We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning, unique, and best service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning, unique, and best service ever!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

For us, there are not enough superlatives to describe the Mercer Hotel.
To begin with, the location sets it apart from most of the other popular 5 star hotels in Barcelona. If you stay in one of the large popular hotels on one of the main boulevards, it’s not much different than being in any bustling city anywhere. The Mercer, however, is located in the Gothic Quarter, and being in that area gives you a whole different experience of Barcelona. Although you can visit the Gothic Quarter if you stay somewhere else, it’s quite a different experience staying there. It’s a picturesque area of narrow, winding streets, with a new adventure around every corner – great restaurants, coffee shops, tapas bars, and mini-plazas.
The Gothic Quarter is part of a walled city, with several towers having been built along the wall. The Mercer has been constructed along one of the walls and incorporates one of the towers. The décor, however, is what we would call “contemporary elegant”, so it’s a unique combination of melding great contemporary design into a structure that was initially built by the Romans, and they’ve executed it superbly. While the design is contemporary, it’s not “minimalist” like many other contemporary hotels. There is a richness and elegance in the hotel rooms as well as the public areas. We’ve stayed in some of the best hotels worldwide, but the Mercer has a “wow” factor that is unique, exciting, and lovely. The interior design is truly a marvel.
The rooms are quite large, and the layout is perfect. We spoke with the general manager, and he mentioned that he regularly stays in one of the hotel rooms to make sure that everything is perfect, and it is. They have not missed a thing.
The staff is beyond fabulous. The Mercer is part of a small chain, and they treat every client like they’re the most important ones in the hotel. We wanted to get tickets to see the Sagrada Familia, and instead of trying to explain the rather convoluted route to where the tickets were sold, one of the people at reception walked us there. We cannot rave enough about the level of service at this hotel.
Staying at the Mercer is a real treat. It enhanced our trip to Barcelona in so many ways. We’re going back to Europe next year, and we were not planning to return to Barcelona, but we wouldn’t miss having another stay at the Mercer and spending time in the Gothic area, so we’ll be there again in 2014.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 12MarshallF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Marshall,

thank you very much for your feedback as I mentioned our intention is to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a great experience with us. It will be a pleasure to have your company in 2014.

Best wishes,

Francesc Holgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    139
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
178
790
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just finished a 4 night stay at the Mercer and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else upon our return.

Room: I'm a hotel snob and this is the cleanest hotel room I've stayed in to date. The beds are to die for, perfect sized room with a queen bed and the details are perfect.

Location: perfect central location 10 min walk to La Boqueria, 15 min to l'eixample and less than 5 to El Born. Super close to beach and the neighborhood is unlike any other.

Staff: The staff could not have been more helpful. Everyone was super friendly and down to earth.

Overall, this is a top notch hotel and HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mpigott1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ms. Pigott,

I'm glad to read your review of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, their services and their staff. As General Manager I must tell you that we work so that all our guests enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London-ish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited Hotel Mercer with two older teenage children for a city break over the Easter period.
Hotel Barcelona is set in the Gothic Quarter, very easy walking distance to shops, lots of restaurants and the sights. 20 minutes from the airport (approx. €35 in a taxi).

It was more expensive than we would usually chose for a short break but we felt the quality of the hotel and staff was a fair reflection of this.

The rooms have shutters which keep them nice and dark in the morning and the beds are genuinely the most comfortable beds and pillows we've ever slept in!

The A la Carte restaurant looked very pleasant, but was a little too formal for our taste. We therefore opted for the more casual tapas restaurant one evening where the waiter was very helpful in choosing dishes.

We also enjoyed the cocktail bar and the rooftop terrace. Both very pleasant with attentive staff.
We chose to go out for breakfast every morning as there was so much choice nearby for a fraction of the cost and with more ambience in the city.

Departure is a very reasonable 12md and we were offered a later checkout without requesting one.
We also left our bags at the hotel until the evening whilst we explored and returned to find them waiting, along with a taxi that had been organised for our trip to the airport.
I left a ring in the bathroom as we left and the Hotel managed to contact the taxi driver en-route to let us know!

All in all, the hotel has been beautifully designed. Very well thought out and no corners cut.
Designer, but with a really warm, welcoming feel.
We would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trave1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ms. trave1ler,

I'm glad that the choice of Mercer Hotel Barcelona Easter holidays with the family was a wise move and have enjoyed the amenities and attention of the staff.

Thank you very much and warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mercer Hotel for our Easter break 2013, and we really enjoyed it! This hotel has everything going for it: great location, great interiors, all the mod cons and creature comforts, a courtyard in the middle with orange trees, a bar and restaurant, a library, a wonderful roof terrace with a pool, attentive staff - you name it, it is there. Everything was spotlessly clean, the shower is very good, there is free wi-fi, and the best thing was the bed - so comfortable that I could sleep there all day! By the way, we stayed in Room 306.

We were lucky to have found it, after long and tedious internet research. Tucked away in an incredibly narrow and picturesque mediaeval street, it is an oasis of modernity and tranquillity in a crazy touristy labyrinth of streets in the Gothic quarter. You do not really expect to see something so modern and comfortable in a building that must have been there for hundreds of years! In fact, after a few close looks, we decided that one of the walls of the courtyard must be Roman (just like lots of other walls in that area!).

The people working there were incredibly attentive and kind - they went out of their way to give us directions, show us around and make their guests feel comfortable. They even warned us about the clocks going forward and put a note with the weather forecast for the next day through the door.

I should also say that in spite of very narrow streets, it is possible to get straight to the door by taxi but not all taxi drivers are aware of that...

In short, we travel a lot and have seen a lot of hotels in different counties, and I should say, this one is one of the best! We would highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates quality service, peace and quiet, and attention to detail. We ourselves are planning to come back!

We would also like to thank the hotel staff for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We had room 306 and it was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank praskovya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ms. Praskovya,

Thank you very much for your comments and thank you very much for dedicating the first excellent review on TripAdvisor, we are delighted.

That our hotel is one of the best that you has been state and the staff had been accommodating to you, makes us very happy, this is our main reason for being in the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

Yours Sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels i've stayed in! Modern architecture is combined with the old parts of Barcelona. The effect is gorgeous! We stayed in a superior room which was also very beautiful, large and very clean. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is perfectly located in one of the narrow streets of the Gotic quarter with its many restaurants, bars and boutique shops. The breakfast of the hotel is very good, but if you don't want to spend too much money on breakfast, there are many little places nearby where you can can get a coffee with a croissant. And after a day walking around Barcelona, there's a massage studio next to the hotel where you can get a perfect footmassage!

Anyway, two words: hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Francesca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Francesca,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments received.

The staff of Mercer Hotel Barcelona do its best to make your stay unforgetable and achieve your expectations.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had one night in Barcelona and stayed at the Mercer. The hotel is great. It is brand new and the entire place is beautifully finished. It is built right into the old city walls and there is an excellent blend of artifacts and modern style. The rooms are simple but well appointed and because it is so new, everything is perfect.

More importantly, the staff all seem proud to be affiliated with this hotel and give 110% to your comfort. They also love giving tours of the hotel both to showcase the amazing archeological feature as well as the amenities. The service is great as well. When we were running late from some last minute shopping, the staff was aware that we had a flight leaving at a certain time and made sure a cab ready for us with bags loaded when we got back. i was really amazed, because we had only mentioned to them that we were leaving for a few minutes and would need a cab when we returned. just great personal attention.

Finally, the location is great - on a small and quiet road that is 3 minutes from the cathedral and close to shops, plazas and restaurants. Just perfect.

Beware, however, that the hotel is on a road that cab drivers seem to believe is a pedestrian walkway. As a result, we were dropped off a few blocks from the hotel. That is totally wrong as cabs can and do easily come right up to the hotel door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ms. Nancy,

thank you very much for your excellent comments. As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I feel very proud to work for this chain as all the members of my staff. I am glad that you have felt.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in the Mercer for a two night break and cannot recommend it enough. The hotel itself is wonderful with a great location in the heart of the Barri Gotic quarter, literally beside the cathedral. But the most attractive feature of the hotel is the outstanding staff. They were all without exception friendly, interested, but at all times professional. They could not do enough for us and seemed to accommodate any request. I do not recall ever staying in a hotel and feeling quite so welcomed and immediately at ease and relaxed. A special mention to Juan Manuel who has a wonderful sense of humour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Ms. Sarah,

Read Comments like yours is what we want all the hotel management. As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I feel my pride in my staff.

Thank you very much for trusting us.

Yours Sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing