We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravelle

Caravelle
Ranked #225 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Raval
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Would never have found this spot if not for trip advisor-it was not on yelp! Delicious breakfast - scrambled eggs with sides of parmesan mushrooms, roasted tomato, and avocado. Very delicious and great service too...
Suggested to everyone

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    124
    32
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well deserved rating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

A fairly new and a much needed addition to this more upmarket end of the Raval. The menu is original and carefully considered and pretty much everything is executed to perfection by the very excellent Australian chef and owner ZIm (who brings his experience from running successful gastro pubs in Central London) and his friendly staff. I took some very fussy, well travelled foodie friends there who were visiting from London and they still talk about it despite having visited Spain and Barcelona several times before and having eaten in dozens of other restaurants.
Go for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. I'm not going to recommend any dishes here . I suggest you go and try (them all!) for yourself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Brilliant hipster restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is superb: great food, friendly service and a nice atmosphere. This is definitely hipster Barcelona at its core. When we visited it was super busy with people queuing up for brunch, but it was worth the wait. I had the burger, while my wife enjoyed a pasta, as we'd been touring the museums for hours already, but in the tables next to us people had lovely-looking omelettes and other breakfast staples. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We read about his place on trip advisor and am I glad we went.

Don't be put off by the basic cafe like appearance, the quality of the food more than makes up for the decor.

We were a large group of 15 and the laid back staff were so friendly and helpful in moving tables and chairs to accommodate us, but we had booked first.
A small menu but the food was outstanding, my steak with chorizo butter and triple cooked chips was one of the best I have ever tasted, and not one of the 15 of us had any complaints about the quality of the food.
It was reasonably priced and definately good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magandjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Read about this cafe bar on Trip Advisor and wanting a change from tapas we went last night. It's just a stroll away from Las Ramblas. Lovely food and wine and really friendly service. My fried polenta with mushrooms and parmesan was delicious and as for the shaved cabbage salad!

Helpful?
Thank denez
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Caravelle also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing