We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern elegance in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #3 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break without children so splashed out for something special and expected something special in return. We were delighted then with the service and attention we received at the Mercer. The bed was super comfy, the room service was swift and delicious, the room was beautiful and the windows shut out every sound when firmly closed. Perfect. The design of the whole hotel was a clever blend of modern fittings over an ancient frame. The location was ideal for walking round the old town or down to Barceloneta and although there are taxis everywhere it was nice to have a rank available 3 minutes away. Great stay and well recommended.

Room Tip: we had 201 which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Mr. SW4Reviewer

We are glad to know that looking for a special hotel, you decided to stay with us.

The Mercer Hotel Barcelona is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter and this makes it an ideal hotel to enjoy not only the hotel but also the city.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I hope to you soon.

Warm greetings

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We decided to stay one night only in a luxury place in Barcelona and the choice could not have been better.
Instead of the "typical" 5* hotel this option seemed the most appealing due to building itself. The affable bell porter took us for a mini tour inside the hotel and we could see and touch parts of the hotel that belonged to the Roman City Wall of Barcelona. In fact our room was within one of the 28 towers that the Medieval City had.
Besides de historical charm the Hotel has been designed by Rafael Moneo so it is a combination difficult to beat if you are interested in modern architecture.
The rooms were quiet and spacious but there was one drawback: the toilets. It definitely felt like they were not part of the room, simple, and cheap looking were reasonably uncomfortable and not really well designed.
In summary I think it is a great place in an awesome location that has only the little issue of the toilets to be perfect,

Room Tip: ASk fo the rooms in the first floor, they are the ones with the oldest bricks :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Daniel,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to know that the choice could not have been better.

The comment of the bathroom is a question of design of the room even though we take note.

Thank you very much again

Receive a warm greeting

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed a full weekend at the Mercer hotel. Ideally located to discover Barcelone as a tourist.

If you like stylish and trendy place you will like the place. Here luxe is synonym of simplicity. The building by itself is incredible and the mix between the gothic and the modern style have been perfectly managed. Rooms are well equipped and perfectly soundproof.

The personnel is willing to help and advices given for restaurant were very good.

Compare to “big hotel” where you feel as a number, here you immediately feel like home: The second day of my stay the waiter already proposed me my favorite beverage for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peinado P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Peinado,

We are really proud to receive your comments and especially the ones related to the staff assistance and help received during your stay.

One of our goals is to provide guests a memorable experience and make them feel comfortable as home. Exceeding the expectations and anticipation to guest needs is as well our daily commitment, which in your case has been succeeded.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My son and I just stayed here and had a great time.
The service and friendliness of the staff was amazing. The location in the middle of the gothic quarter is great.
The room was luxurious and super clean.
We will be back!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Zion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Mr. N0iz,

We are glad that your stay at the Mercer Hotel Barcelona was great.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope see you soon.

Best wishes,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I've ever had, and I travel quite a bit. We were looking for a quiet spot to relax and both room, facilities and staff made this stay very comfortable. Great comfortable bed, very good breakfast service and attentive desk staff. The room was very quiet, as was the rest of the hotel. We tried the excellent breakfast which was worth the hefty price tag. Bilingual TV programming (where available) in spanish/english. The rooftop terrace was nice, quiet and relaxing. Great location in el gothic, very close to el born and the water. A selection of amazing restaurants practically on your doorstep. Only drawback was that we couldn't get wifi in our room, but 3G reception was almost full bars so that didn't matter much for us. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Johansoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Johansoh,

the Mercer Hotel Barcelona team thanks him for his comments, is a proud and satisfaction to receive comments like yours.

Thank you very much,
 
Receive a warm greeting.

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

SItuated centrally in the Gothic quarter, the new Mercer Hotel is an outstanding experience and a real surprise. A comfortable and delicate designer's hotel carefully crafted into the old walls of the Barcelona old town, with large rooms, balconies, even private terraces, as well as a roof terrace with swimming pool and a magnificent view.

Our room (No. 108) was huge, with a very comfortable sleep and a spacious terrace outside. The bathroom(s) were beautiful and functional, and had none of the fancy rubbish you may find in high class hotels. The main decorations of the hotel is the very building, with a gentle architecture integrating the modern with the old.

The staff is extremely service minded and helpful, and the service is given in a personal manner. Great breakfast, quite and very comfortable. Having visited several top hotels i Barcelona, this stands out for its combination of comfort, style and service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Toralfsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Toralfsan

As general manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I am very proud of my team and read all your comments helps us to continue along the path marked.

Thank you very much and we are glad you were able enjoy a satisfactory experience in our city and especially in our hotel.

Best wishes

Francesc Holgado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Absolutely perfect. Really a winner. Elegant. Great location. Great staff. Innovative comfortable. Spotless.
As a hotel owner I know this business : they nailed it. Bravo ! Couldn't recommend more highly.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Mr. James B,

We want to express our heartfelt thanks you for your feedback.

We have no words.

MANY THANKS!!!

Best Regards

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#1 of 517 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#7 of 517 in Barcelona
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 517 in Barcelona
230 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#4 of 517 in Barcelona
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $292 - $871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing