We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Tomate

Cafe Tomate
Ranked #2,153 of 8,537 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Bienvenidos a Café Tomate,Somos un restaurante especializado en la cocina de mercado, ubicados en la "Eixample" de Barcelona, uno de los distritos más emblemáticos de la ciudad donde su historia, arte y cultura son visibles en cada rincón.En Café Tomate podrás disfrutar de una amplia variedad de tapas y montaditos. Para los paladares mas exigentes contamos con nuestras especialidades Café Tomate y el apartado Café Tomate Gourmet.No solo buena comida, también tenemos una exclusiva selección de ginebras, tónicas y cockteleria selecta.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I can't rate this place highly enough. We came here every morning for breakfast (stayed in NH Master hotel opposite) and loved the atmosphere and excellent service, so came for dinner one night and were not disappointed. The food was excellent (my husband said his chicken was possibly the best he's ever had and my paella was superb), with really good, fresh ingredients. The staff were superb - incredibly friendly and helpful, bringing us free cocktails. If you're in the area pop in for a plate of their cod fritters - amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pvd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    67
    18
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st Night Eating Out in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Friendly staff & the cafe was busy with locals, so must be OK we thought.

After deciding to visit this cafe, the waiter helped us by giving us the English menu, and also recommending his choice.

As my wife is vegetarian, the waiter was a great help.

Meal was good, and the waiter even came back with a free Baileys on the house.

Total Bill was 35 Euros (2 drinks / 2 Mains & 2 deserts)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trojan01051969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped here for tapas on the last night of our trip to Barcelona. Great atmosphere and very welcoming staff. Was given recommendations for both food and wine and I have to say that it was all excellent. Lots of locals in eating (and thoroughly enjoying themselves too). Good prices and well worth a visit if you happen to be in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, great food and drinks, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel opposite (NH Master). Had drinks here most nights we stayed. Staff were very generous, free food (potato cake) and drinks (home made super strength sangria). Would definitely return if visiting Barcelona again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by a local couple whom we met, whilst we were all looking at another restaurant's menu. They suggested this restaurant and they recommended seafood Paella which we ordered and thoroughly enjoyed.
Service was wonderful, very friendly and full of local people.
Great value for money too

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthonybassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tomate also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafe Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing