We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

SItuated centrally in the Gothic quarter, the new Mercer Hotel is an outstanding experience and a real surprise. A comfortable and delicate designer's hotel carefully crafted into the old walls of the Barcelona old town, with large rooms, balconies, even private terraces, as well as a roof terrace with swimming pool and a magnificent view.

Our room (No. 108) was huge, with a very comfortable sleep and a spacious terrace outside. The bathroom(s) were beautiful and functional, and had none of the fancy rubbish you may find in high class hotels. The main decorations of the hotel is the very building, with a gentle architecture integrating the modern with the old.

The staff is extremely service minded and helpful, and the service is given in a personal manner. Great breakfast, quite and very comfortable. Having visited several top hotels i Barcelona, this stands out for its combination of comfort, style and service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Toralfsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Toralfsan

As general manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I am very proud of my team and read all your comments helps us to continue along the path marked.

Thank you very much and we are glad you were able enjoy a satisfactory experience in our city and especially in our hotel.

Best wishes

Francesc Holgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    140
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
180
810
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Absolutely perfect. Really a winner. Elegant. Great location. Great staff. Innovative comfortable. Spotless.
As a hotel owner I know this business : they nailed it. Bravo ! Couldn't recommend more highly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mr. James B,

We want to express our heartfelt thanks you for your feedback.

We have no words.

MANY THANKS!!!

Best Regards

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This sleek, new and modern hotel is carved out of the remains of a centuries old structure. Glass fronted, loft style ceiling height, open bathroom and shower, light switches that are sensor controlled, Loewe toiletries, a huge bed and very very luxurious bed linen. Add to this the friendly Spanish staff and there is little more one could ask for bang in the heart of this eclectic city.

The hotel is situated on a very narrow street, barely wide enough for 1 car. It is surrounded by shops, restaurants, museums, and a short walk from the harbour and it is easy to find something to suit the tourist, the adventurer, or the local haunts seeker.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kalaghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Ms. Kalaghe,

Is a pleasure confirm that our guests leave our hotel pleased for the service received.

Thank you very much for your comments,

Best Regards

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, NJ
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just returned from staying 3 nights at this small luxury hotel. It was a pleasure from the moment we wallked in the door until we left. The hotel is built into the old walls of the Gothic quarter and the architect combined new and old in a stunning way. Ths overall ambience is extraordinary and we loved the feel of the hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was quite spacious, a shame we could not use the balcony due to the weather. The staff could not have been more accomodating from the the tour they gave us when we arrived to a cup of coffee while we were checking out quite early in the morning. I loved the old streets around the hotel, and in truth it is easy to walk to almost anywhere from this location. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Bravo to the team there who are working hard to make this a very special place!

Room Tip: a junior suite with a balcony is a nice choice, particularly in good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LJW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mr. LJW47

I am delighted to read your review of our hotel and our team, we strive every day to be better and read your feedback helps us to know that we are on the right direction.

Thank you very much for your comments,

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just completed a 4 day stay in Barcelona and were so pleased we chose this fabulous new hotel after hours of research. From the moment we arrived until we left, our experience at the Mercer was first class. We stayed in a Junior Suite and were thrilled to have our own gorgeous outdoor deck/garden area. Everything in the room was lovely (king size bed, bathroom and decor). The staff were so friendly, informative and professional, much more than staying at any of the larger chains. After exploring other areas of Barcelona, we were so glad we choose the Gothic Quater for great shopping (boutiques and one off shops) as well as the great dining options/tapas bars all within walking distance. We were very happy with the dining at the Mercer, including the breakfast and bar.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Mercer for making the end of our European trip most memorable. We will certainly return and recommend this hotel to all of our Australian friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 108, Junior Suite has a large outdoor deck with seats and greenery- and also very private at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LozzMyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
The Mercer Hotel Barcelona team and myself, we thank him for all your comments.

Comments like yours are the ones that help us to continue improving every day.

Thank you very much

Best Regards

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great 5 star experience in the middle of the Gothic quarter in the old town of Barcelona. The original Roman walls of the ancient city are actually part of the building and are visible inside. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as there are numerous excellent places nearby that we wanted to try instead. Breakfast was of a very high standard. If you go, do not miss the rooftop terrace and the excellent tapas bar that is also part of the hotel.

The room (junior suite) was spacious enough, had a modern, minimalist interior of a very high standard. It is difficult to mention anything we did not like in fact - perhaps the lights and lamps in the room could be better arranged, but this is purely subjective. Also, this is a typical place for couples or families with older children, if you have small kids, I would look elsewhere.

At last but not at least : the staff was extremely helpful and genuinely very nice (barmen, waitresses, receptionists, everyone).

Thanks for a great weekend and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the inner courtyard should all be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear travel80000,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your memorable experience in our hotel.

It has been our pleasure to make your stay memorable.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My Wife and I stayed for three nights as part of our joint 40th Birthday celebrations.
I have traveled extensively for business including all the Hawaiian Islands and in many 5 Stars including Four Seasons.

Without Doubt this is the best hotel experience I have every had out of Hundreds of stays.

The location is perfect for exploring Gothic quarter and has a lovely Tapas bar the Bootleg next door where locals eat, always a good sign.

The architecture with Fresco's being restored as we stayed is awe inspiring mix of old and ultra modern.There is a awesome roof terrace with pool and the hotel with only 28 rooms feels intimate.

The staff are the friendliest I have encountered anywhere always willing to help and genuinely friendly day and night.

The food was wonderful amazing breakfasts in a unique courtyard and a great Tapas Bar as well as lovely dinners are available .

Highly recommend to couple looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in Barcelona, we will be back !

Room Tip: Ask for the Tower rooms 107 207 307 as these date to 1st century Roman Tower hotel is built on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CyrilTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Gerente at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Cyril,

It is a true pleasure to receive your comments which will be shared with all my staff.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back within the near future.

Kings regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
842 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing