We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Night Eating Out in Barcelona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Tomate

Cafe Tomate
Carrer Comte D'urgell, 146, 8011 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 93 451 22 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,992 of 8,467 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Bienvenidos a Café Tomate,Somos un restaurante especializado en la cocina de mercado, ubicados en la "Eixample" de Barcelona, uno de los distritos más emblemáticos de la ciudad donde su historia, arte y cultura son visibles en cada rincón.En Café Tomate podrás disfrutar de una amplia variedad de tapas y montaditos. Para los paladares mas exigentes contamos con nuestras especialidades Café Tomate y el apartado Café Tomate Gourmet.No solo buena comida, también tenemos una exclusiva selección de ginebras, tónicas y cockteleria selecta.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st Night Eating Out in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Friendly staff & the cafe was busy with locals, so must be OK we thought.

After deciding to visit this cafe, the waiter helped us by giving us the English menu, and also recommending his choice.

As my wife is vegetarian, the waiter was a great help.

Meal was good, and the waiter even came back with a free Baileys on the house.

Total Bill was 35 Euros (2 drinks / 2 Mains & 2 deserts)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trojan01051969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    17
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped here for tapas on the last night of our trip to Barcelona. Great atmosphere and very welcoming staff. Was given recommendations for both food and wine and I have to say that it was all excellent. Lots of locals in eating (and thoroughly enjoying themselves too). Good prices and well worth a visit if you happen to be in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, great food and drinks, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel opposite (NH Master). Had drinks here most nights we stayed. Staff were very generous, free food (potato cake) and drinks (home made super strength sangria). Would definitely return if visiting Barcelona again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by a local couple whom we met, whilst we were all looking at another restaurant's menu. They suggested this restaurant and they recommended seafood Paella which we ordered and thoroughly enjoyed.
Service was wonderful, very friendly and full of local people.
Great value for money too

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthonybassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have just come back from a visit to Barcelona for my Dad's 60th birthday and had to write a review about this place.
Not only is Christian and his staff AMAZING the food is delicious and the prices are very good.
We were made to feel like locals. The atmosphere is great very night and we often ended up here before going home.
The tapas is fab and the sangria will knock you off your feet!!
Thanks to all the staff there for making our trip so great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tomate also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafe Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing