We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodations for exploring!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Ranked #16 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a fantastic little hotel. Cozy, comfortable in a fabulous location.
The staff was wonderful, as well.
Breakfast is not included but at only 3 euros, a great way to start the day.
Highly recommended for anyone looking for a reasonably-priced room in amazing Barcelona.

Room Tip: As for a room facing d'Aviyno and watch the world go by on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMerryMisanthrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 583 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location is very good, in the hearth of the historical city. The personel is nice, they told me a basic information about public services in the city .It was a great stay and I would recommend the place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karolina1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

what a fantastic location - in the old town just off La Rambla. Very good value although basic accommodation. Underneath the hostel is a very nice restaurant. Breakfast is a little late starting at 8.30 and doesn't include any fruit but these are minor points given the very low cost

Room Tip: a little bit noisy if you end up near the reception desk, but I was very pleased overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great place in the heart of the city, the room interior could have been better, but it is overall good. The noise levels are over what you would expect, it was a great stay and i would recommend the place!

Room Tip: The room we had was facing the street and was quite noisy, besides that the place is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Andrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The location is fine, in the hearth of the historical city, however the building and the service provided are very poor.
When we first book the room it was supposed to be a B&B solution, however when we ask for the breakfast this was not included in the price (which is still appearing on our booking papers). We had then to pay for it separately - very unprofessional service and treatment.

The room itself was really poor (apart from the bathroom which was newly refurbished) and very very smelly (mould and fungus on the wall).

The personell is kind, but really unprofessional and unable to provide us with besic information about public services in the city.

I would not recommend this place, unless you want to spend just one night in a very cheap solution in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riribi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Perfect position and easy to reach BUT our room wasn't available when we reached the hotel around 1 in the night and we have booked and wrote the time of arrive. So at the 1 a.m. we have to reach another hotel. On the day after we reached at 12, as they had told us, but the room wasn't ready still and we should pay 3 euros each luggage to leave them in the deposit. Even if it was their guilty.
There is the self machine to take drinks and food but it doesn't work.
It is cleaned but it is totally empty of little necessary things like a basket, horse for towel or dresses and so on

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guido s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordi g, Manager at Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment in tripadvisor!

After i try to find your booking, it really was very difficult for us!

I check with the staff and we have 2 different bookings with your name, previously at your arrival we check with budgetplaces.com and we sent you a message by email asking you about if there is any of them was correct or not because we recieved a cancellation from you!!!

We never recieve any answer from you and we understood about you cancel the 2 bookings.

We try to make the better for the inconvenient at your arrival and we give you an alternative accommodation nearby to our Guesthouse, on the next day we gave you a room with us and you didn't pay extra for the inconvenient.

There was the coffe machine not working but not the other machines we have: computers with internet connection, soft drinks or cold water.

About the things in the bath-room.... This is a Guest house and normally is not normal you find some things in the bath-rooms. In Spain is normal in Hotels 2* or 3*

After i see this comment and other i find on internet just now we included in the bath-rooms (communal & private in the room) a soap dispenser and Hair Dryer (in the private rooms).

Tripadvisor Is a good tool for a reviews but is not correct always use this website for indicate only bad things.

i am traveling every year and i really hope to indicate good comments if i am happy for the service we receive but unfortunately a lot of people only use this tool for a leave bad comments and sometimes are not true!!!

thanks for help us to make better our establishment!!!

The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Massi-oldschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
1,380 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#9 of 308 in Barcelona
494 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#15 of 308 in Barcelona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Boutique Khronos
Hostal Boutique Khronos
#11 of 308 in Barcelona
440 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#23 of 308 in Barcelona
685 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic

Address: Carrer d'Avinyo, 42 | First Floor, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly B&B Barcelona Loves You!)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $30 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse BARCELONA GOTIC is located in Barcelona city center, at only few steps of the most popular avenue, las ramblas. The property was recently refurbished and offer simple & budget accommodation in the most popular quarter of Barcelona, EL BARRI GOTIC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing