We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel centrally located in Old Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel centrally located in Old Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose this hotel based on very positive Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed at all. Having originally booked via Hotel booking aggregator then found a better deal booking with the hotel directly. We booked a junior suite for roughly the same cost as via Booking.com and were treated to our own private outside terrace. Ask for room 108 if booking direct with the hotel.

All the staff were super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Room was very comfortable and breakfast whilst not cheap was worthwhile and certainly set us up for the day.

The hotel is quite quirky based in the heart of the old quarter but is located superbly for enjoying Barca being only a short 5-10 minute walk to La Rambla.

We shall certainly be back! Thank you for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Room 108 has its own private terrace which was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tigerfamily15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

I am pleased to personally thank you for sharing with us your excellent experience at the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager, I am really glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us enjoying our room 108 who has booked directly in our web site.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    139
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
175
781
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is ranked #1 on here and rightly so. From the moment you arrive till the moment you leave the staff can not do enough to look after you. Staying here for 2 nights as a city break you are right in the middle of the gothic quarter and a 5-10 minute walk to everywhere in this popular part of town.

Concierge email you the day before to check your arrival time and your room is ready and waiting for you. In this case it was around 11am and the room was fully prepared. On check in you get a welcome drink and the staff are warm and friendly. The concierge give a short and interesting introduction to the history of the building as they take you up to your room. The room was a deluxe room and faced onto the street at the front of the hotel. Large big windows, high ceilings, double cubicle shower, fast wifi and a superb bed with top quality linen. Soft drinks and water in the fridge along with a comfortable area to sit with 2 chairs.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel however we did take breakfast on both days and the level of service and quality of food was exceptional. In fact it was that good breakfast becomes a very leisurely affair with a never ending supply of food, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. If breakfast was anything to go by the dinner would have been superb, we just opted to see the city instead of an evening.

Lovely cocktail bar with knowledgeable staff when it comes to mixology. Huge selection of spirits and very well made drinks, makes this bar a great (albeit quiet) place to have a final drink before heading upstairs.

On checkout a taxi was called and your bags taken to the vehicle.

To summarise, this place is not cheap far from it... but it delivers on all levels so if you can stretch to the room rates then it comes highly highly recommended. In fact it's that nice you almost feel guilty for spending all day out of the hotel exploring the city!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flumph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your incredible review about our hotel.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am really glad to know that your stay with us was excellent. All the staff of the hotel works every day to provide our guests with the best hospitallity services possible. It is really important for us to improve every day.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had organized a 4 night stay to celebrate my partners 50th birthday,all the reviews I had read were excellent and may I say how true this is.
From our arrival to our departure the staff made our holiday one to remember,so very helpful and friendly,so much so we didn't want to leave.
The Deluxe room was spacious,with a huge bed,complimentary soft drinks replemished daily,shower etc is to a very high standard.
Breakfast set you up for the day ahead,a superb breakfast menu for you to indulge.
A truly remarkable hotel in a ideal location in the middle of the Gothic City of Barcelona sets the standards of other hotels to follow.
Thank you to all and hope to visit again in the very near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GPeterRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager of the hotel, I am really glad to know that your stay with us was fantastic. I apreciate all the comments about our services, our rooms, our staff... It is really important for us to improve every day.

Many thanks!

I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Based on the reviews that I had seen on this hotel, I was expecting a great experience and this hotel really delivered. From the minute we arrived, we were offered drinks and any help that we needed. The staff were especially helpful with our daughter who is 7 and the concierge made sure she always had a business card of the hotel in her pocket. Great recommendations were made for meals and for site seeing; everyone was extremely friendly.

The Gothic quarter location was perfect for many of the attractions and museums. This hotel is on a narrow street which made for a lovely, quiet location albeit some taxis were hesitant to drive down the street. Breakfast in the hotel was lovely and the service fantastic. We also ate in the Tapas bar and found the food good and wine recommendations tasty. There are also a couple of good cafes nearby, close to the subway entrance (which is also very close) if you just want a quick coffee or sandwich.

We stayed in Room 206 (it looks like after reviewer Tim C -ha) and found the room finished in a very high standard. I stay at a lot of hotels in Europe and the US and I found this bed one of the most comfortable hotels beds I have slept. The linens were very high quality too which was very different than the last hotel I stayed in the previous week. The room was spacious too as we had a rollaway bed in for our daughter. The design of storage and desk space was clever and modern...just be careful of opening the door to the room if someone is in the shower as it is a open plan design.

The hotel made our holiday a lovely experience and I will stay at the Mercer again (and possibly sister hotels too)!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your excellent review and your enthusiatic explication about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager of the hotel, I am really glad to know that your stay with us was great. For me is really important receive the feedback of our guests because is the only thing that I have to know if all works.

Many thanks!

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel was hard to find in the beginning as it is hidden within the old walls in one of the small little streets. Despite that, the very welcoming service you get the moment you reached the hotel doors make us feel we made the right choice. A cosy hotel where everyone recognizes us and always on hand when we need help.

The hotel staff from guest relations, Juan Manel & Florencia to porter Juan is always there to help with recommendations, reservations, online booking and anything we may need help on. This is by far our most comfortable stay, exceeding the services usually expected at a regular corporate hotel. Perhaps this is why they are so well rated.

Overall, we loved our stay here and would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

I am really pleased to personally thank you for sharing with us and with our future guests your excellent experience at the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager, I am glad to know that you had a lovely stay with us. I feel really flattered when I receive a feedback like yours talking about our personalized services. For me and for all my staff, our guests are the most important, this is the reason why we try to recognize all our guests and we try to know their tastes and preferences.

Many thanks for your review and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed 4 nights on our first trip to Barcelona. Hotel is hidden away on narrow streets of gotic area. Quiet, interesting hotel ( modern interior design in historic space-part of which includes Roman walls and watchtower) with exceptional service. There are several excellent restaurants within a 5 min radius and the hotel restaurant is among the best.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregandKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for your excellent review.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am pleasant to know that your stay with us was great. I like to tell you that all the staff try to provide our guests with the best hospitallity services possible and I am glad to know that succeded with you.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a really fantastic hotel.

Location: A+ Perfect.

Style: The communal areas are very smart and stylish. The Room (206) was excellent with lovely furniture and very well equipped bathroom with lovely Molton Brown. We enjoyed the space a lot as it was not rammed full of superfluous furniture and the bed was huge and very comfortable.

Food: Breakfast was very good and we also had the Menu Degustation for dinner on Valentines evening and whilst some of the food was a little hit and miss you accept that on a tasting menu and overall we really enjoyed it. On our last day we also had some Tapas whilst waiting for a taxi which again were very good.

So all in all what you would expect from a Hotel like this however what sets the Mercer apart are the staff. Everyone we had contact with from concierge, check in staff, waiters, cleaners everybody was just that little better than you expect. I honestly can't speak highly enough of them, so helpful and so friendly. Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am pleased to personally thank you for sharing with us your excellent experience at the hotel.

I feel really flattered when I read comments like yours. Thank you so much for your enthusiastic explication about our hotel.

I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best wishes,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing