We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great wee find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #42 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a great wee find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Fabulously handy spot, amazing staff, clever design, clean, cheery, what it says on the tin. GO. Comfy beds , to die for showers, great terrace to sit in when exhausted after all the sightseeing, so great as 100 steps max from airport bus drop off, 100 steps from friendly cafes and bars. Yes indeed saw more hotels in the area but I doubt as cleverly thought out as this one. Unlike me to have no complaints!!!!

Room Tip: Tricky to say which room but towards the back is silent. 504 ad not noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letusflourish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    352
    33
    7
    10
See reviews for
119
667
47
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is the best hotel experience. Even beats 5 star hotels! The staff is the BEST! Very Friendly and Helpful. The entire staff was all smiles! GENUINE SMILES! The guy in the morning even printed my boarding pass. His name STARTED WITH A G. Sorry I wrote his name down but lost the paper. Where to begin-- Best Staff, Good Breakfast. Clean rooms. Good air conditioner. Best location. Right in the thick of it but quiet. Easy to get to airport bus and handy store next door. Around the block from Old City. EASY. Friendly. LOVELY!!!! I wish I stayed longer. I will always return to this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS appear to be Excellent. Not all of them have views but the hotel is quiet and all have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineMVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Katherine,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we all look forward to welcome you soon,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a very good hotel.
It is in a great location - 30m from La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya.
The Aerobus ( airport bus) and the hop on/off busses stop 50 m away from the hotel.
Check in and out was efficient and we were able to upgrade to a larger room for 10 euro a night. The staff were polite.
You are able to stock up your own fridge by purchasing drinks/snacks from reception or from elsewhere. There is also a supermarket 30 m away.
I did purchase 4 bottles of water and a couple of snacks from the reception. Clearly i needed a bag to get everything to the room. After a lot of looking around i was offered a garbage bag to put them in. Better than nothing i suppose.
You can purchase tickets to Casa Pedrera and La Sagrata familia from the reception which allows you direct entry.
Our room , 609 was on the 6th floor and at the back on the building. Essentially it faced a wall but at least it was quiet.
The room is reasonably small with a separate toilet and shower. I think privacy ( when changing etc) could be an issue if you are sharing with a friend that is not used to seeing you running in and out of the shower naked. Otherwise it has a clever modern design.
Breakfast offered many options in a wonderful indoor/ outdoor setting.
There was a bit of room for improvement though......
For some reason room service kept replacing toiletries for one person despite of being two of us and requesting more supplies form the reception staff.
Also in a peculiar way , room service decided to not restock toilet paper. Once I had to call at 2 am to ask for toilet paper and reception staff asked me to go to the reception to collect it. Considering the time and that I was in PJs i was less than happy . He did bring it to the room fairly quickly.
The next day , on our way in I asked again for toilet paper( as room service had neglected to restock) to which I was told that if we noticed the same problem tomorrow to ask earlier bacause he may not have any left at reception.
One has to wonder how much toilet paper does reception give out...and why haven't they cottoned on to the problem.
I politely responded that I would prefer that room service stocks the room properly rather than us asking for supplies. From there on room service improved.
Also the room does not have an iron /ironing board so again we had to ask reception. They gave us the ironing board and the iron at reception and we took it to the room.
Also when I arrived although the staff were polite they did not seem to be very well informed on the services like the aerobus and operation times. They gave me a map upon request . One staff passed it to the other and she to me but without showing me on the map where was the hotel. I had to come back and ask her to point out our location to the map. She seemed to struggle with that.

We accidentally pushed the wrong button on the aircon which made it stop every hour. As the instructions were in Spanish despite our best efforts were unable to fix it , so we requested assistance from reception. The reception staff insisted on giving us directions over the phone with no result. We requested that someone has a look while we were out all day. Upon our return it had not been attended. Another call , another person trying to fix it over the phone....finally they sent someone up who fixed it.

IN SUMMARY: good hotel in excellent position. Good value for money. Room service and reception need a little bit of polishing and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha777s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had a great experience in Room Mate Grace in New York, so when I found out this is the same hotel chain, I was confident it would be a great place. And it certainly did not disappoint. Location was fantastic, right next to Plaza Catalunya and La Rambla, easy to get to the metro, yet it was nicely tucked away in a street such that you don't get the noise. Nan was wonderful, upgraded us! The suite was great and I absolutely love the bathroom area. Amenities were all very good. Nan and everyone at reception were so helpful and ever ready to lend a hand, make a restaurant recommendation (and even complimentary drinks at some restuaurants!) and always had a big smile for us. The fresh water at the front desk was really refreshing whenever we were stepping out into the searing Barcelona heat! Breakfast was so-so, but there were so many options nearby anyway. Definitely recommend for anyone visitng Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmurfetteSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Sue,

Thank yuo very much for your nice review, all readers will appreciate your tips!!!

Our fresh wáter lemon or orange is amazing!!! People love it!

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel proved to be quite a gem. A very brief walk from Las Ramblas and right next to El Corte Ingles (mega shopping store). The front desk was extremely helpful, providing directions and fluently bilingual.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Torlom,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Please feel free to ocntact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent location, about 50 meters from Catalonia. The design is very nice, very cordial staff, good breakfast The street is very quiet, very recommended for travelers in Barcelona very good rooms very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Eli,

Thank you very much for your review.

All the team wishes to welcome you soon!

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Hotel is situated close to place Catalunya which is really a central place to visit Barcelona. At place Catalunya you also have al the connections to visit (by foot, taxi or city bus) or to travel to the airport. Modern hotel, good rooms and nice service. I would not recommend breakfast, you can find better in the surroundings (especially pasteleria Escriba - Las Ramblas, close to the Boqueria market).
Despite that the hotel is located close to place Catalunya whe had no noise, we slept with open windows the night of Sant Joan and had no burden to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Dirk,

Thank you very much for your review!

We appreciate your tips and are happy to know you hac a nice "San Juan".

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Property: Room Mate Pau
Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing