que todos nuestros clientes se sientan cómodos y bienvenidos. Esperamos volver a verte y te damos las gracias por su estancia en Gracia City Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I´ve been in barcelona for two weeks and I spend one of my weeks in Gracia city hostel barcelona wich i found to be one of the best hostels i´ve ever been in Spain.
Differs of other hostels because it has been created for this purpose, brand new building and facilities. The staff worries for the cleaning of rooms and W.C. this is really a High standard hostel with very low prices! I What i consider important is the staff and their tips for discovering barcelona... this is priceless...thank you agustin and javi for all the help!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constantino H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, Gerente at Gracia City Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu opinión. Estamos muy contentos de saber que nuestro objetivo fue alcanzado y lo pasamos muy bien en nuestro albergue. Es nuestra prioridad para asegurar que todos nuestros clientes se sientan cómodos y bienvenidos. Esperamos volver a verte y te damos las gracias por su estancia en Gracia City Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#29 of 732 in Barcelona
162 reviews
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#5 of 732 in Barcelona
355 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#20 of 732 in Barcelona
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#39 of 732 in Barcelona
311 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#46 of 732 in Barcelona
224 reviews
Eixample
Primavera Hostel
Primavera Hostel
#66 of 732 in Barcelona
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracia City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracia City Hostel

Address: Sant Pere Martir St. 18 | Gracia, Barcelona, 08012 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $23 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Gracia City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracia City Hostel is located in the heart of Barcelona. It is just a few minutes walk from the emblematic tourist attractions such as La Pedrera, Casa Batllo, La Sagrada Familia, Park Guell and 3 minutes to Passeig de Gracia avenue, which is the main trendy and shopping street in Barcelona. Gracia City Hostel offers you a variety of rooms: private doubles, mixed and female dorms, all equipped with everything necessary for the comfort of travellers: comfortable beds, large lockers, bed lamps, clothes hangers & mirrors. All rooms are air-conditioned and heater and covered with free high-speed WI-FI. We have a fully equipped kitchen and a lounge area with TV, books & magazines, stereosystem, where you can spend a calm evening after long day of exploring Barcelona city. Throughout the entire hostel you can connect to the fastest WI-FI or you may also use a guest computer in a lobby. Gracia City Hostel staff regularly organizes different kinds of events, such as Barcelona walking tours, dinners, paella time, tapas night, and more. Stay in heart of Barcelona! Stay in Gracia City Hostel! You will feel like home! You are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gracia City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracia City Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing