We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“I would return!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked the hotel for two days prior to our cruise. Hotel is centrally located. A ten minute walk to the Placa De Catallunya where you can find an array of restaurants, shops, and Metro. The Barcelona Bus Turistic, the HOHO tour bus can be found here. Hotel staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and had my own outside patio. The rear patio with the pool and bar was a nice touch in the evening for cocktails. Breakfast, while not included in the daily rate, was plentiful with a variety of hot and cold dishes. Thank goodness the hotel is near the Metro. Upon exiting the hotel to arrive at the Port for our cruise, we were informed (5 of us) that the taxi's where on strike! After a 20 minute ride via the Metro we arrived. The hotel staff was very helpful in outlining the Metro route for us.

Room Tip: There ay be others however, my room 101 has the rear private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Worldtravelier,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad to read that you had such a great stay in our hotel and that the facilities and the staff went up your expectations. As you very well stated, we are really close to Plaza Catalunya, the underground and the Bus Turistic, what makes our hotel very well located.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    348
    82
    34
    20
See reviews for
189
464
44
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights. The hotel's location is great!! It's a few minutes walking from PLAZA CATALUNYA. The rooms are designed beautifully, in a very unique way. The rooms are very very clean, they clean them thoroughly every day. there is a big safety box that fits tablets as well.The staff is very kind and helpful. Breakfast is satisfactory. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a view towards the street. We really liked the room. The pool is tiny but it did not bother us at all since we did not really use it. the restaurant of the hotel is good and the staff there really makes an effort to satisfy the customers. Long story short, it's a modern new hotel, we really had a great time there, and we warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: I read that the rooms that have view towards the street are better than those that have views toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moran2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Moran2601,

Many thanks for your recent feedback. I could not have described the hotel better than yourself! Our rooms are designed following Gaudi's art, unique in any hotel in Barcelona. I am really glad to know that the team were so helpful, as we always try to give a seamless service.

We look forward welcoming you on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked a last minute cruise out of Barcelona and finding a room for 3 was difficult. I found Hotel Indigo with a superior double bed and pull out couch overlooking the pool. The hotel is nondescript on the outside but very modern on the inside. The room was large and the pull out couch was in a separate lounge/office area. Very nice bathroom and comfortable beds. Being in the back the room was very quiet. 5-10 minute walk to Catalunya Square and the metro is close. Staff was very helpful and would print out a map showing directions to the restaurant or location you were going.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quiet. There is a bar on the first floor so lower floors can hear som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Rick,

Thanks for your recent feedback. I am really glad your stay at our hotel was so rewarding. For your description, I can assume you were on one of our suite rooms, with that separte room with the sofa bed that gives a little bit of intimacy on both ends. Good choice!

We will have the same room ready for you on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Not knowing Barcelona before booking this hotel, I wanted to find something central. With Barcelona's rapid transit system and incredible bus transportation, it is not worth booking at this hotel, central though it may seem - which is not really the case. The prices are astronomical compared to other four star hotels in the vicinity. This is disappointing for a hotel in the Intercontinental group, which generally has superb hotels. My advice, look for something else and if you are staying at this hotel, don't stay on the ground floor!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YasminMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Yasmin,

Thank you very much for your recent stay. I do not know if you are mistaken our hotel with another one, as we are 450 meters far from Plaza Catalunya, main square of Barcelona. I am really sorry that you did not enjoy that much your recent visit to Barcelona. From your review, I understand you were staying in one of our king smoking rooms. I cannot understand why you were not satisfied as it is one of our most demanded rooms, being really close to the pool, very bright and on a quiet area. What I can suggest if what you are looking for is a smoking room, is to book one of our feature rooms with private terraces where it is allowed smoking too for your next visit.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived in Barcelona a little later than expected so we got a taxi from the airport which took about 25 minutes and cost e30
We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely clean, friendly and relaxed hotel. It's in a great location just 5 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya where you can get the hop on hop off bus, stole down the prestigious passeig de Gracia, join las Ramblas which takes you to the port and loads more.
My room 003 over looked the pool and courtyard which I really liked, so not off the main reception.
My room was huge with a massive comfortable bed. It had a place for suitcases, table and chairs, a desk, TV, radio alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, A Coffee machine ! and a mini bar with complimentary bottles of water x2 and orange juice x2 what more could you want?
The bathroom had a walk in shower, the usual loo with a slow closing lid! nice sink and toiletries all very modern.

The pool - small and a little cold but so lovely to dip in after a long day of sight seeing! The double sun beds were amazingly comfortable. I would give this hotel a 5 if it was adults only! Sorry kids !
The drinks - try the cava yum ! the sangria is ok but expensive, if you like sangria go to a restaurant on passeig de Gracia called Qu Qu it's double the size and the best we tried in Barcelona! Avoid a restaurant called Navarre on plaza Catalunya (separate review) service, food and sangria all horrible. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I go back to Barcelona I would stay here or the Miramar!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reallylv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear reallylv2travel,

What else can I say that you haven't said yet about our hotel! As you very nice stated, we are very close to the city centre, just minutes walk. I am really glad you like your room. As all of them, it has everything you need, even refreshments that help you after a long day out visiting the beautiful city of Barcelona.
The pool at room temperature, what can be quite nice when there are 35º on the terrace and diving into the pool cools you down straight away.

We really hope to see you next time you are on the city.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

First of all is that the hotel is not on the plaza Catalunya but 7/10 walking away in another street.
Check in OK, but not specially welcoming either. They advertise their rooms as with a superb view of Barcelona. We received room 109 with view on????????? open space build in between several rooms/buildings with just a small window. Due to this the room was very dark and you need to switch the lights on day/night. Room size is rather small. Coffee facilities are stored in a cupboard and you need to move it somewhere else to make coffee/tea. This is a task as there is only one electric point in the room. If you want to charge your laptop you need to restore everything in the cupboard which is now occupied with your clothes. They were doing constructions in one of the adjacent buildings, starting 8 am which not really attributed to the quality of our room comfort.
I referred to this at the check out and received the remark that the constructions were not done in the hotel, but probably in one of the buildings next to the hotel. Probably they were aware of this but decided to rent to rooms anyway. As a member of IHG for many years, we did not get the impression that they care about loyal clients anymore.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, do not accept room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marja-Alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Marja-Alain,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at this hotel which is a lovely artisan hotel.

Centre of the city and walking distance to restaurants, main sites and the metro.

Free wifi and nice courtyard areas adds to the value of the stay and customer service very much top quality.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Demon,

Many thanks for your feedback. As you very nicely stated, we are situated on the city center of Barcelona and very near the underground station, were you con easily get to any of the main attractions. Our solarium and terrace, makes the stay even better, as it is a nice area to relax after a long day around the city.

We hope to see you on your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,024 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
724 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
1,384 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Property: Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona is the second largest and most visited city in Spain. Stay at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya and discover Barcelona's prime location, amazing beaches, famous architecture and exciting atmosphere.Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya is fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a fine hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing