We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay, Perfect Location, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay, Perfect Location, Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent stay in every way. Location is fantastic right in the heart of the Gothic district. The area is filled with character and walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The staff were consistently enthusiast and friendly. Not only did they provide great service, but this hotel is staffed with fantastic people. As a business owner, I know how difficult it can be to find top notch people, but the quality of the people working a this hotel really impressed me. First class staff.
From check-in to check-out we had a thoroughly satisfying experience. The hotel is beautiful and so unique - the pictures on the website and tripadvisor accurately reflect the unique beauty and character of this hotel. What a gem.
The restaurant and bar were superb. The multi-course meal with wine pairings that we had in their restaurant was one of the top dining experiences we've had. Breakfast each morning was excellent.
Room was clean, modern, and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again any time I'm in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dan11doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Dan,

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I feel really flattered when I receive this kind of comments.

When I read: "The staff were consistently enthusiast and friendly. Not only did they provide great service, but this hotel is staffed with fantastic people" I feel really proud.

Thanks a lot and I hope see you soon.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    139
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
178
790
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels around the world and this hotel, for us,was just perfect. We booked with the day before and took the one remaining room which was superb with its own garden terrace. Even the pouring rain did not spoil it. Loved the way the old city walls and even a tower complete with frescoes were encompassed within superb contemporary surroundings. The tapas bar was first class and breakfast a delicious leisurely treat. Will have to return for longer.
If coming by taxi it is probably worth getting the hotel to arrange it since we were dropped a street away and had to pull our cases uphill
The service was impeccable. Great location. VERY STYLISH.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marlboroughLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mrs. Marlborough,

Thank you very much for your comment, as General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona is marvellous read this kind of reviews about our hotel.

Thanks a lot

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights in this perfect boutique hotel in the old quarter of Barcelona. I cannot fault anything about my stay. The hotel is new, fantastically designed with beautiful rooms and a small roof terrace with pool. The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet. The staff always smile and cannot do enough to help. I don't hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sallyaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sally,

Thanks you for yours comments, as General Manager is great for me read reviews like yours about the hotel, the room and the helpful staff of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and experienced fantastic service throughout this excellent hotel. The rooms are lovely with, as previous reviews state, the most comfortable beds!
Even though the hotel is in the heart of the Gothic quarter it's very quiet so after a long day seeing the beautiful sites of Barcelona it's the perfect haven. We have stayed at many top end hotels however the service really is second to none with friendly knowledgable staff.
There are so many bars and restaurants to visit with the beach just around the corner we believe this was the only place to stay.
The roof terrace is just another example of this hotel having everything.
We had dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious I would highly recommend eating here you will not be disappointed.
One issue which is not down to the hotel but something you need to be aware of is arriving my taxi - they don't know where it is and we got dumped in the middle of town and told to find our own way! Thankfully we had read this could be a problem so we took a map and found the hotel ourselves. Please have this kind if back up plan.
I only have one concern ... If we want to come back to Barcelona will this hotel have any rooms available to book!
Thank you to everyone at Mercer Hotel Barcelona

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robinson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. Robinson,

I answer all of the reviews on TripAdvisor about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona and a lots of times I say that "I feel really flattered" but in your case I feel really, really flattered when you say "I only have one concern ... If we want to come back to Barcelona will this hotel have any rooms available to book!". I need say to you that fortunately for us have a lots of guests every day.

Thank you very much for yours comments.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the impeccable Mercer hotel at the beginning of May 2013. Everything from the very beginning of our stay to the moment we left for the airport was perfect and thoughtful. The staff is very welcoming and made you feel at home in this stylish, yet approachable hotel. All our requests were promptly attended to and each and every staff member we encountered held true to the high level of service. Our room (105) was spacious and tranquil and the small balcony looking over the interior courtyard was an added bonus. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Mercerino, and it was also wonderful from start to finish. Elegantly presented food that was also delicious. We thank the Mercer for being part of our wonderful visit to Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Kristin,

Thank you for sharing with us your stay at the Mercer Hotel Barcelona. We are very proud to have been part of your wonderful stay in our city.

Yours Sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My recent stay at the Hotel Mercer was restful and wonderful. It's a well designed and well run boutique hotel, quite new, in the Bari Gotic. Our room was a junior suite and the layout was rather like a loft apartment and cleverly designed. The decor is modern and the room was spacious and had a nice balcony, huge bathtub and huge shower. We stayed four nights and could have stayed longer, it was so comfortable and relaxing. The location was perfect for most of what we did; we cabbed up to the Segrada Familia and other attractions in the Moderne part of town but could walk everywhere else, including to the beach. You won't go wrong at the Mercer.

Room Tip: Our room, 104, was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jco35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Mr.Jco,

We are very thankful and pleased for the comments and thoughts shared by you in TripAdvisor. Our main mojo is to please and keep our guests well taken care of. Please don't hesitated to contact us for next's visits to our town!

The Mercer's staff and my self would like to say thank you and give you our bests regards.

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a very pleasant week at the Hotel Mercer. What is amazing is the combination of very old historical buildings with new up to date design and furnishings. The bedroom we had was lovely and the beds were extremely comfortable.
As previous reviews stress, what makes this hotel special are the staff. I really enjoy going to a good gym and although the hotel does not have a fitness centre, the staff really put themselves out to find us a very good gym nearby at a reasonable rate.
Breakfast is a feast and so relaxing sitting in a beautifully designed breakfast room and being looked after by delightful staff.
If you can treat yourself, staying at the Mercer Hotel is a must.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Jonathan,

We are very glad to have had you among or selects guests and hear that you really enjoy your stay!
To keep you both pampered and well taken care of has been really easy for us.

Please don't hesitated to contact us for any other requests that you may have.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing