We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of france in spain”
Review of El Casal

El Casal
Ranked #71 of 9,585 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: In Catalan, « Casal » means a place of exchange. Enjoy a relaxing & laid back atmosphere in a quiet square. Our family business is the ideal place for breakfast and lunch with premium Catalan seasonal products. A wide range of Catalan charcuteries, tortillas and cheeses served in tapas or in sandwiches (fresh « xapatas » con tomate), a nice freshly ground café & home-made smoothies & jams... Enjoy our menu, you will have a drink & two choices between starter, main course and dessert, all home-made & changing everyday. El Casal ́s friendly & fluent staff are waiting for you from Monday to Friday, 7am to 16pm. Thursday, friday and saturday also from 6 pm to 0:00 am. Free Wit‐Fi.El Casal is located in plaza Victor Balaguer square between carrer Nau and Santa Maria del Mar church.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of france in spain”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We've visited el casal on our 5th day, so it wasn't our first restaurant in barcelona. It was lunch time so we had the launch menu for 11?. Both first dishes vegie soup and a salad were delicious. The main course of my friend: fish was great. I had a plate of different meat with catalanian bread. The dessert an apple cake was amazing. In my opinion its a great place with a little french flair and french funny decoration, cause the owner are french.

Helpful?
Thank Jevgeni N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joanq1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Casal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Jevgeni N,

Thanks for rating us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear you had a good time in Barcelona and also to know that you enjoyed with our food.

Shall your plans bring you to Barcelona again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    155
    29
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to this great little quiet gem. The waitress is so cute and willing to explain it all. I started with a beer and soup. A great mix. She said it was good. The pork was to die for. You must come. I finished with a wonderful dessert. Excellant, you will love it.

Helpful?
Thank Beau J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joanq1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Casal, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Beau J,

Thanks for sharing your experience,

We are happy to hear this is your second time at El Casal. It means a lot for us!
And we are also really proud to read you like our waitress, we'll share your review with her.

Looking forward to see you for the third time ;)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brives-sur-Charente, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bohemian gem , tucked away out of sight”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were walking to see the Market , and the Cathedral of Sant Maria su mer, I trip advisored on my phone for places nearby and we took advantage of the reviews, we would not have gone in normally as it was cheap and cheerful, we were shocked the food was lovely, presented beautifully and the staff well they were great, friendly and happy, it was a breath of fresh air, we ended up staying and dining 4 bottles of wine, and sharing an assortment of unusual aperitifs what a lovely experience, a must go to whether you are on a budget or not, we will definitely return when in Barcelona. Thanks for a lovely after noon, we had a blast. I think we were the oldest in there, all of us in our late 50's and 60's

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Powys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanq1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Casal, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear JillenfrNce,

Thanks for your nice review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit!
Good to know you found us via Tripadvisor!

Looking forward to see you again!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Maine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip! The staff was amazing. Incredible soup, salad, main courses, all for 10 Euros. The desserts were to die for.....apple pie, fruit pudding. The whole experience was awesome!! The staff was friendly and a pleasure to watch work! Don't miss this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJeanne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanq1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Casal, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for you nice feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vistit at El Casal and that you appreciated our location, staff and food.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from Vienna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

What a great deal!
10 euro for 3 courses and a drink.
The food is great especially for that price. For sure I will come back!

Helpful?
1 Thank CampoFresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaninho q, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Casal, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Campofresco,

We would like to thank you for your very positive feedback.
It makes us very proud to hear that you had a great time at El Casal and that you will come back.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Casal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Casal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing