We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gracias”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Casal

El Casal
Ranked #69 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: In Catalan, « Casal » means a place of exchange. Enjoy a relaxing & laid back atmosphere in a quiet square. Our family business is the ideal place for breakfast and lunch with premium Catalan seasonal products. A wide range of Catalan charcuteries, tortillas and cheeses served in tapas or in sandwiches (fresh « xapatas » con tomate), a nice freshly ground café & home-made smoothies & jams... Enjoy our menu, you will have a drink & two choices between starter, main course and dessert, all home-made & changing everyday. El Casal ́s friendly & fluent staff are waiting for you from Monday to Friday, 7am to 16pm. Free Wit‐Fi.El Casal is located in plaza Victor Balaguer square between carrer Nau and Santa Maria del Mar church.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gracias”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice environment and great small dishes choose different things for variety of great tasty nice service bit pricy but maybe worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfang p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    152
    27
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good for so little money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of the good meals we had in Spain. And it's cheap! Everything was good, the service was excellent, in french or English if you wish (the owners are French), the white sangria is probably the best I had during my trip. So go try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DooMDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic deal and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Located this little gem of a place after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. The food was tasty and you could tell they use the best ingredients and prepare the food with care and attention. The £10 three course lunch menu was unbelievable in its value and quality. It even included a drink and I thoroughly enjoyed my bottle of local beer. The waitress was attentive and welcoming. Best lunch I've ever had.

Exceptional!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a little cafe/restaurant hidden away from the hustle and bustle of busy Barcelona! The staff were some of the most friendly and helpful staff we have come across on our travels. The food was absolutely delicious and ridiculously cheap, I wish we had of known about it sooner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALouiseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hidden treasure of Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The El Casel is a real gem. Tucked away in a beautiful peaceful square right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Centre of Barcelona. With friendly staff an amazing chef, Using fresh ingredients to create delicious Catalan cuisine with a French twist! With exceptional value for money El Casal has it all and is a must for anyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Casal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Casal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing