We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Romantic Holiday Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Romantic Holiday Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Barcelona is busy, bustling, and raucous and amidst this din nestles the Mercer hotel, a dream place for romantic couples. On your next anniversary be sure to book your room in this intimate place. You will enjoy your togetherness more. The tone and décor of the hotel blends supremely with the gothic architecture of the city. The rooms are contemporary and the restaurant and bar are located in one of the historic towers. The location is superb as a majority of the historical sites are easily covered by foot including Las Ramblas and the sea front. Your stay will be more memorable if you visit the roof top with its well stocked bar. Do enjoy the great service. One trick is not to announce your anniversary. Spring it as a surprise on the hotel and you would probably get an upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieMopTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience in our hotel.

We work to provide our guests with the best stays possible. As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am glad that it was succeeded in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    135
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
169
772
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Barcelona and stayed at the Mercer - mostly because of the glowing reviews that the hotel got on TripAdvisor. The reviews were not wrong - it's truly an excellent hotel. The hybrid of medieval walls and Scandinavian minimalism works really well - the ambient is elegant, but not sterile. We stayed in a Gran Deluxe room which was high up overlooking the inner courtyard. The room was very spacious and the bed was amazing.

The breakfast was excellent with fresh locally produced food. You can choose items from a set menu and there's a buffet with various goodies. The buffet is not self-service so it was amusing to look at the waiters desperately trying to intercept guests before they helped themselves.

Service was superb. The staff was very attentive and willing to help with just about anything. At the same time they left you alone when you wanted to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, wich are very important for us, because many people as you have been decided for them.

We work steadily to provide our guests with the best stays possible. As General Manager of the hotel, I am glad that it was so in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Uist, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was my third stay in Barcelona in the last 18 months and it was definitely a case of third time lucky. This is a small hotel in a very quiet side street but is very centrally situated in the City Centre. Everything about the hotel was first class: the rooms, the food and particularly the service. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. My principal reason for the visit was to see a football match but my ticket got lost in the UK postal system so I arrived the day before the game without one. The staff went to a great deal of trouble to ensure I got a ticket and even kept my elderly mother entertained while I was at the game. The hotel is quite informal - not at all stuffy - but the whole experience is very much 5 star. This is the hotel I shall use for future trips to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sharing with us and with our future eventual guests your excellent experience in the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager I am glad that your needs were fulfilled and you finally succeeded in attending the football game. We are pleased to assist our guests whenever it is required.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is the first time I have written in Trip Advisor but felt it was my duty to tell you about this hotel. We visited Barcelona late November 2013. The Mercer Hotel is a small, intimate, beautifully designed hotel with a combination of the old ie the Roman and Medieval walls merging seamlessly with the modern minimalist design. Our teenage kids were in the slightly larger Deluxe Twin room and very comfortable with 3 beds, a wonderful bath and shower and we were in the adjoining but not interconnecting perfectly fine Superior Room which has a large modern shower but no bath. The rooms were facing the pretty internal courtyard and very quiet. Just to note there is only a half wall dividing the bedroom from the shower/ sink area with a separate private toilet in the room- there is not much privacy if in the shower. We ate the breakfasts there which were delicious.
The staff were delightful- I have never been in a hotel where they have been so genuinely charming, happy and helpful. They recommended good areas to eat and excellent restaurants and were lovely to our kids. They were happy to book tickets for museums, football tours, buses etc.
The location was perfect- we walked to most places from there occasionally taking a taxi. It was a perfect stay for 4 nights by which time we saw all the sights we wanted to see and had a wonderful time in Barcelona.

Room Tip: I would recommend Deluxe facing internal courtyard. There were no children's activities as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing with us your excellent experience in our hotel.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am pleased to read comments like yours. We work steadily to provide our guests with the best stays possible. I am glad that it was so in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The service here is remarkable - anything we needed, the concierge assisted us with - getting discounted tickets to Casa Batllo or any recommendations for our next stop to Seville because one of the staff was from there. They were always attentive to our needs and very amenable to everything - this is definitely a recommended hotel that we'll stay at in the future.

Location wise, this is perfect - not caught in the loud hustle and bustle of La Rambla or Placa Reial but close enough that everything is only a five minute walk at most within the Barri Gotic in any direction we go.

I would recommend not driving directly to the front of the hotel - there's a reason why taxis don't drop off directly in front of the property - the "roads" can narrowly fit in a compact car, but trying to get out of the Barri Gotic in what was a novice American's second attempt at driving stick shift was quite possibly the most stressful part of our trip! (laughable now, but nerve wracking when your car is stuck between another car and a wall and there's only two inches of maneuvering space to get out of it). If a cab drops you off at the city hall, it's literally only a one minute walk to the property.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309, beautiful and private. Don't drive to the front of the hotel! Just wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments.

As General Manager, I am glad when I read comments like yours. All the staff of the hotel works steadily to provide our guests with memorable stays. I am pleased that yours was a very satisfying experience.

We look forward to welcoming back when you come to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This beautifully designed modern hotel is set within the pale stone of the Roman & medieval walls & is perfectly located to explore the city, whilst away from the crowds. Everywhere is furnished & equipped to the highest standards & it makes for an extremely comfortable stay.
We cannot praise the staff highly enough. Before our stay, they provided a list of restaurants & booked one for us. They recognised that it was a milestone birthday & upgraded us to a fabulous, spacious room. They provided a bottle of cava & a tray of savouries on the day. & at breakfast even surprised me with a tiny cake with a candle.
Staff were most helpful in suggesting places to visit. They booked the Sagreda Familia on line for us to avoid the need for us to queue & they assisted with local transport. Their efficiency & welcoming manner made us feel really special & cared for.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106, which was huge, with a lovely bathroom & a balcony overlooking the inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavZ760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing with us your excellent experience in our hotel and your recommendation.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am pleased to read comments like yours. We work to provide our guests with memorables stays. I am glad that it was succeeded in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel was such a nice surprise. The decor is beautiful and so cozy. We will definitely choose this hotel again if we return to Barcelona. The staff is amazing and so helpful. You can't beat the location and Barcelona is such a beautiful city. I highly recommend this Mercer Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choochoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing with us your excellent comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona and your highly recommendation.

We work steadily to provide our guests with the best stays possible. I am glad that it was so in your case. As General Manager of the hotel, I am pleased to read comments like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to Barcelona.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing